We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of ILUNION Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ILUNION Almirante
Ranked #432 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Exceptional location in the gothic quarter moments for the cathedral. Hop-on hop off bus stop just outside. Modern decor in reception, check in took around 10-15 minutes, even though we arrived at 9pm and were the only ones there. Staff are not overly friendly and could be seen as abrupt. We asked where was good for a local meal, to which the reply was 'anywhere' which I found rather unhelpful. The room was rather small, and had two singles pushed together, as opposed to one double mattress. The bathroom was however spacious, and it was nice to have a small balcony. Complementary wifi and water were great features. We spent our first two nights here before moving to the Majestic - double the price, but obviously far superior.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank camilla_chellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    225
    194
    137
    125
See reviews for
120
327
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week with a group of friends. Excellent base to explore Barcelona with the stop for the open top bus outside the hotel and Placa de Catalunya around the corner. Basic room with good sized bathroom but still good value for money altogether.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidaubrey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was rated as 4* and at a great location - what a farce. There was nothing 4* about it at all. Anyway the day we arrived, we checked into our room and then left to go for a stroll around town, thinking we would sort out the safe as soon as we got back. That night, as we were about to go out for the night, we opened the safe and over 600 Euros cash had been stolen while we were out of the room. We went down to reception to report this but they had a totally blasé attitude and didn't care to help us at all. We asked them to check if the room had been entered by anyone else, and/or to check CCTV footage but they were totally uncooperative. Clearly the hotel staff had stolen from us so they wanted to cover their backs. Anyway we stayed there 3 days (didn't have enough money to change hotels) and when we left, we were told they would get in touch with us to send us some money through their own insurance. Of course as expected, we didn't hear anything from them. You would not expect this kind of treatment from somewhere that claims to be a 4* hotel. Absolutely appalling. Don't ever stay here unless you want a traumatic experience that will ruin the rest of your stay in Barcelona. The view from our room led into the noisiest courtyard of old flats where babies were crying and screaming all day (not guests of the hotel).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nishma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were originally unsure as we were moved here from another comfortel hotel as soon as we arrived as they had messed up the bookings. We were however pleasantly surprised as it was a great base for sight seeing around Barcelona. Perfect location! The staff were friendly and helpful especially when we had a few problems with a faulty hairdryer. Rooms were clean with fresh sheets and towels everyday alongside free bottles of water provided in the fridge which were replaced everyday also. When its 30 degrees in the shade you soon appreciate the good air conditioning in your room which was faultless. We didnt have breakfast in the hotel instead there's a lovely patisserie just round the corner with 2 croissants for 1€ and sat outside the cathedral.

We were told the hotel has only been re-opened a week or so and whilst it is still creasing out its faults whilst its finding its feet we were overly impressed and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived on Sunday to stay for 3 nights here, we asked for a double bed in our room and when we walked into our room we were very dissapointed..the room was tiny and dark with an old tv that didn't work and without a remote. We were on the 3rd floor and the view out of our window was next doors damp window sill and drains. We understand that we were in a city so if on a lower floor our views weren't going to be amazing but the fact that we had one dingy sidelight didn't help things. As I was paying around £100 a night for this I asked downstairs if I could be moved to a bigger bedroom, there wasn't any room that night but the next day they moved me to a larger room, however they told us that the rooms with 2 beds rather than 1 double were MUCH bigger, and they were just 2 singles pushed together anyway. After saying we could move in at 11am, they said we couldn't until 3pm. Eventually we were moved to the 7th floor with lovely views down the main road (with no noise pollution) where u can see the mountains and the harbour. We were really pleased with the room we were moved to but can't understand why they don't tell people that the rooms with the 2 singles will be bigger to start with as there was a man next to me who had asked 4 times to move to a bigger room with a double bed (they could have just said that the 2 singles were basically a double). The hotel isn't too far a walk from the beach and la rambla and there are plenty of shops etc near by.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms with 2 beds not 1 double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

while the location of the hotel is good the rooms are extremely small and during our two day stay we had two very large cockroaches in our room. the staff are friendly and the breakfast good but I would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhouston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, minutes walk from the cathedral and other sights. The room was clean and comfortable and we got a very good night's sleep. Breakfast is served on the first floor-excellent buffet and perfect for a lie in as served until 10.30! V civilised midday checkout. Front desk staff were helpful and informative. We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 8th floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#375 of 513 in Barcelona
519 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
ILUNION Bel Art
ILUNION Bel Art
#385 of 513 in Barcelona
25 reviews
Poblenou
ILUNION Barcelona
ILUNION Barcelona
#251 of 513 in Barcelona
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Vincci Gala Barcelona
Vincci Gala Barcelona
#65 of 513 in Barcelona
650 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#337 of 513 in Barcelona
33 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Mercer House Boria BCN
Mercer House Boria BCN
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Almirante

Property: ILUNION Almirante
Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the ILUNION Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Musica and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ILUNION Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
ILUNION Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing