We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who wants to stay locked up in a hotel room in Barcelona, anyway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cuatro Naciones

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Ranked #199 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Who wants to stay locked up in a hotel room in Barcelona, anyway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel is value for money, safe and in the best location on la rambla. Highly recommended as I only used it for a base to sleep as there too much to do in Barcelona then to stay locked up in a hotel room. Breakfast was included and is like all European hotels so don't expect a full 'american' breakfast but was nice enough. Staff were very helpful with things to do in Barcelona and spoke good English, as a solo traveller I felt safe at this hotel and had a great time in Barcelona!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank la_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    464
    138
    29
    11
See reviews for
222
364
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel was in a great location with great views overlooking La Rambla from our room. The hotel price was reflected by the location and the staff were very nice and helpful. My only disappointment was that I felt the rooms could have done with a paint, the floor was very dated as was the furniture in the room but it seemed clean which is my biggest concern when booking a hotel. The building itself i liked though with a nice old staircase and large rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

a trip with mys sister in January. Perfect location, clean, helpful staff, spacious bedroom, Wi fi and computers available. The 2 down things:
smell of the cigarretes on the corridors .
he breakfats could be so m,uch better. JUst include some fresh bread/fruit and this hotel would be excellent

TIP: Guet a taxi to and from airpot cost us less than 30 euros !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivijuliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is right on Las Rambles and is perfect for exploring the wonderful city of Barcelona. The staff were so friendly and checking in was so quick and easy. I had booked online with Last minute.com.

This hotel was Bed and Breakfast. The selection was your usual Continental but if you fancied something a little more exotic; The World famous Market of la Boqueria was all of 5 minutes walk away. I still cannot get over the delicious and exciting fruits that were on offer. I have never seen anything quite like it and had a zumo nearly every day.

This was my First visit to Barcelona and certainly not my last. I loved it, loved it, loved it......... Infact I want to live there now!

The people are original and charming and I had the pleasure of watching a game at Camp nou, which was quite overwhelming with the vibrant colours,glorious singing and beautiful football. We even had a Clarinet player in our section.....

If this is your firt trip to Barcelona, please go to Hotel Cuatro Naciones.

Room Tip: Prob best not to have one facing Las Rambles if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkleowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed for a weekend in October to see Barcelona and attend a football match.

The room was a little older but still clean and decent in size. Room had a balcony overlooking La Rambla and the location was excellent in the quieter end of La Rambla. It was a
little noisy at night but that's a sacrifice to be able to walk out the front door and be on the main street of Barcelona.

I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcouldrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Had a good two night stay at this hotel last week. Location and value for money were our main reason for booking. Hotel is smack bang in the middle of Las Ramblas. This means excellent transport links and lots to do nearby, but it's also very noisy (on top of a metro also), and plenty of undesirable types lurk on the street at night. Service was good, food not bad. Room was decent. Good budget option.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liambr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights in Barcelona. Got a great 3 for 2 deal for starting my trip on Monday which was part of the plan anyway, so got great value for my stay. The room was beautiful and everything worked perfectly. Nice little breakfast every morning as well. Location is literally perfect for Barcelona, in the heart of the action but never heard any street noise at all. All things considered it was excellent, but dont expect the people at the front desk to be very helpful. They were willing to help when pushed but it felt like we were hassling them whenever we asked for directions or recommendations. But if you are resourceful this is a great stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#108 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#210 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#78 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#377 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#212 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#303 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuatro Naciones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuatro Naciones

Property: Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Address: La Rambla 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#160 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cuatro Naciones 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite affordable in light of its extremely central location on Las Ramblas, the Hotel Cuatro Naciones in Barcelona has been providing basic rooms for more than 200 years . Turn-of-the century style unfolds in a lobby decked out with high crown molding, wrought ironwork, and marble galore. ... Read MoreA sweeping staircase leads to 55 simplistic rooms with white walls and punchy pink bedspreads and curtains. Floors are smooth stone mosaic. There's also an elevator, if stairs aren't your thing. Fourteen of the rooms at the Hotel Cuatro Naciones offer sweeping views of La Rambla. The first floor salon is a must-see, featuring hotel-related news clippings through the ages and signed photos and memorabilia of the hotel's most famous guests. The fancy guest history includes Stendhal, Frederic-Francois Chopin, Ulysses S. Grant, and Buffalo Bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cuatro Naciones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuatro Naciones Hotel
Cuatro Naciones Barcelona
Hotel Cuatro Naciones Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing