We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the worst hotels ever. ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of ILUNION Almirante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ILUNION Almirante
Ranked #433 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotels ever. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

They first gave us a room with no windows to the dark alley with frosted glass because the view was terrible it was better to block it. The matress was broken and general finish of the unit was extremely poor(markings on the wall, water marks on the ceiling). The temperature control unit was busted and there was no way i was going to spend a night in that hole. We asked the front desk to move us into a room with a window to the street. This room was much bigger and better layout. The quality of finish was still below par but at least we had a bit more light. The promotional pictures i saw

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnr1lee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    213
    188
    132
    120
See reviews for
111
314
27
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We did not go with high expectations based on reviews. When we first came into the hotel we thought the guy at the front desk was very friendly, and when I asked for a room with a balcony, he said he would see what he could. Then he made it sound as though he did me a massive favour by giving us "the best room" in the hotel. I saw others when they were getting cleaned, it was probably the worse. very dark room, lights were different colours, tv staticky and bathroom sink's drains were terrible. Other than that, we had a very comfortable stay! They lend us a converter, when asked for band-aids they gave me about 5, and the housekeeper was so sweet. The location was PERFECT, we were on the second floor and the traffic was totally fine at night (which is the only time we spent in the room: to sleep). For the price, loved it. Just that first guy could have done better for us! If you stay in that area, for breakfast I highly recommend Jamaica Cafe (which is up the street on the right just before Palau Musica!)

In summery, I did not hate it enough to want to change hotels, beds were veryyy comfy, clean and the shower was hot and relaxing.... that's all I really needed. But if I stayed longer in this dark room/bathroom, I would have gone crazy!

Room Tip: I loved having the balcony! but 209 is not the best...lights were BAD and a few issues in the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BatoolM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon,england
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Spent two nights here on a short three day trip to see Celticv Barca,the hotel is well located to visit las ramblas,the cathedral and not too far from the harbour area,the hotel is situated on a busy street so you do get a fair bit of noise from the traffic if your in a front facing room.The room we stayed in was fairly high up overlooking the main road so there was a view of sorts and a lot of noise throughout the day,the room itself was very nice and a fair size with a nice bathroom area.
There are plenty of bars and cafes nearby so the location was ideal for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scaffolder1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

PLEASE READ, this is a genuine review, not an angry rage. We stayed here from 24th-28th November 2012. We got there expecting decent things due to the pictures on trip advisor and the official website. However, the rooms advertised are the best available, and these are on par with your standard premier inn or travelodge room, but a lot more expensive. The room we stayed in was literally 2 single beds push together, a single wardrobe and a small bathroom with a small narrow bath. You had to literally shuffle around the room to avoid banging into the beds and each other. With it being "winter" there was no air con, so the rooms was literally an oven on a night. The final touches are defiantly a let down with loose tiles and marks in the painted wall, I'd give the rooms a 3* tops.
If the room isn't a problem and you won't be in it long then the location of the hotel is in walking distance of la Rambla, marina and is in the middle of two great quarters for tourists which is probably why the prices's are more than they should be. The staff are also very friendly and the public areas are very nice, it's just a shame about the rooms.
We got a chance to look at the better rooms as we asked for an upgrade but couldn't justify the price as your we're only getting more space and two 3/4beds and a balcony looking into an office block, the finishing touches were still a let down unfortunately.
We stayed in room 110, which is above a Irish bar on the main road, which at around 1:30am the party starts and it can be hard to sleep if your door/window is open (needed to due to heat) and also the busy city has a lot of traffic starting from 6am.
If I was to go back to Barcelona I'd stay in this location but not this hotel sadly,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarcBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you aren't going to be sleeping much, then this is the place for you. It is a great location, the room is clean, the staff are somewhat helpful. BUT if you value sleep, go elsewhere. The walls are unbelievably paper thin. Everytime someone opens/closes a door it slams. House keeping starts very early in the morning and you won't be able to sleep after they start. It actually sounds like the entire hotel is under construction. They are constantly sliding beds around and who knows what else. I had to get ear plugs and I STILL can't sleep. Also, you can here talking in all off the rooms around you. Like I said, if you aren't planning on sleeping much, then this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms along Via Laeitana are noisy from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

It´s a nice hotel. Have a good service and nice rooms.
Is modern and comfortable.
The breakfast is very good.
Have a very good location, at downtown, near the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
ILUNION Barcelona
ILUNION Barcelona
#251 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
#379 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#257 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#279 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#450 of 522 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Horta - Guinardó
ILUNION Bel Art
ILUNION Bel Art
#376 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Almirante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Almirante

Property: ILUNION Almirante
Address: Via Laietana 42, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Guitart Almirante)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Almirante 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and modern, the ILUNION Almirante enjoys a privileged location that will make us dream of the past. Located in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just 200 meters from the Cathedral and the Palau de la Musica and a few minutes from the Borne area, famous for its variety of restaurants and its bohemian and elitist atmosphere.Guests can stroll down the famous Ramblas, located less than 10 minutes walk and the metro station Jaume I is only 300 meters away.All rooms are decorated with contemporary furnishings and amenities that will make guests feel at home: free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat-screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning .The hotel offers as well a fitness center and several PC’s located in the main lobby offering free Wi-Fi access. Room service available during limited hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ILUNION Almirante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Almirante Hotel Barcelona
ILUNION Almirante Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing