We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Ranked #198 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We highly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The room is a little worn. That said, this was a fantastic place. The location can't get any better. The staff was wonderful. The balcony on Las Ramblas provided a never ending joy in watching the street show. Our room was immaculate. On check in the hotel staff apologized for having neither a breakfast or restauraunt. Yet they offer a 24/7 complimentary snack bar that easily bests other hotels' 10 Euro breakfasts. The morning wake up call, if requested, is a staff member who knocks on your door ensuring you are in fact up. This was one of the best hotel experiences we have had in traveling in over 30 nations.

Room Tip: We had a balcony on the Las Ramblas. The street noise did not bother us at night. Sitting on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank running-with-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review about your stay at The Continental Barcelona Hotel. We are very pleased to know your overall experience with us was memorable and more than expected"

We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Barcelona again in the future.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    402
    153
    64
    42
See reviews for
210
460
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the new year and the price was great for that time of year and the location on la ramblas, hotel is easy to find just off the placa catalunya.. Room was small but clean as was the bathroom, balcony overlooking la ramblas is a nice touch.. Staff were friendly and helpful, only bad things were the outside noise and noise from other rooms and the 24 hour buffet was terrible.. All in all not bad for the price and location as we didn't spend much time in the hotel anyway

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RaseKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel Continental Barcelona and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment. We are glad your stay with us was comfortable and that you have been satisfied about our location. Thank you also for your mention about the staff. Your feedback is a vital part of our business and it is through your constructive comments that we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort due the street noises.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
We hope there'll be another chance to host you, in the meantime please accept our Warmest regards.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

As I did it with a comment some days ago about Paris I can´t stop to give my opinion of Continental hotel. Checking others opinions I look the service amenities and quality is the same. I visited Barcelona five years ago and I still have a beautiful memories from La Rambla and specially from the Balcony views one afternoon.
The hotel looks old but it has a estrange feeling like go back to the past the building the room the saloons give that feeling. the location is great.
I recommend you to buy good bottle of wine some cheese or Serrano jam and sit in the balcony and enjoy the view it will be a unforgettable and nice memory from Barcelona or choose any bar or café in the Rambla and order Sangria is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony to the Rambla avenue. it has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greivin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Continental. We are very glad to hear such a nice words regarding our property, as well as the hotel location. It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharjah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Located at one end of Las Ramblas you are right in the middle of the most happening place in Barcelona .The Catalunya metro station and the aerobus ( bus to the airport) stop right next door .The rooms facing Las Ramblas have an excellent Balcony which overlook the street below .The place has an old world charm ,it is almost as if you are visiting relatives abroad and sharing their appartment .The room was clean but smallish ,especially with the 2 child beds squeezed in we were at a loss for space ,The bathrooms are also small but maintained well .Getting around the hotel involves waiting for an elevator which is rather slow in coming .Once you exit the elevator there is a door .The rooms open to a corridor behind this door .You have to dial a number on an intercom and the door opens .I suppose there is somebody watching .They also have a 24 hour snack bar where you can find something to eat any time of the day or night .It wasnt substantial but adequate .I was there in the winter and enjoyed the hot soup after a walk in the cold.The location of the place is excellent and you can find lot of things to do and eat in a walkable distance .Getting to anywhere in Barcelona is quite easy with the metro and bus stand nearby .There is also a taxi stand right in front of the hotel .A different albeit a pleasant experience , if you are not too finicky about the size of the room .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kengatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Hotel Continental Barcelona. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay, especially the very central location – only a few steps from the Cathedral of Barcelona and the Gothic quarter and Barcelona’s main shopping mile.
Looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape cod
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great location. 24 hr food and drinks. Somewhat confusing getting to room and checkin. Staff very helpful. Right on La Ramblas near top.small and slow elevator. Market and restaurants very close. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thcapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are glad you had a good stay at the Hotel Continental and locations.
We wish to receive you again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
1,123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at the Continental after arriving in Barcelona from our Mediterranean cruise. We took a taxi from the cruise terminal & were at the hotel in under 10 minutes. Great location at a very affordable price!
We booked 2 rooms with balconies that overlooked Las Ramblas. Plaza de Catalunya (from where you can catch the metro or Hop on bus) is about 3 minutes directly up the street from the hotel.
The funky décor (pink) was interesting and the hotel staff was very helpful. Our rooms were large and clean. The hotel features a 24 hour free buffet (breakfast foods, snacks, coffee, espresso, soda, beer, wine). Free wifi. We would definitely stay here again. Recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.
If your plans are leading you back to Barcelona, we hope to welcome you again and wish you all the best.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great stay in August of 2013 at Hotel Continental Barcelona. We had a balcony that looked out on La Rambla...simply amazing view. The room was bright and clean. Above expectations for a European hotel for sure. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more and get the balcony on La Rambla
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Continental Barcelona.
It was a pleasure for us to welcome you as our guest and we really appreciate your kind feedback which we already forwarded to the all the staff.
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in near future.

Always at your service,
Viviane Komze and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#234 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#251 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#339 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Property: Hotel Continental Barcelona
Address: Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, ACCOR, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing