We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #15 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A well thought out hotel with welcoming staff makes it well worth considering.We had a top floor room from which you could hear rush hour traffic but outside of that it was quite quiet.Room was spacious,breakfast very nice and all within a couple of minutes walk of metro.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank frederico77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Primero Primera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 708 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights during a recent visit to Barcelona. The rooms are beautiful - in particular I loved the wooden ceilings and skylights. On our first night stay at the hotel, the plumbing in the room broke down and they were extremely helpful in shifting us immediately to a suite and knocking money off our stay. The breakfast is delicious and the free snacks a welcome touch. We loved our stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Primero Primera is a little gem of a hotel off the beaten path of tourists and located in a quiet and upscale residential part of Barcelona known as the “zona alta”.

I have stayed at many hotels in Barcelona and this little hotel has been my best experience thus far. It felt like being at home away from home and nice to come to at the end of a busy day.

Extremely comfortable, quiet, discreet and beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. Lovely common areas truly felt like being in your own living room or library. The staff is very friendly and helpful, attending to your every need to make this a really wonderful experience. Access to public transportation and the center of town is less than a 10 minute walk away making it a perfect choice for those who want to be close to everything but away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the center of town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank L O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is perfect for a quiet holiday in a tourist town. About 15 to 20 minutes away from the heart of the town, in a residential area, this hotel helps you relax after a hectic day of tourism. It is a short walk away from the main street and the subway and well connected to the town. A very modern hotel with great amenities. It is a small hotel with not too many rooms, so there is not much of a hustle and bustle. The staff is very friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RMaturu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Located in suburban Barcelona, Hotel Primero Primera is a quiet, stylish and comfortable base to explore the city.
We stayed for 2 nights in mid-December. Arriving in the city via Sants train station, we took a 15 minute taxi ride to the hotel. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived and checked in without any delay. The room was more like a suite with an entrance hall (containing lots of storage space, room safe, tea / coffee making facilities as well as his and hers full length mirrors!). The room was very large with a King size bed, long comfortable sofa, bed side tables and a writing desk, and there was still a lot of space to walk around. The room overlooked the back garden.
The bathroom was a reasonable size with a big walk in shower and an expansive wall mirror. It also had a window to the garden meaning there was no shortage of natural light in the bathroom. We had no problems with the water pressure or temperature during our short stay.
The nearest metro station is Les Tres Tores, which is 3 blocks from the hotel and just over 5 minutes walking time. As the streets in this part of Barcelona are laid out in a grid, even the directionally challenged will find the train station without too much difficulty. My one concern about the Tres Tores station is that it lies on line 6 of the Barcelona metro. Line 6 is operated by FGC and not TMB, so the result is that in order to travel to the main tourist sites in Barcelona, it is necessary to travel to Plaza Catalunya first and then change to one of the other metro lines. It is not a huge inconvenience since most tourists will usually start exploring the city from Plaza Catalunya anyway, but the Tres Tores station does lack the flexibility of some of the stations on the train lines operated by TMB (i.e. lines 1 – 4).
We had breakfast on both days. It is served as a buffet and is well laid out in the beautiful breakfast room (it is like a living room). I found the range of options to be somewhat limited, but probably standard for most Spanish restaurants (i.e. lots of bread, lots of hams, lots of fruit, etc.). We even tried room service one evening and although we were not expecting a lot, we were actually quite impressed with the food. The chicken curry was surprisingly good, although it is definitely a Spanish chicken curry!
We found the staff in reception to be friendly and helpful at all times. As we arrived at the hotel, having just checked out of another hotel in Madrid, we had a lot of laundry. The staff happily took all items and returned them to us ahead of schedule.
We found the reception, stairs and the hall outside our room to be a little dark. In fact the walls of the hall were painted black. This seemed a strange choice given how stylish the rooms are (not to mention the beautiful breakfast room and bar) but it did not detract from our stay in any way.
I lived in Barcelona a few years ago and this was my first journey back to the city in 6 years. I didn’t live anywhere near Hotel Primero Primera during my time there, but that was my loss. I was certainly happy to call it home for 2 days on this visit and will happily return the next time I am fortunate enough to visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Expatriate_in_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've spent four nights at the end of the year in a superior room. Each and every euro is worth it to invest in this place to stay. Very sympathic and helpful staff (thank you Marie angel :-)) and nice infrastructure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

A special place off the center of the city. Small, happy service, good breakfast, free and good wifi, large and very clean rooms.

Home away from home.

If you are looking to stay in the heart of the city night life you better stay in the rambla area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Nacii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,115 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,825 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,974 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
265 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $172 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing