We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we visited in Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #15 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a very unusual hotel but we really loved it there, this was a private land that turned into hotel with nice rooms.

We booked the hotel knowing it was a bit outside of the city and far from the Ramblas.

The hotel was located in a quiet neighborhood of Doctor Carulla where there were apartment complex and all. It is better to use taxi to reach this hotel because we did and it was much better than using the metro. However, the metro is not too far from the hotel with a short stroll to the station.

The room we booked was quite large compared to the room we booked at another hotel near Catalunya. The lounge downstairs was very nice, warm and made you feel welcomed. You could choose the free drinks there (mini bar was a complimentary) and you could also pay accordingly for the alcoholic drinks. Wifi was free as well.

Try the to sit in the lounge area, the library room or definitely try the garden sofa to enjoy the weather while reading your favorite books.

The staff was very helpful and informative. They also recommended us to try a chinese restaurant frequented by the Barca team not too far from the hotel. Sadly it was closed during our visit.

We really love this hotel, a home far from home. Will visit again someday!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les_canadiens_jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Director General at Hotel Primero Primera, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We really appreciate it for taking your time to write about your experience at Hotel Primero Primera. We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel on your next trip to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Primero Primera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 708 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was the last one we stayed in after a string of top hotels in Spain. We were happy to see that the best had been saved for last. The entire hotel is *impeccably* designed to result in an extremely stylish, calm, cozy, and luxurious atmosphere. The honesty bar and other touches made our stay feel very private and personal. Our room was on the top floor, which actually was outside on the roof (!), and the unusual shape of the room under the eaves of the roof added to the cabin-like charm. When booking, we were concerned about the hotel's location outside of the heart of the city - but the subway is less than a 5 minute walk away, remarkably easy to use, and takes a direct route to La Ramblas in about 10 minutes. More than worth it for the experience of retiring to our beautiful room in the evening. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel - no other one in Barcelona could compare after staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grabanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It took quite a while to find this hotel both on arrival and during our stay. Many taxi drivers did not know the hotel and found it difficult to locate would recommend taking a hotel card out with you. We had booked a standard room prior to arriving. On arrival we were shown to an attic room on the top floor. The room was very dark and small it had a couple of low lighting lamps and a window the size of an A3 sheet of paper. I was really disappointed with this and went to speak to the reception staff. The lady explained that unfortunately we had booked a standard room and this was one of the bigger ones. She offered an upgrade to a superior room but at a cost of 50 euros but also offered to show me a different standard room. I opted to see the standard room which I have to say was more like what I had anticipated it was a good size nice and light with a high quality bathroom. I asked to swap to this. When we then got to the room with our luggage the lady then offered to show us a superior room as a complimentary upgrade. This room was a bigger version of the standard room she had shown us with the added extras you would expect. I wouldn't recommend the attic room but have to say the superior room we stayed in was great and is certainly worth the extra cost for the added comfort. The location of the hotel was not so great though I have to say. It is a 5 minute walk to Tres Torres station and takes about 10/15 mins to get to Placa Catalunya. The trains come every 15 mins until about 12 midnight but then are less regular and it was much easier to get a taxi back to the hotel from the centre costing about 10/12 euros. Tres Torres is on the FGC line most of the main attractions are reached via the metro this means you often have to change. Each time you change this is counted as a separate journey (you pay for each journey unless you buy a travel card the T-10 is very good value I would recommend this ten journeys for 9.75 euros). Renting a car is probably easier if staying at this hotel. The complimentary soft drinks are good (major brands) and the breakfast provided plenty of choice from croissants to cereal and sandwiches. Overall the hotel is a little pricey considering the distance from the centre of Barcelona. I would recommend staying closer to the centre but it your looking for something less busy and congested this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Director General at Hotel Primero Primera, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Madam,

As you mention, Primero Primera is located in a residential area just 5 stops (7minutes ride) by metro from the city center. It is a quiet area away from the bustle of the city center but sorrounded by small restaurants and shops where the locals go. All this information is clearly stated in our web site as we want to be as clear as possible. We want our clients to have a memorable experience at our hotel during their visit to Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in the middle of a medical district about 15 mins tube ride and 5 mins walk from the centre of town.

The room (a suite) was very spacious, modern & clean.

TV channels limited for English speaking, Tea making facilities OK but the offer of free soft drinks (cokes fanta water and even a beer) was unusual but welcome.

The reception staff were excellent and very helpful. (esp Daphne)

I mentioned the hotel was a bit out of town but this is a positive when you consider how quiet it was.

Breakfast was adequate but again a bit limited choice of 3 or 4 fruits, yoghurt, rolls and cereal being a bit repetitive for a 4 day stay.

The hotel had an honesty bar which we didn't avail ourselves of (honest) mainly because we were out a lot. However it was still a relaxing place to sit and read.

The last day was spoiled for me as I had my wallet stolen at the Cathedral square, but again Daphne was a great help when we returned to the hotel.

I think I would return again as I guess we prefer comfort and quiet above all else and Barcelona was splendid for 3 of the 4 days we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is indeed a wonderful boutique hotel. Think: The Four Seasons meets B&B. The hotel is a renovated apartment building in a upscale suburb; everything pristine and high end without being at all stuffy. The staff, across the board, were fantastic. I wrote many email requests (reservations, directions, etc) prior to our visit. Each were answered quickly, and every request cheerfully done. Letter perfect service continued during our visit. High kudos to the staff there.

Having the public areas (patios, study, breakfast room, library) is great. The complimentary drinks (water, coffe/tea, soda) were a nice touch. I think they have cut back on 24/7 snacks since the first reviews started - but there was a bowl of apples and tinned cookies always available. Internet was weak at times, but not an extra charge. The buffet breakfast in the mornings was quite nice - no hot items, other than beverages, but the right amount of tasty, fresh options I felt.

We booked a room (via Mr. and Mrs. Smith) for 3, and received a Junior Suite, which was spacious, well appointed, and had a balcony, which we enjoyed. The downside to this room (for 3 people), was that the chaise lounge in the sitting room was used as the extra bed. It's in a awkward place, sitting at an angle, with total views of the (nice, large, glass windowed) bathroom. Not the best solution, but was a minor blip to an overall good stay.

As others have also said, you do need to consider the location. We'd have a full day of touring "down" in Barcelona, and would get back to the hotel exhausted. I can't tell you how many dinner reservations we cancelled, because we just didn't have the energy to go back into town. There a decent recent options near the hotel - but we were disappointed to have not tried some of the restaurants we had on our list. On the nights we picked ourselves up, the staff easily and quickly arranged cabs, which cost around 8-10 euros each way.

All and all, I highly recommend Hotel Primero Primera, for the restful, safe location, beautiful facility, amenities, and fantastic service. Well done.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFitz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I along with some friends, stayed here for a weekend break to the city. We found the staff very friendly and the hotel was excellent with clean modern rooms and public areas, in a nice quiet neighbourhood, not far from the city centre.

When we arrived, the receptionist upgraded our room and gave us a tour of the public areas of the hotel, and took us up to our room. The room was large bright, airy and modern with good facilities. The room also had a mini bar with free soft drinks which was most welcome.

The hotel itself has been recently modernised and the public areas were quiet and extremely comfortable. The honesty bar with free soft drinks again was great and the breakfast was superb, continental and fresh.

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, however there are some excellent restaurants close by (Dos Torres and Contraluz were favourites) which serve excellent meditteranean food in a friendly atmosphere.


The Mtero station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and only 10 minutes to the centre of Barcelona and the attractions. It was clean and frequent which is all you can ask.

I Can honestly say we were very pleased with our stay here and would not hesitate to return to the Primero primera the next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardross25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Primero Primera with my parents (as an adult myself) and while the staff and hotel decor was lovely there were a couple of really strange quirks. Our room - presumably the room a family would book as they had said it would suit for three travellers and they set up a very comfortable extra bed in the common area - had to large windows... Into the bathroom! One over the bathtub and one into the shower. This made shower arrangements awkward as people had to shuffle into far corners of the room to not see each other washing. Our situation aside, it's hard to see how this could be construed as a romantic feature as it also meant that when someone took a shower late or in the morning, the light turned on in the bathroom came into the rest of the room and woke everyone else up.

The other issue, as other travellers have mentioned, was the distance from the city centre. We felt this issue especially during the Spanish 'siesta' time between 2 and 4pm when many places were closed but, being up to an hour away from the hotel it didn't make sense to go back and rest.

It was unfortunate that these two issues coloured our stay as I can see why people love this hotel- it's go beautiful decor, and the most lovely staff but I don't know if I would ever stay again if I returned to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meaghannf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Director General at Hotel Primero Primera, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your opinion of your stay at Hotel Primero Primera. We have now solved the problem with the windows facing the bathroom putting some blinds to keep clients privacy. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,115 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,825 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,974 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
265 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $172 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing