We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term break”
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
el Jardi
Ranked #218 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in hotel jardi in barcelona for 6 nights. Great value for money, very central,rooms are very clean and hotel saff very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel. Rooms are very quiet, not much noise.

Room Tip: We were in room 45, very spacious and nice view over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grooviechique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 791 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at El Jardi for two nights in November. I had a standard exterior room that overlooked one of the plazas -- I say "one of" because there are two adjoining plazas upon which the hostal sits. The room was basic and small with two twin beds, a desk with tv stand and armoire -- not much more room to move. The bathroom was basic with a small shower stall. Keep in mind the walls were thin as I heard most of the noise from the adjoining room as well as when the window is open, the plaza can be noisy. (I also always bring ear plugs so that is rarely a hugely upsetting issue for me. I merely point it out to encourage others to do the same.) Also, the wifi only seemed to work in the lobby area. That being said, the location was fantastic -- surrounded by such lovely plazas in Barri Gothic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The price was on par for what I would expect. Overall, good experience. If I were to take a short trip to Barcelona again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolutely fantastic time. The location was perfect for us as it is situated in a picturesque square that is bustling with activity and yet remains both charming and practical for eating, drinking and shopping.

The staff were extremely friendly and courteous with both our check in and departure being smooth and efficient.

Yes the room and bathroom is small, but, that in no way detracted from what we thought about the hotel. The room was very clean and when we returned each evening it had been cleaned to a very high standard.

All in all this is a gem of a hotel and we would most definitely stay here again when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAE467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Last Summer we stayed at this Hotel for 5 days. It was our third stay at El Jardi and it won't be our last. The rooms are on the small side and it's strictly "no frills" but it's very clean and its location, in the heart of the Barri Gòtic, the old part of Barcelona, can't be beat. We had a room that looked out on to a smallish square such that we could see the moonlit tower of a neighbouring church. Many restaurants are nearly and the street animation kept us entertained the whole evening. A few minutes' walk brought us to La Rambla.

We found the room to be quite quiet in spite of the balcony opening out on to the square. All the plumbing was up to date, the bed was comfortable, the WiFi worked, and the optional breakfast at 6 Euros served good coffee. The reception was efficient, pleasant to work with and very knowledgeable about the city.

The only downside was the stairs leading from the front door to the reception which can be a challenge when you're lugging two 20 kg suitcases with you.

We'll be back at El Jardi when we return to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesoupier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't be put off by the word hostel- this is anything but. A fantastic hotel in a brilliant location just off the Ramblas. Set in a delightful square with many bars and restaurants within walking distance. The staff are excellent and the room we had on the eight floor was superb with its own private terrace with great views over the square and rooftops of the city. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 84- great views over to cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millsg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The title says it all, this is a clean, no frills place but in a great setting between 2 squares with lots of rooms with views and tiny balconies. This was my second visit this year and other than problems with the safe key I was very happy. I think it is time to invest in digital safes.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking either square and earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottie8scotlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel El Jardi is excellent value for money and wonderfully positioned right in the centre of the old part of Barcelona. It is spotlessly clean and the room we had had am delightful roof terrace with table and chairs. There was a well equipped shower room, a small dressing table/storage shelves, a large wardrobe and a TV. The room was well lit and were was an excellent air conditioning/heating unit .All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially those on the reception desk who were very knowledgeable about the sites of Barcelona.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor (numbers 82-85) all have a lovely roof terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James Bischoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#202 of 517 in Barcelona
896 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#257 of 517 in Barcelona
668 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#64 of 517 in Barcelona
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#335 of 517 in Barcelona
554 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#128 of 517 in Barcelona
1,184 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#209 of 517 in Barcelona
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $56 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — el Jardi 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing