We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good located!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Call

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Call
Ranked #422 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good located!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

First i have to say , that we didnt stayed in this hotel, because it was unfortunately fully booked and they had to put us in a site hotel , 2min away. But i think its very helpful to say , that this hotel is super located in barcelona . really close to La Rambla and the harbour, so for that price really wroth to stay. We would defenetely try to book this hotel again. Reception was very clean and the man on the front desk was really welcome and nice .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elskatyskland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    125
    94
    35
    24
See reviews for
23
130
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel with smal but nice rooms. Friendly staff. Free wifi with good speed.
Near the big tourist sites. The rooms are small with queen size bed a desk and a big storage for clothes. Small but nice toilet with shower.

+
A safe in room
Nice bed
Wifi
Near big tourist sites
Great staff

-
No window in my room
Warm room

Helpful?
1 Thank Mattias R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

To cut it short, here is what I loved and hated about the hotel:

1- Location:
Directly suited in the heart of Barcelona (Las Ramblas), it is 2 minutes walking from Liceu station, 3 mins from Jaume station and 5 mins from the bus stop next to Jaume station which means that whichever underground line you are using or coming late after a clubbing night out you will always be 5 mins max away from your hotel.

2- Service and Rooms:
Very clean, bathrooms with bath tub and spacious, receptionists very helpful and nice. Safe in room. The only negative here is if you wanted to wake up anytime past 9 a.m. you will have to hear some light noises while cleaning but you will be able to sleep anyways, rooms are kind of isolating. Aaaah as well, for the top floors there is an elevator.

3- Hints:
To book always aim to book early enough to get cheap prices, I was able to find prices that were comparable to other hostels but with the benefit of having private rooms and excellent housekeeping next to a king size bed all for me. It is a 1 star hotel but it is equivalent to 3 stars hotels in UK.

Bon voyage and have fun, this is the best budget hotel in town for sure :)


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

When we first booked Hotel Call I thought - oh it'll be fine!!! Then from further research I saw photos on Google looking like something out of Dawn of the Dead. I swear when I held it up to the light I saw a condemned sign hanging underneath.

The journey to the hotel was full of worry - what if we can hear cockroaches scuttling through the wall cavities? Would we have to buy another accommodation? But we were pleasantly surprised!!

Although the front of the hotel does look quite frankly hideous - the inside is very nice. The lobby was clean and fairly modern and the staff very friendly and helpful. We were in room 303 and started the long ascent by stairs as the lift was busy.

The room was cosy and quite small, but it did the trick. Two single beds which are very close together but clean. One bed was better than the other - mine being particularly hard. The bathroom again small but clean and adequate for two people with a fairly powerful shower. Fresh towels and toilet paper daily.

The room also boasted a safe which is just big enough for two iPads and a few passports though a bit of jiggling is required to make it fit.

The room is also fitted with air conditioning which unfortunately didn't work too well. The heating was stuck on and the roomed heated up to 29.5 degrees before we mentioned it to the hotel staff - the only way to fixing it would be to turn it off entirely and we managed to get it down to 23 degrees.

The only downside was the view from the window which was non existent. Near the beginning of the stay we had to close the window when we heard other rooms flushing the toilet to avoid a waft of sewage but it soon passed.

In conclusion - I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel Call. I was expecting it to be hideous and it was quite pleasant. The location was fantastic (3 minutes walk to La Rambala), the accommodation was great for £25 a night (per room!!) - I'd definitely stay here again if I was coming to Barcelona on a last minute budget holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arrived late morning to find our room ready, 303 a twin room with ensuite. Room was compact but clean, had an in room safe which was small but did fit 2 iPads. Desk, wardrobe and 1 power socket. The air conditioning did not work and was stuck on 25 degrees which was uncomfortable but the temperature did decrease over our stay. Best advice Turn it off!!

Bathroom was a good size, had all amenities. Fresh towels each day hair dryer available on request.

Wifi was fantastic good speed and no faffing around.

Location was fantastic 5 minute walk from la ramblas and Liceu metro. Surrounded by great restaurants and shops.

It may not be luxury but it is 1* and great value for money. We paid £70 for 3 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank googlejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A room without window felt first a little odd. Positive opinion about this is that instead of staying in your room you will go out, which is the purpose of a trip.
Location was great and staff friendly. There was no street noise. The only voices came from corridor. Sleeping quality was perfect in a dark, quiet room.
I have made a new booking to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jari t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#260 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#317 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#476 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#333 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
No photo provided
Banys Nous
#457 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#155 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Call

Property: Hotel Call
Address: Arc de Sant Ramon del Call, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Call 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Call reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Call Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Call Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing