We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Long hair" equals no class”
Review of Opium Barcelona

Opium Barcelona
Ranked #42 of 778 Nightlife in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to one of the best clubs in Barcelona, Opium Barcelona restaurant and night club. Opium is located beachfront next to Hotel Arts, at the Barceloneta boardwalk. Here you have the chance to try our high-quality menu designed by chef Billy Baroja enjoying an amazing view next to the most famous beach in Barcelona. Afterwards you will discover our club, where best DJs from all over the world come and entertain our audience, best in town. Opium is the place to be in Barcelona, a glamourous designed and fashionable beach lounge club and restaurant where days are bright and nights are neverending.
BROOKLYN
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Long hair" equals no class”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My four friends and I were travelling from London and New York to watch soccer in Barcelona but we heard of a very good nightclub that is a must see. Simply put, it turned out to be our worst experience in Barcelona and one of my worst ever. Upon reaching the front of the line, the security proceeded to block my path and said, " This is a classy place and I need to CUT my hair." I couldn't help but think that it may be a bit more than that as i was wearing a blazer and was well dressed. We were the only black patrons in the line and were well dressed, what other explanation could their be? My hair was styled in dreadlocks and tied in a ponytail. If even it was because of my hair, isn't that still discrimination. Needless to say we couldn't leave fast enough. It was evident that our money wasn't good enough for Opium.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ADRIAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    291
    158
    71
    196
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic night club”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

on the beach front, loads of space, amazing atmosphere, bars were busy but well run, dance music was bang on trend with guest djs

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Simply amazing club. Remember to reserve in advance and Be in list otherwise it takes a bit long to get in. Drinks are around 18? and quite fine. The dancefloor is always crowded and you can move to the beach part if you wish to smoke in open air. I recommend to try a party there.

Helpful?
Thank MrAhUa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Great club right on the beach but very expensive drinks!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want to experience all that Barcelona night life has to offer, then this is one of the places to be on the weekend. This club is right on the beach and even has an outdoor section that opens up right to the beach. Depending on the night you go the house music they play is great with some world-class DJs that also spin here. Make sure you bring a lot of cash, since the drinks are very expensive. I paid €17 for one Mojito!!! It's also probably a good idea to get on the VIP list or get there early since the lines will be very long. We were staying at a hotel that had an agreement with this establishment, and we got on the VIP list and did not have to pay a cover charge.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank RahulMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely worst VIP experience ever”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

During a weekend celebration with some friends in Barcelona we had a table booked at Opium. Upon arrival the first thing that was required was to pay up for the table (normally you get guided to your spot, and then pass on your credit card as you order your drinks). Afterwards it was immediately clear why they did this. They pushed us on the worst possible spot in the "vip" behind a massive pillar where you could not even see the dance floor and the sound from the sound system was terrible. It then took the better part of 20-25mins to get our first round of drinks, which got served by the only waitress in that part of the vip area, who had an attitude that was simply disgusting. The music from arrival until 3AM was also VERY commercial, which we werent expecting. At 3AM the DJ changed and the music took an absolute u-turn and turned the night around somewhat. At this part we had closed the bill on our table and just went to the dance floor near the bar. Absolutely worst vip experience to date with appalling service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank SteveM6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Opium Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing