We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent 2 star hotel, bad experience”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #313 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We`ve booked 3 months in advance and by the time we arrived in the airport to take the flight to BCN it was delayed. We`ve called the hotel to announce late check in, they found our reservations and told us everything was ok. By the time we arrived in hotel, things have changed. There were no rooms available, he said, the receptionist, but he sorted it out with a special offer, an excellent 3 star hotel, 2 blocks away. When we arrived in the new hotel, it was the ugliest 2 star hotel, with the smallest rooms and bathrooms. And, Of course, the poorest breakfast.
Next morning we`ve called the travel agency who booked for us, and after one more day in Santa Marta Hotel, they managed to move us back to Oasis. Well, Oasis is an excellent 2 star hotel. Maybe a good 3 star hotel. Large and clean rooms, nice bathrooms, nice staff ( with one exception!) close to main attractions, easy access.
Very good hotel for the price we`ve paid, but I wouldn`t book again, to arrive in that Santa Marta hotel. They have to manage somehow that, I know it was not the first time it happened

Room Tip: well, make sure you have a room in this hotel
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAUL S, reception at Hotel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2015

Good evening,

Thank you very much for your kind commentary. It has been a pleasure to have you as customers.
If you decide to return and spend a few days in our hotel, you are more than welcome, we’ll be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Reception Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oasis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2011

Having just returned from a 3 night stay at the Oasis Hotel and having seen the varying comments on the hotel, this review will be as honest as can be.

The booking was made via Footballbreak.co.uk as part of a package deal for my two brothers and I to go and see Barcelona play. With flights, a match ticket and 3 nights at the Oasis the whole package came to £292.00 per person ( excluding transfers). An absolute bargain.

However, the trip couldn't have got off to the worst start. Upon arriving at the hotel and being given our ticket envelope, you can imagine my horror at seeing the tickets were for a completely different game next year!!! Whilst this had nothing to do with the hotel, the receptionist on duty Raul was absolutely superb. He called the Spanish agency emergency number and explained the problem and luckily enough he found out that Footballbreak had noted their error before we had arrived and had actually couriered the correct tickets.

Checking in to our room we found three single beds as we had requested, a small wardrobe, small plasma screen TV and average sized bathroom with a bath and shower. The room did look dated, lots of scuff marks on the wall, the hairdryer was hanging off the wall but overall it was as we expected for a 2 star hotel. The room was cleaned every day which sometimes you do not get in more star hotels who will only do it once every other day.

The one thing I would mention though is the occasional smell of sewage which does come up from the streets and into the hotel rooms. Not sure if this is a hotel problem or just the particular street the hotel is on.

We paid for the hotel wifi at 3 euros per day, the connection can fluctuate a bit but for 3 euros again you cant complain really.

The shining light of the hotel though is its location. 10 minutes walk to Las Ramblas, 2 minute walk to the metro, five minute walk to the harbour and supermarkets dotted around the area.

The night life was still pretty busy even for November but does not kick start until at least 12pm- 1am.

Overall for our first trip to Barcelona, we couldnt fault the hotel. The staff were polite enough and there were guests from all over the world staying there which added to a nice cosmopolitan feel to it. If we were looking to do things on a budget again then we would have no hesitation staying there and again special thanks to Raul.

Room Tip: Try and request a newly renovated room. We did ask for one put still got put in one of the old rooms...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAUL S, reception at Hotel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2015

Good evening,

Thank you very much for your kind commentary. It has been a pleasure to have you as customers.
If you decide to return and spend a few days in our hotel, you are more than welcome, we’ll be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Reception Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The rooms are quite small with only a wardrobe to keep your clothes , no draws. You do get a small safe in the wardrobe(free) which came in handy for our passports money etc. The bed was clean but a little uncomfortable.The TV only has 3 English channels 2 business and BBC news.The rest are Spanish.
The bathroom has a large shower cubicle with powerful shower and was very clean.
We had room 106 which is above the bar which closed about 10.30-11 pm but you do get road noise .
Breakfast consisted of cerials toast, meats, cheese, breads, and scrambled eggs along with coffee and tea.
Staff are pleasant and helpful.
The bar attached to the hotel does some tapas and other food at reasonable prices and drinks are also reasonably priced.
The location is very close to the Born district as well as Barcelonetta and the port. The Ramblas is a 20 min walk .
Over all we had a good time and enjoyed the location, my best tip is if you are flying from BCN El Pratt get the train to the airport, the station is only a 3 min walk from the hotel and is cheaper than the aerobus you change at Pas De Gracia but this is very easy as you get off the train and then wait for the second train on the same platform.

Room Tip: Book a superia room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gasman295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAUL S, reception at Hotel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2015

Good evening,

Thank you very much for your kind commentary. It has been a pleasure to have you as customers.
If you decide to return and spend a few days in our hotel, you are more than welcome, we’ll be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Reception Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Cons
Dirty rooms
Dirty sinks
1 piece of shampoo per day


Pros
central location
easy access to transportation
cheap internet

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huseyin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAUL S, reception at Hotel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2015

Good evening,

Thank you for your commentary.
We deeply apologize for any inconvenience or any misunderstanding during your staying. We also want to apologize for the staff misbehaviour at that time.
We made renovations in all the rooms and hotel due to all the issues you just mentioned.
We are deeply sorry for our lack of professionalism in that time.

Hope you can give us the chance to undo our mistakes.

If you decide to return and spend a few days in our hotel, you are more than welcome, we’ll be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards
Reception Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Oasis Hotel offers amazing rooms of very convenient size, super clean and great helpful staff. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from a bus and a metro station. Its is also a short walk to the sea and to the Ramblas Street. I would definitely recommended Oasis hotel for average budget travelers for the great value you get in return for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torras, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Thank you very much for your very good review and to recommend us. We will be glad to welcome you back to the hotel Oasis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Upon arriving here we were abit wary of the hotel rooms and condition(previous bed bug reviews) but as soon as we walked in we found a clean, cheap and good for your money hotel.

We paid an extra £30 for the superior rooms which we found to be very clean, modern and the bathroom was great, not the usual drip shower you usually get in hotels, this is a top of the range shower! The rooms were a little on the small side, however they were very clean and very sufficient for a short stay. We only used rooms for sleeping(The beds were very comfortable) and if you do use it as a base for your trip this is an ideal hotel.

The location is great if you are taking the tube which i would recommend, and is just outside a bus stop but you can walk to the ramblas and centre in 15/20 mins at a nice pace. You are also very close to the old town and there is plenty of life around the area of the hotel.

We didnt use the hotel for food, so cant comment.

The staff we found to be abit hit and miss, There were some very polite staff and some very ignorant so would advise for them to be abit more customer friendly as people will complain.

All in all i would recommend this hotel for someone looking for a cheap, clean and well located hotel. We would definitley return considering the price we paid. If you are looking for more, then you need to pay more! You get what you pay for.

We will return to the hotel and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Pay the extra £30 for superior room. Well worth it, makes alot of difference for a small price!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadeh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torras, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again and thanks for recommend to friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Perfect location of the hotel, amazing staff, always helpfull, hotel simple, but really nice, room was simle, new furniture, clean and usefull....good bar, with nice staff and good coffee.Raul was superb.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torras, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that our work is highly valued, a pleasure to work for people like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#264 of 513 in Barcelona
612 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#260 of 513 in Barcelona
470 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#26 of 513 in Barcelona
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#202 of 513 in Barcelona
386 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#210 of 513 in Barcelona
671 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Hotel 54 Barceloneta
#321 of 513 in Barcelona
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Pla de Palau 17, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barceloneta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $47 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Oasis Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing