We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Basic, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Call

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Call
Ranked #426 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, Basic, Great Location”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Don't expect much from this hotel, but if you're basically looking for a place to sleep and shower, this is great. The location is perfect. Walking distance to La Rambla. Excellent location if you're planning on doing walking tours. Extremely close to metro transportation, restaurants and a lot of the places you'd like to see.

I stayed here for about 5 nights in late March of 2014. Took a cab from the airport, which cost about 35 Euro. The taxi was not able to get to right in front the hotel, so basically straight off the plane, I was forced to walk around the area, small streets, laid out in no particular order, while dragging a full sized, heavy suitcase. Not the perfect situation. After stopping to ask a couple of times, I finally found the hotel. It's off a main street, onto a side street, then you turn onto another street, and then a couple steps off into an alley.

Check in was a breeze, there were no issues. My room was near the elevator, and was quiet and clean. Functional, with a small desk as well. Walking into the room, you go down a narrow hallway caused by the bathroom. You then enter a decent sized room, with a bed, small closet, desk and chair and bedside tables. The private bathroom was fine, but don't expect shampoo or conditioner left in there for you.

Things to be aware of:
- You need to turn in your keys every time you leave the hotel - apparently so that you don't make copies of the key, or so I was told.
- The hotel is located in an alley, but at no point was I ever uncomfortable or felt unsafe (Female solo traveler)
- Mentioned above, no shampoo or conditioner. I received a basic soap for the bath, but that was it. Also, weirdly enough, one day housekeeping left me a half empty tube of body wash. Needless to say, I didn't use it.
- Again, mentioned above, the cab will not take you directly to the hotel. Plan ahead, do some research and have an idea of where the hotel will be located. Also, be prepared to pay the 35-40Euro for the trip. Depending on the terminal you land in, I was told it could be significantly more.
- Internet is very shaky in room. I stayed on the 2nd floor, right next to the elevator. Barely got a signal, unless i had my laptop in a very specific spot on the bed.
- Big one! There were NO windows in the room. This is a bit awful since there's no natural light to wake you, and throws off your sense of time totally!!!

Overall, I'd stay here again, the location is perfect, the room is clean. Not much more needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShivanaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Call, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments and for highlighting the location and the hotel limipieza
You know we are also working on providing the best possible care

Best Regards
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    128
    97
    38
    25
See reviews for
24
136
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We went there for one night stay only. The location was perfect, 2 minutes walking distance from Rambla,rooms clean and staff helpful. We could leave our luggage after we checked out to go and sight and see, definitely will go back again! Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassageGCTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Call, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for your rating and comments
This is our goal and satisfaction, to have satisfied customers like you in all aspects of your stay
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to Barcelona expected to be equally successful this

Best Regards

Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed in Hotel Call for four nights in early April - room was spotlessly clean upon arrival and was maintained in this condition by the daily maid service throughout my entire stay. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and eager to offer helpful suggestions on what to see, where to eat, etc. Most importantly, the location was nearly perfect, as the hotel is down a quiet street right off of a main thoroughfare in the middle of the gorgeous Barri Gotic (gothic district). 5 mins walk and you were either on La Rambla or by the ancient Cathedral. Nearest metro stop was at La Rambla, also extremely close, and there were tons of great little restaurants/cafes on nearby Ferran street. Hotel furnishings were basic, but overall the location, cleanliness, and cheerful staff made my stay in Barcelona very enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyLou3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Call, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Madam,

We are glad that you have had very good stay at the Hotel Call, and you have found the hotel very clean and staff very friendly
As it says the location is very good
Thank you for your comment and hope that on his return to Barcelona, ​​will stay with us again

Best Regards

Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

For sure 2014 is not a good year to stay in Hotel CaI try to be objective in my reviews but how much worse can it get when your entire room smells like a toilet and you can heat when ever people in the hotel flush.

Room 306 of this hotel was extremely filthy and even though we did not expect much as choices were few during the Barcelona Mobile World congress, we did not expect the hotel would be worse than staying in a hostel with shared conveniences.

Also, there was confusion over the reservation on booking.com and Hotel Call but rather than try to resolve it they threatened to call the cops!?

There are many great choices in Barcelona even when you are on a tight budget, besides its location this hotel has ABSOLUTELY nothing going for it.

Room Tip: I don't know that there are good rooms but 306 was a disaster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia U, Marketing Departmet at Hotel Call, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Client,

We apologize for the problems occasioned, to inform you that we have already solved these problems, in fact customers now and put their best assessment

Thank you for helping us improve

Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I really satisfied staying here since its so close to the metro station and las ramblas. Room service is great and receptionist is friendly. Somehow i like their soap ahah! Overall, i would say, if u need a budget stay with a 'just nice place to sleep', this would be it!
The only drawback will be the location where its a bit scary but im a single female traveller. I survived this one :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eee_que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Call, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion about the Hotel Call on tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the excellent location and the friendly staff.

We hope we can welcome you back at the Hotel Call very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Call with my boyfriend september 2013 for almost a week.
We were very happy with the choice. It´s perfectly located in el Barri Gotic, surrounded by small charming shops, great places to eat, close to la Rambla and metro and just a short walk (20 min) to the beach. Just in the center of everything!
The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful, which I will say is the most important thing.
They had a genius system for room cleaning; when we went out we left the key in the lobby, so they knew we weren´t in the room. That way we never got woken up in the morning, we could always sleep in, something we really appreciated.
So, it´s a simple hotel, the shower often switched between hot and cold, there was no view from our hotel room, and we got two (a bit too hard) separate beds instead of one big as we requested (but this seem to be a problem at most hotels..).
But anyway, we really enjoyed our stay, and would´t think twice about booking Hotel Call again, and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Call, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your last stay at the Hotel Call.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend the Hotel Call.

It will be a pleasure to share your positive comment on the staff and the service with the entire team. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon at the Hotel Call

Kind regards,

Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hotel Call is everything you need for a budget trip to Barcelona. The staff are very friendly and will do anything they can to help with any queries. The rooms were spotless, if you're looking for luxury go elsewhere but this hotel provides comfy beds and a good shower, which is all a lot of travellers want.
The location is fantastic, just a few minutes walk to the Liceu metro/Las Ramblas but still in the beautiful Gothic quarter. Local supermarkets were good and close to a number of banks.
Will definitely stay again when I go to Barcelona!
Stayed September 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel Call, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your last stay at the Hotel Call.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the excellent location of the hotel as well as the service

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards,

Lydia Ussia
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#278 of 512 in Barcelona
520 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#337 of 512 in Barcelona
363 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#315 of 512 in Barcelona
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#475 of 512 in Barcelona
296 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#125 of 512 in Barcelona
1,084 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#375 of 512 in Barcelona
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Call

Property: Hotel Call
Address: Arc de Sant Ramon del Call, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Call 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Call reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Call Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Call Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing