We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices and clean room”
Review of Hostal La Terrassa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Terrassa
Ranked #90 of 738 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hostal is quite simple, but staff is really friendly and rooms and bathrooms are quite clean. Most of the rooms have balcony and air conditioning works perfect. Recommended for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrepvieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 434 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and for the price hostal was above expectations. Clean, good size room, safe, quite and cheap. Around the coner breakfast bars close to la rambla and metro to and from airport easy. Reception people nice and helpfull...strong recomend to people that knows the hostal idea...if you looking for a luxury hotel better look more but if looking for a place to sleep well and save money stay here and stay well

paulo from Brazil - june 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank paulo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My family (two parents, two children of 11 and 7) spent a week in Barcelona in june 2011, and we chose "La Terrassa" only because it`s not so expensive. But once we were there, we marvelled about how perfect a place it is for a super-quiet family vacation: Since there is no breakfast offered, the courtyard is very quiet most of the day, and we woke up with no noise, just birds singing. The room and the bath were absolutely clean, the kids could play outside in the courtyard without any danger, just a step away from our room, and the hostal owners are really nice, helpful people. It`s incredible to find such a good place in the very center of Barcelona! Just the internet service (for free) is not very quick... but at least, it works.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skempis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I was looking for a hostel for my sister and I to stay in, and I was only finding options with dorm style shared rooms, which I wasn't very comfortable with. So when I found La Terrassa I decided to book it despite the mixed reviews and I'm so happy I did!! The hostel was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. It was definitely not a party hostel, and there were families staying there, so it was relatively quiet. We had our own private bathroom and towels were provided. I would highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were slightly nervous about staying in a Hostal especially one with mixed reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. Yes the room was basic but it was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The computer in the lounge was very useful too. We'll definitely go back next time we're in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I've never posted a review online. I've stayed in many hostels and one star hotels in Europe and Central Amberica. Never, never have I had such an atrocious experience, as in Hostal La Terrassa. While it was our mistake in not booking a hotel in advance in Barcelona, we thought we had a reservation with them. As we didn't send them our credit card info in an email (really, in an email? Not even a secured site?), the only room they had available was what I could only describe as a cell in juve, off the communial dining room/couryard, complete with bars on the windows, a public toilet directly outside our room, twin cots, and a blazing halogen overhead. After two days, we finally had the opportunity to move to a room with a small terrace on the second floor, only to discover it HAD BED BUGS! The hotel staff was already irritated with us and less than pleased when we asked to switch rooms for a third time. By day three, we moved to the same type of room upstairs. The third floor, unfortunately, suffered from an enormous sewer problem compounded by a local resident chain smoking cigars. Seriously, if you are content to stay in an institution-like hostel with bed bugs that smells like a port-a-let for 65 Euros, then this is the place for you. BED BUGS! BED BUGS! BED BUGS at Hostel La Terrassa in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrooklynLML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The receptions guys are REALLY rude, it`s not like Spanish rude, they are like Jail people rude! You don`t believe the way the people treats you there. They rudely call you 30 minutes before to inform that you have to leave, and then, 5 minutes before they knock on the door for you to make the check out. Room service? they dont have this words on their dictionary, in 4 days my room didn`t see any type of room cleaning.

TRUST ME, YOU DONT WANNA GO TO THIS HOSTAL!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmmoreyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#69 of 738 in Barcelona
939 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#181 of 738 in Barcelona
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Arc House
Arc House
#148 of 738 in Barcelona
351 reviews
Eixample
Diagonal House
Diagonal House
#125 of 738 in Barcelona
292 reviews
Eixample
Buba House
Buba House
#167 of 738 in Barcelona
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Terrassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Terrassa

Address: Junta de Comerc 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 738 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $46 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal La Terrassa 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostal la Terrassa is located in portion of old town Barcelona where the first settlement of the Raval neighborhood was established. It was built around the Romanic church of Sant Pau del Camp after the fall of the Roman Empire.Less than 5 minutes walking distance, La Terrassa hostal is very near “La Rambla”. This popular promenade was finally completed at the end of the XVIII century and is where in we can find the colorful market known as “la Boqueria” or “Sant Josep” founded in 1836. In the 1800s the upper class of Barcelona gain interest in the Raval area and began to populate the neighborhood’s most important streets. La Terrassa is located in Junta de Comerç street once it first opened it became at the time not only the widest and grandest street, but also the “Champs-Élysées” of Barcelona. The most significant example of an important personality moving to the neighborhood was Count Güell, who commissioned Antoní Guadí to build him a palace in 1885.Nowadays Old Town is an up and coming neighborhood regaining the grandeur of its glory days. It’s the second neighborhood with most character in Barcelona after the Gothic Quarter forming Old Town. Located right in the heart of the city, la Terrassa offers a place to rest “where the action is”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal La Terrassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Terrassa Hotel Barcelona
La Terrassa Barcelona
Hostal La Terrassa Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing