We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Orleans
Ranked #26 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

I have to agree with what others have said here, I wouldn't usually class myself as a hostel type of person but Hostal Orleans is a great choice for accomodation in Barcelona, and certainly not what you'd think of as a typical 'hostel'. From the airport we caught a train to Barcelona Sants station, then another to Estacio de Franca which is just across the road from the Hostal, very easy journey! The rooms are great, cleaned every day, well appointed,and all you need for a base to see the city. We specifically asked for a room with a balcony as we're smokers, and it was lovely sitting out in the mornings & evenings watching the world go by. It was quite noisy, but if you're not a light sleeper it's fine. The bed was comfy, and in the bathroom were sachets of bath foam & shampoo, as well as a hairdryer. Our room also had a free safe, which was ideal. The staff here are really nice, they put up with my attempts to practise my Spanish, and didn't resort to speaking in English which might have been easier for them! The Hostal is in a great location, a stone's throw from both the Barri Gotic and the beaches, and seemed almost in a different city from the noisy, commercial area around the Ramblas. All in all a wonderful stay, and we'd recommend Hostal Orleans to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilykf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    245
    69
    12
    7
See reviews for
77
232
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

If you want to stay in BCN in a quiet and friendly location, very close to Rambla/beach/pubs bars and restaurants. but not so close to feel all the "dark sides" of the old city at night, then Orleans is the best choice. Not to mention the unbeateble price rate/night. As other people said before, do not take in consideration the "hostal" name as the rooms are way far from the hostal rooms (maybe just the big room near the entrance, with 2 computers (wifi also available free), 1 cofee machine and couple of sofa can remember of a hostal). to give a few example of walking distances in minutes:to Estacio Francia-30 sec :), to nearest subway station- 5 min, to Rambla-10-15min max; to beach:-10-15min max; restaurants/bars- starting with 3 min - there are a lot of good and nice bars/restaurants and pubs just behing the hostal but also if you want to eat cheap and good try the restaurant just near the entrance from the hostal (1 main course+1 draft beer 500ml for 8 ppl in the range of 100Euros, which is less than almost any Eu capital....). One highlight: if you are a easy sleeper avoid the rooms that face the the street with Estacio Francia - there is a lot of noise from the cars, except Sundays :);
To conclude Pros:- Hostal Orleans is at least a 3 star hotel (at least for the rooms), price is unbeatable, location is great for walk to everything (train station/subway, rambla, beach, restaurants/pubs).Cons: nothing :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florinhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

This hostal is spotless! Friendly service. Great location. No unpleasant surprises. Small flat screen TV with BBC, hairdryer and sachets of soap and shampoo, rooms cleaned and beds made daily, use of Internet for 1 Euro/half hour, lots of hot water, discount coupons, desk staff 24-hours, quiet. Don't be put off by the fact that it's called a "hostal". I've stayed in some "hotels" and "bed and breakfasts" that I would rate as being far less good. Our room was small but it had everything we needed.

Additional tip: Look for the Travel Bar in the Gothic Quarter. They give free tours (based on tips) and offer evening meals for 1 Euro if you buy a drink. Best deal in town. And the hostel even had vouchers to get the meal for free!

Room Tip: Our room with a balcony was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayRin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

The reviews I'd read sounded pretty good so I did book here with confidence, yet it was still far superior to what I would expect for 23 Euro per person per night. First of all it was really clean throughout, and the decor was lovely and I liked the atmosphere. We were offered a choice of two rooms, one with a window looking across to the station and the other an interior room, with no view, but we were told it was quieter so we took that one. Again, really clean, and with amenities I hadn't expected at a hostel - towels, a hairdryer and sachets of shower gel and shampoo. The shower in the ensuite bathroom was good too. It did get a bit hot at night and we couldn't find a way to turn down the heat, but we just opened the bathroom window to let in some air.
We arrived by bus from Girona Airport to the main bus station Estacio del Nord and walked to the hostel from there. Seemed pointless getting the metro and it probably took 15 minutes to walk there. The location of the hostel is perfect. It is right in the Gothic Quarter, and having spent most of our full day walking around the city it was definitely the nicest area. The hostel is literally next door to the very beautiful Parc de la Cuitadella and ten minutes walk from Barceloneta beach and from La Rambla. We had a great time wandering in the Gothic Quarter and finding nice bars. I have to mention that the restaurant next door Tasca I Vins is pretty good too, their toasted breads especially are well worth trying. A word of caution though, it may be best to check the prices of the beer if you decide to have a drink in one of the bars or cafes. We once ended up paying 2.5 Euro for 200ml of lager in one bar, but the worst one was stopping on La Rambla to eat in one of the outside cafe areas and ordering the lunchtime special - 2 tapas and a paella for 8.5 Euro, then asking for two pints of lager. When the bill came the pints were 7 Euro each! Bit of a shock! So be warned on that.
Barcelona is a wonderful city and this hostel added to our enjoyment. If we go back we won't consider staying anywhere else, as it is such good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Hostal Orleans’ room 209 was a very clean, well presented corner room with tall doors out to balcony. Upon entering the room there is one step down to the ceramic flooring and another step up to the 4pc bathroom (sink, toilet and tub with shower). The very soft double bed was flanked by two end tables. Other furnishings included a wardrobe with ample hangers, two chairs and a desk/table. There was a flat screen tv, an air conditioning unit and a wall heater for cold nights. Hostal Orleans offers free wifi and [yeah] it was working, however, the farther away you are the weaker the signal. Room 209 didn’t quite make it so we took our laptop to the lounge area and worked on a table there.
Regarding noise, we had the door to the balcony open all night for fresh air. If you are a light sleeper it would keep you awake; if you are a sound sleeper there are odd noises here and there which may wake you up. Closing the shutters and the wooden doors helps to muffle the sounds (and you can turn on the AC for coolness and different sounds). If really quiet is what you need ask if it’s possible to have one away from the streets or wear ear plugs. Don’t blame the hostel ... the sounds you hear are Barcelona ... enjoy. The price we paid for double room, one night, no breakfast, was 65 Euro (tax included) which we thought was good value for Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltales-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

Pros: free wi-fi, good location (close to Franca train station, port, hop on/off bus stop, shopping), flat screen tv with English speaking channels.

Cons: Staff not overly helpful, linen a bit dated, no lift (two flights of stairs), not great security with their 'leave the key' protocol.

Bottom line, you get what you pay for, and Hostal Orleans is perfectly adequate for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewZealand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmanova, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Apart from the tricky case-lugging up two flights of stairs, Hostal Orleans is pretty perfect as far as budget accommodation goes. My double room (for 60 euros a night incl. tax) was en-suite, clean, quiet and well-equipped with a TV (incl. English channels), hairdryer, radiator, air-conditioning, soap/shampoo/shower gel etc. Directly opposite Franca Rail Station and 20 minutes' walk from both the ferry terminal and the Norte Bus/Rail Station (I walked both with a suitcase) the Hostal is perfectly located for an overnight stop. I was maybe a little old (32) for the Hostal atmosphere with people gathering in a Common Room and leaving their bedroom doors open for people to 'drop by' but hey, I had a quiet room, free wifi to access with my laptop in the privacy of that room and a great restaurant slap bang next door where I ate a main course, coffee, water and two glasses of wine for LESS than 10 euros. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#188 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#165 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#16 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#47 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Pension Ciudadela
Pension Ciudadela
#97 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Orleans

Property: Hostal Orleans
Address: Avda Marques de Argentera, 13, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, SpeedyBooker.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Orleans Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Orleans Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing