We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location! Highly recommend!”
Review of ILUNION Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ILUNION Almirante
Ranked #434 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location! Highly recommend!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were originally unsure as we were moved here from another comfortel hotel as soon as we arrived as they had messed up the bookings. We were however pleasantly surprised as it was a great base for sight seeing around Barcelona. Perfect location! The staff were friendly and helpful especially when we had a few problems with a faulty hairdryer. Rooms were clean with fresh sheets and towels everyday alongside free bottles of water provided in the fridge which were replaced everyday also. When its 30 degrees in the shade you soon appreciate the good air conditioning in your room which was faultless. We didnt have breakfast in the hotel instead there's a lovely patisserie just round the corner with 2 croissants for 1€ and sat outside the cathedral.

We were told the hotel has only been re-opened a week or so and whilst it is still creasing out its faults whilst its finding its feet we were overly impressed and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    224
    192
    137
    125
See reviews for
118
326
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived on Sunday to stay for 3 nights here, we asked for a double bed in our room and when we walked into our room we were very dissapointed..the room was tiny and dark with an old tv that didn't work and without a remote. We were on the 3rd floor and the view out of our window was next doors damp window sill and drains. We understand that we were in a city so if on a lower floor our views weren't going to be amazing but the fact that we had one dingy sidelight didn't help things. As I was paying around £100 a night for this I asked downstairs if I could be moved to a bigger bedroom, there wasn't any room that night but the next day they moved me to a larger room, however they told us that the rooms with 2 beds rather than 1 double were MUCH bigger, and they were just 2 singles pushed together anyway. After saying we could move in at 11am, they said we couldn't until 3pm. Eventually we were moved to the 7th floor with lovely views down the main road (with no noise pollution) where u can see the mountains and the harbour. We were really pleased with the room we were moved to but can't understand why they don't tell people that the rooms with the 2 singles will be bigger to start with as there was a man next to me who had asked 4 times to move to a bigger room with a double bed (they could have just said that the 2 singles were basically a double). The hotel isn't too far a walk from the beach and la rambla and there are plenty of shops etc near by.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms with 2 beds not 1 double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

while the location of the hotel is good the rooms are extremely small and during our two day stay we had two very large cockroaches in our room. the staff are friendly and the breakfast good but I would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhouston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, minutes walk from the cathedral and other sights. The room was clean and comfortable and we got a very good night's sleep. Breakfast is served on the first floor-excellent buffet and perfect for a lie in as served until 10.30! V civilised midday checkout. Front desk staff were helpful and informative. We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 8th floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Billed as a renovated old hotel, this one does not live up to its billing. At 4 star prices, the room given was small with a very hard bed and limited space. With some urging a slightly larger room was offered and we changed. However, even though better is fell short of its 4 star billing. The front desk staff during evening was not responsive to questions or concerns. The day staff seemed better. The facility was indeed clean and otherwise orderly and the buffet breakfast of good quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank LorenzoP2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you like a lie in then this hotel is not for you. Every morning including Sunday the hotel wakes up at 7am and likes to let you know about it. It is not a new building so has been converted and therefore there are no doors to block off noise coming up the main staircase from every other floor including the restaurant. The cleaners make no effort to be quiet and even with a do not disturb sign on the door they will quite happily have a loud conversation outside your door at 8am. The walls and floors are thin so you can hear everything going on upstairs and next door to you.

The rooms are fine but slightly basic. You only get one thin pillow so if you want to sit up in bed its uncomfortable. We were in a room at the back of the hotel which was a shame as there were no windows except for a tiny one in the corner that looked out into the windows of the building next door making the room very dark and cave like. The bathroom is fine.
The TV has CNN and BBC news so caters for English speakers as well as having a wealth of Spanish and Catalan channels.

Also, they do not have an iron on site to borrow. You have to give your ironing to the cleaner who will return it next day and charge you for it.

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is parallel to Las Ramblas and about 2 minutes from the nearest Metro station. It is easy walking distance to Placa de Catalunya and Passeig de Gracia.

All in all, for location it's perfect but if you like peace, quiet and sleep then it's not for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana2pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - we got a lastminute deal through Lastminute secret hotels. After reading the reviews on here our expectations were quite low.

Positives
great location - you can walk to all the central places
tourist bus stop is very close.
clean
Nice shower

Negatives
If you get a standard room they are TINY, you have to negotiate the door, window and toilet to get around the bathrom.
One person on reception was very slow and unhelpful althought the woman there the next day was the complete opposite and very helpful.
The rooms do not look like they do on the website.

We didn't eat here at all so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annalou1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
#374 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Poblenou
ILUNION Barcelona
ILUNION Barcelona
#253 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#286 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Mercer House Boria BCN
Mercer House Boria BCN
#301 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#449 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
ILUNION Bel Art
ILUNION Bel Art
#384 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Almirante

Property: ILUNION Almirante
Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the ILUNION Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Musica and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ILUNION Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
ILUNION Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing