We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Euopean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Ranked #177 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2010

This hotel is funky and fun. Excellent location in walking distance of many restaurants and shopes. Having the 24 hour snack bar was great for a late night glass of wine of a coffee. We had a room with a balconey on the street and were not bothered by noise. If street noise is a problem. ask for a room off the street. Internet in t he lobby. Staff was always available and very helpful with all requests. Great location and value. If you are looking for a unique hotel with European flavor, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, go to the Ritz Carlton. I have recommended this to two friends.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Continental Barcelona in June 09 for our honeymoon. We were doing a cruise that started in Barcelona so we got to the city a day early to check it out. We had a fantastic time and I would highly recommend traveling to Barcelona. This hotel was perfect for us. Location and price were our two main criteria with a big emphasis on location. The hotel is located right at the top of Las Ramblas, which is the main pedestrian street with all the action. Pay up the extra $10-$20 for a room with a view of Las Ramblas, it's well worth it as long as you don't mind the noise from the hustle and bustle. I read a few other reviews that said the noise was a problem, but it didn't bother us and we're pretty light sleepers. The hotel is located right by a metro stop making it extremely convienent when traveling from the airport. We never took a taxi and used the very modern metro system the whole time. The top of Las Ramblas where the hotel is located as opposed to the other end by the sea is also a lot safer a night.

The rooms themselves were not anything special. Do not stay here if you are looking for a 5 star hotel with a spa. The mattresses were firm, but more comfortable than the hotel we stayed at in Paris. The bathroom was actually pretty spacious compared to other hotel bathrooms in Europe. You will get a kick out of the light switches (by the way, you have to put your key into a place with the light switches in order for the electricity to work, also you have to have the balcony window closed if you want the A/C to work, very much about energy conservation). This is definitely a small traditional hotel you would expect to find in Europe, however it had the feel of a B&B with the friendly staff and the 24 hour food and drink buffet. The wine was just a house wine but the beer was pretty good. The hotel has free internet access which is a rarity in Europe. The manager at the front desk was British so it helped we could speak to him in English. We also had a situation where we had to check out in the morning but our cruise didn't leave until that evening. We were able to store our luggage in a storage room at the hotel so that we could explore the city a little more. As long as you're not looking for luxuory, I highly recommend this hotel. It served as a perfect homebase to see Barcelona.

A couple tips about the city: If you like trying new foods, you should fnd a restaurant/bar that serves pinxtos. They usually consist of a small piece of bread with some sort of meat or fish on top of it along with a cheese, sauce, or something else with a toothpick holding them together. The fun part is that there are plates filled with different types of pinxtos all along the bar and you just grab a plate and help yourself. You pay based on how many toothpicks you have left over. They were relativily cheap at a euro and change so we were able to try a lot of different foods at one time without breaking the pocket book. I would say rioja is the wine of choice there, and the glasse I had were very good and affordable (2-3 euros for a glass).

Lastly, in case you are heading on a cruise: A taxi can take you right to your cruise ship, however taxi's are definitely your most expensive option. You can take the metro from the hotel down to the mouth of the port at the bottom of Las Ramblas (or you could walk it, probably 3/4 of a mile), and then take the "blue" bus to the actual cruise ships. There is no sign for the blue bus or labeling of the bus itself, but it is the color blue so that's how you know which one you want. There will also be a relatively long line of people with luggage waiting for it. The bustop is just NE of the big Columbus statue.

Have a great time on your trip, enjoy the city, there's plenty to see in way of art, cathedrals, and culture. The food was very good there, however there's probably less English spoken in Barcelona than other European cities. Brush up on your Spanish, but be aware that they actually speak Catalunyan there (I would say it's a Spanish-French hybrid).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank desmetlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Reasonably priced. Interesting decor. Desk clerks speak English. 24 hr snack buffet and breakfast buffet. Convenient location at the top of Las Ramblas very near trains and buses. Short walk to the sea.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank starcitydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I like this hotel. I stayed here two nights after a cruise. The location is perfect - right on the Ramblas and an easy walk from where the airport bus drops you off in the Plaza. The free beer/wine/coffee machine and food is a great bonus especially when you arrive after a long journey. There are two free internet computers (one by reception and the other on the second floor).
Peter, the receptionist is fantastic.
This hotel is owned by the same people as the Continental Palacete and there are a lot of similarities between these hotels. Of the two, I actually prefer this one. It is a bit cheaper, is right on the Ramblas, has draft beer (rather than cans) and has an ice cream machine! The hotel shares an entrance with two other hotels and there is a common elevator that often seems to break down. There are 57 steps to climb if it does -and it did!
For E77 per night, it is excellent value and of the the 5 different hotels I have stayed at in Barcelona, this is the one that I will certainly try to come to next time. My room was at the back of the hotel where it was very quiet. You can pay extra to get a room overlooking the Ramblas and that would be fun but could be a bit noisier.
andrew

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tocanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Great location- funky hotel, but met many people in the lounging area-- the free wine helped!. Computer available in lobby for all guests.
Did not use as our "main restaurant" but breakfast was more than adequate and does save on the money.. Get a balcony room, overlooking Las Ramblas. We would certainly stay there again. Note: if you are looking for amenities, such as pool- spa-- etc... this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classof66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

A pleasant hotel, well located in one of the most important Barcelona "Rambla's", and near Plaza Cataluña.

Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CarlosMSequeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I was in this hotel in mid October, the hotel room seemed clean but first morning got out of bed an saw several blood streaks across sheets. Thought maybe I had a scratch that bled and went out for the day. That night looked at the sheets and they had been changed looked them over carefully and no blood. Next morning woke up with a couple of bites on my arm and streaks of blood in about 6-8 places on the sheets, a couple of little black bugs on the sheets . It was very crowded in the lobby area so we felt funny saying anything and left.

We got on our cruise and I was sceeved out so we had all the clothes that were out in the hotel room washed on the ship (73$). We thought that was the end...boy were we wrong

A couple of mornings later woke up at 3am itching like crazy, the two bites were now bumps all up and down my arms and VERY itchy. In the morning there were more. It looked like I had chicken pox (had them as a child). We were in Venice and went and got creams and Benadryl but didn't help much, it was spreading rapidly . Bought different antihistamine creams and cortisone cream in Dubrovnik, now spent about $50 on meds. We saw no evidence of any bugs or blood on the cruise ship and hubby was't effected. Well the last 6 days of my cruise were not fun with the itching and rash but pills and liberal application of the cortisone gave me bits of relief

When I returned home I went to the doctor who said yes, it was a bed bug bite and the subsequent rash was from it. UGH!! Seems the saliva of the bed bug causes an allergic reaction and causes the rash which spreads from scratching. I emailed the hotel and they were rude and dismissive, I am a travel agent and will never put anyone in here again (used them quite frequently before this), not because of the bugs, (5 stars have had them) but because of their nasty attitude when I notified them. My biggest regret is I didn't take pictures of the bugs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sclmkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PILI, Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Concerning this review, we would like to point out the following: The Lady who wrote this review stayed with us on October 11th for 3 nights. During her stay she did not mention a single word about this matter. Almost 4 weeks latter, we recived a mail from her, complaining about this and claiming for a full refund of the stay, laundry and medication costs. Inmediatelly after we received her mail, we went straight to the room where they had stayed the previous month, and although the room was occupied every day - because the hotel was fully booked daily - when we checked the room we did not find evidence of insects and the room was absolutelly in duly order. If during her stay, the room was affected by any kind of plague, when it was checked one month later, we should have found something, but that was not the case. Consecuently, we did not find any reason why we should refund any amount to our guest. We are so sorry for all the trouble she may have had, but we don't feel responsible at all.

We have 112 years in the hotel industry, and when we fail in something, we do not hesitate to compensate our guests. Readers can verify on this site, tripadvisor.com

Finally, we would like to add that the hotel is disinssected, disinffected and controlled periodically, in order to avoid all this kind of problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#211 of 513 in Barcelona
1,034 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#89 of 513 in Barcelona
646 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#176 of 513 in Barcelona
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#142 of 513 in Barcelona
1,079 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#331 of 513 in Barcelona
466 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 513 in Barcelona
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Address: Rambla de Canaletets 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $125 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing