We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position”
Review of Hotel Gaudi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gaudi
Ranked #168 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2005

The Hotel Gaudi is in a perfect position for sightseeing in Barcelona. Just off Las Ramblas 5 mins walk from the harbour, 15 mins to the beach, close to the metro and most of the 'must do' tourist spots within easy walking distance.
Our room was spotlessly clean, with excellent bathroom facilities. The staff were friendly and we really appreciated the bottle of Cava left in our room by the management when they found out it was our 25th wedding anniversary.
Barcelona is a wonderful city and the Hotel Gaudi is a great place to base yourself for a short break.

7  Thank DWK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2005

Following a week in Madrid, I was anxious to see Barcelona (Catalonia). The Gaudi was in an EXCELLENT locale -- The accessibility to the Gothic area/sightseeing/shopping/dining was outstanding. The staff was extremely helpful and truly went out of their way to assist. The room was clean, large and provided many towels! The only problem I encountered was the obsessive eagerness by housekeeping to ensure the room was "cleaned" -- After travel/jet-lag, I just wanted to rest. My attempt at napping was interrupted countless times by housekeeping (knocking and opening my door while a Do Not Disturb sign was posted on the door handle). Oveall the stay was wonderful and the staff excellent. As a single woman, travelling alone, I felt safe and would recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank genevieve3290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

My girl friends and I went for a short break to Barcelona to take in the sightes. I booked the hotel over the net so I wasn't quite sure that it would be ok?

We were pleasently surprised, we were booked in quickly with a smile, our luggage was taken straight to our room. Also the receptionist gave us discount vouchers for meals in the city.

We had booked a quad room and had asked for the room to be high with a view. Sadly the room wasn't with a front view we were at the rear. But having said that the room was very large, very clean and the beds were nicely made up. We had a balcony that over looked the police station and the roof tops of Barcelona.

I have booked to go back to Barcelona but at another hotel. Not because we didn't like this one, but because I found a better standard hotel at at a better price, just off the Ramblas. But I would have no hessitation in going back to this hotel again if the was the price was right.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank litchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2005

It was our first time in Barcelona, so we wanted somewhere close to the attractions. The hotel, although in a back street, certainly was close to the attractions..about 50 metres from La Rambla, but far enough away not to hear the late night goings on.
Started off in a quad room on floor 6, with our own terrace overlooking the city, but half way through our 5 night stay we had to be moved to a 3rd floor room, due to our air con possibly flooding other rooms (our air con ran 24/7.. it was hot!)
Harbour pleasant, La Rambla vibrant (watch out for pick pockets and ball/cup scams), must eat in the Hard rock cafe, cable cars scary (very high), boat trip along the coast a bit dull, must see Sagrada Familia..althogh it's a building site, Parc Gaudi wonderful, the beach is a good 30 minute walk from La Rambla.

All of the main attractions can be done in 4-5 days.

Book via e-mail directly with the hotel, not through an agent..cheaper

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Crewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2005

We have stayed at the Hotel Gaudi twice, Recomended by a colleague who had also stayed there twice, well you dont go back a second time if things arn't right do you..
The hotel is superbly situated just 50 yards from the Ramblas, close to many bars and restaurants.
Rooms arn't that spacious but you only sleep in them so I dont see that as a big negative point. The breakfast buffet will keep you going all day, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Take note that the Palau Guel opposite the Hotel is currently being refurbished, and not due to re open until November /December 2006.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TonyCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Stayed the weekend here for the grand prix.
As already stated - fantastic location just off Las Ramblas on a quiet narrow street. Located at the harbour end of Las Ramblas. 5 min walk to underground. Typical 2 and a half star hotel. Rooms very basic, some with large balconies. Breakfast buffet not bad - did the trick. Coffee machine etc.
Cost was about €80 per person sharing for b & b per night.
Mixed help from reception - some very helpful, some not !!
Would recommend for location not for luxury !!!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cunningm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2005

We have just returned from a three day stay at the Hotel Gaudi,the hotel was clean and comfortable and our triple room was a great size.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent english.We asked for a third floor room or above, at the front of the hotel, so we could have a view of the rooftop of the Paull Guell building opposite, and we were given a room on the fourth floor with a perfect view.The location is ideal for the Rambla,Port Vell and the Cathedral,and we would highly recommend The Attic restaurant on the Rambla.All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niseach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 517 in Barcelona
1,692 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#106 of 517 in Barcelona
2,622 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#93 of 517 in Barcelona
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#197 of 517 in Barcelona
1,002 reviews
La Rambla
Ramblas Hotel
Ramblas Hotel
#417 of 517 in Barcelona
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gaudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaudi

Address: Nou de la Rambla 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $78 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gaudi 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations, restaurant and bar; located near the Ramblas, the Gothic Square and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gaudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudi Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gaudi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing