We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Mariscco Reial

Mariscco Reial
Ranked #1,975 of 9,541 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: In the heart of the Gothic neighbourhood on la Plaça Real, the Mariscco Reial restaurant is located in a Renaissance-style building dating back to 1850. This historic site has housed a diverse range of activity, such as the Gran Cafe Espanyol, and later the Pedagogic Museum of Natural Sciences and taxidermy workshop. Respecting the original architecture, Mariscco Reial offers the chance to dine inside a wide, open space, with high ceilings and eclectic scenery, or alternatively, outdoors under the Plaça Reial porticoes and the lamp posts designed by Gaudi. Mariscco Reial is open all-year-round, and boasts a cosmopolitan atmosphere, with a case of seafood and fish showcasing the delicacies available. Serving Mediterranean cuisine, Mariscco Reial serves high quality, fresh produce, which is prepared to the guest's taste. Specialities include rice with lobster sauce and prawn soup, or the climate-controlled cellar showcases a wide selection of wine.
toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located in a square close to but not on Las Ramblas. Several restaurants around the square so fun atmosphere. Good variety of Tapas and excellent Sangria. Very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank slyman4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    243
    112
    71
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We also stumbled into Plaza Reial, somewhat surprising as we had been to Barcelona twice before! We went around the Plaza in the afternoon ‘kicked’ a few menus and opted to go to Marisco Reial based upon nothing else than menu, location and cost. The following day we were joining a cruise ship and did not want to over indulge!

We ate at 20:00 outside, the service was excellent, neither were we hurried. We shared a salad starter then both had fish dishes. With an inexpensive, however, good bottle of wine and bottle of aqua con gas the total cost was about £44.

Cannot fault the restaurant whatsoever, food well cooked and presented. Having a butchers’ around; other patrons dishes looked and smelt great. Had we stayed longer we would have definitely eat at Marisco Reial Restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecosse
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Reading other reviews this place must all about the night, having said that we ate here twice in a week during Merce, OK .it is touristy but we were tourists after all ,the square is very lively which adds to the occaision. The service was nice and friendly on both very busy nights and in spite of the press for tables we were not pushed out, the food was all right for the price overall a nice experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jockp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
524 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Come here for the location, not the food”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice location at the corner of Plaza Reial. It is best to pick simple fried seafood with a simple Spanish wine. Don't try any expensive or fancy food here. I would also recommend lunch rather than dinner. If you follow these recommendations, you will have a pleasant simple meal with a great view over the activities on the Plaza ;-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, but for tourists”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a good restaurant but strictly for us tourists, as is Plaza Reial. Good Spanish food but a little bland compared with others in the city. That said it is in a lovely square off the Rambla.
We had a fideua which was nice but a little too tomato-y.
Service was good but a little in your face.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscco Reial also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mariscco Reial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing