We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Ranked #171 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Barcelona isn't cheap. In saying that, this hotel is good value given it's amazing location. However, I really wasn't prepared for the decor - the hallways are floor to ceiling floral wallpaper, and the room was floor to ceiling pink. By floor to ceiling I literally mean the floor and the ceiling as well - so we had a bit of culture shock here. Bathroom was a little on the dodgy side but functional enough - and at least not pink.


Having a 24hr buffet is convenient, but the range is fairly basic.

Staff are definitely friendly.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JadeandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest;

Warm smiles and friendly service is our policy everyday for every guest.
Our staff truly cares about all your travel needs making your visit comfortable and memorable.
Regarding our pink decoration and our buffet 24 hours free snacking buffet, they are our greatest signal of identity. These two things make us unique among all the hotels around the world. This had been confirmed by thousands of travelers we already had the pleasure to welcome among us.

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in our great Barcelona and wish to be your "home away from home" any time you come back here in our friendly city.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Absolutely perfect hotel for our needs. Located just off Las Ramblas, this hotel offered a suite with a balcony that was just off of the huge foyer. The staff was exceedingly pleasant and helpful, the room was spacious with a nice ensuite bath, and there was food and drink available all day long every day. The location and charm of this hotel will suit your needs,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Our staff was happy to make your stay unforgettable and reading that you enjoyed your stay is our best award.
Feel free to contact us when coming back in Barcelona in the future.
Please note that we will always try our very best to meet any of your special requests.
Always at your service

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed atbthe hotel for 2 nights. Its location is amazing- la rambla blv., passage de garcie, few metro stops. The room was clean & comfterble, the staff were helpul--- BUT:
1. The room is all pink and flowery. It's a bit too much...
2. Ther is a 24h bouffe, but the veriaty isn't satisfing and some of the fruit seemed "tired". Wewere wondering how often they refresh it.
3. Our room overlooked the Rambla. The view was great, but of you have a light sleep, you might here all the noise....
4. The breakfast was (for non europen guest who don't eat meet for breakfast) poor.

When we go back to Barcelona, we will probably not come back to this hotel.

2  Thank Nilli G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our Hotel. We are sorry to hear that our 24 hours free snacking buffet nor our breakfast did not meet your expectation.
Our Hotel is built on a reputation gained from the year 1898 amount the travellers.
Therefore we understand how difficult it could be to be far away from home, therefore we have the courtesy to offer a unique 24 hours free snacking buffet with fresh fruits, food, drinks(from coffee, tea, soft drinks, beer, white wine), snacks… to make our guest´s stay very comfortable.
It could seem that nothing is refreshed just because of the fact that everything is immediately replaced when omitted. Because we understand it is a 24 hours running on free snacking buffet.

Regarding our breakfast we always strive to provide the best quality of products, but for some reasons, this service did not meet your expectation, and we apologize for that.

We hope you can give us a second chance, next time you visit Barcelona.
Please inform us in advance about your requests.
Looking forward to hopefully welcome you again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room is a little worn and old fashioned
But this was a fantastic place to stay
The location is just superb
Wonderful staff.
A balcony room on Las Ramblas provides a never ending joy street show.
Room was spotless.
There is no restaurant, but they offer a 24/7 complimentary snack bar that easily bests other hotels' pricey breakfasts.
Water and beer free, was a great bonus.
In all, a great, if a little quirky, place to stay.
Would I go back, oh yes.

Room Tip: If you want to watch the world go by, book a balcony room on Las Ramblas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petermac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

Just a great thanks for your kind words and for your choice.
You made us feel very glad with so much generosity toward our service and offers!

We will be working much more to reach the same standard during your next visit in Barcelona.

Thank you for your attention.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and the Whole Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a lovely time in Barcelona, and Hotel Continental was the perfect choice. The location is fantastic- at the top of La Rambla near Placa Catalunya.
Note that there are 3 hotels sharing the building. If you arrive in the evening, the right bell to buzz for entry is on the right side.
Once in the elevator, look for the button for Hotel Continental. It's labeled,but sometimes glare makes it hard to read.
Our room was perfectly fine- although the mattress was a little to firm for our liking.
Bathroom was fantastic- everything was clean and worked great.
24 food and beverage bar was very convenient. I'm not sure what other reviewers were expecting, it is basic, but so what?? It's free, and worked fine for us.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ramblas view rooms with balcony are great for people-watching, but can get loud at certain times of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andispiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest;

We thank you for you choice.
Thank also for taking part of your value time to review our hotel Continental Bracelona after your stay.
Your opinion is very appreciated as it helps us improve every day.
We are very pleased to read you loved our location, cleanness and also your good evaluation regarding our 24 hours free snacking buffet.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing back in the future.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The room is a little worn. That said, this was a fantastic place. The location can't get any better. The staff was wonderful. The balcony on Las Ramblas provided a never ending joy in watching the street show. Our room was immaculate. On check in the hotel staff apologized for having neither a breakfast or restauraunt. Yet they offer a 24/7 complimentary snack bar that easily bests other hotels' 10 Euro breakfasts. The morning wake up call, if requested, is a staff member who knocks on your door ensuring you are in fact up. This was one of the best hotel experiences we have had in traveling in over 30 nations.

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the Las Ramblas. The street noise did not bother us at night. Sitting on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank running-with-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review about your stay at The Continental Barcelona Hotel. We are very pleased to know your overall experience with us was memorable and more than expected"

We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Barcelona again in the future.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here over the new year and the price was great for that time of year and the location on la ramblas, hotel is easy to find just off the placa catalunya.. Room was small but clean as was the bathroom, balcony overlooking la ramblas is a nice touch.. Staff were friendly and helpful, only bad things were the outside noise and noise from other rooms and the 24 hour buffet was terrible.. All in all not bad for the price and location as we didn't spend much time in the hotel anyway

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RaseKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel Continental Barcelona and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment. We are glad your stay with us was comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our location. Thank you also for your mention about the staff. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort due the street noises.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
We hope there'll be another chance to host you, in the meantime please accept our Warmest regards.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#215 of 515 in Barcelona
1,068 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#307 of 515 in Barcelona
483 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#264 of 515 in Barcelona
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#69 of 515 in Barcelona
594 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#139 of 515 in Barcelona
1,122 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#182 of 515 in Barcelona
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Address: La Rambla, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $103 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Barcelona is an all inclusive hotel located on the top of Las Ramblas, right next to Plaza Cataluña. We boast a unique Snack and Drinks Buffet, available 24/7 for all our guests as a courtesy of the house. We have the best location in town. From both façades, you can either enjoy the hustle and bustle from the balconies facing Las Ramblas or just relax in our recently renovated patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing