We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice esp. for 3 persons in a room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Ranked #199 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good choice esp. for 3 persons in a room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Let's start by the location- excellent. just between the Gotic and the Born (note to self- next time explore the Born, only had an hour there but beautiful and tres chic). it's on the main street and every night we would go explore the Gotic streets. It's located just behind the main post office- there were always policemen around. very safe.

Big plus-As you can deduce from the title- we were 3 persons in a room, and unlike other hotels that put an extra lousy bad with a thin mattress, there's a sofa with an actual thick and good mattress in the room. I'm 5'9 (1.75m) with some back problems, and had no problems at all. The room itself is indeed very dark but if you're a couple, there are better lit rooms. Anyway- no biggi. Also you can sometimes feel the metro passing underneath the hotel, but really not a problem.
The staff- some are very nice and helpful, some less so.

The bathroom is very nice but the shampoo and stuff are of a very low quality- for women (or men) with long hair- better bring your own.

The breakfast- very disappointing! I'm not a fussy eater but seriously unless you like all kinds of cold meats or sausages for your breakfast... There were some cereals + yogurt, hard boiled eggs and white bread (also some really not nice-looking muffins), one kind of yellow Swiss cheese, no vegetables at all and the fruits have seen better days. Don't let the lousy breakfast stop you- all around the hotel there are fruit shops, markets etc. we bought some veggies, fruits and nuts and ate like kings!!!

To sum up, it's recommended if you get it for a decent price, but you need to improve the breakfast and pay extra for WiFi +safe.

And if you're in the area pay a visit to the Santa Caterina market (5 min. walk in the Born) and treat yourself for lunch in their restaurant- excellent food, average prices and excellent venue.

Room Tip: if you're a couple ask for the better lit rooms with a view to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest:


We thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona for your recent stay in Barcelona.

Your comments about our 24 hours free buffet were most troubling but we want you to unequivocally thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Our 24 hours free buffet prides itself on providing our guests with highest level of freshness and also quality of its products.

Regarding the breakfast, our hotel provides much more variety of products than other 3 and four stars hotels of the surroundings.

Making our guests´stay between us enjoyable is our highest priority and we feel very sorry to know that we did not meet your expectations.

In hotel’s business, our reputation and success is built on your appreciation and we thank you once again for letting us know about your experience at our property.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    402
    153
    64
    42
See reviews for
210
460
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wildomar, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location is amazing, just a few doors down from Plaza Catalunya. We liked that we could just tell cab drivers to just drop us at Plaza Catalunya. The decor is over the top but we enjoyed it. Definitely not a cookie cutter chain hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, with plastic furniture. We had a balcony room over looking Las Ramblas and would stay in one again. It was great sitting on the balcony with a cappucino [free] watching the world go by. The included buffet was sufficiant for our needs. We really just used it for breakfast and to grab a little something between forays out into the city. We never felt like we had to find something eat. We could just stop somewhere that looked interesting. We figured out that the we drank half our room rate in free cappucinos and espressos. The staff were amazing. Answering all our questions, mailing post cards etc. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Get a balcony room. You can hear some street noise but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona for your recent stay in Barcelona.

Your positive feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience between us.
It really means a lot to everyone on our staff.

We hope to serving you again in the future.

Always at your disposition,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were 6 men ,who runs a bar in Norway, on a business and "visiting bars in Barcelona" tour. The hotelromm was large and pink but very charming. The madrasses are a little to hard as many spanish hotels. I dont understand why they just travel to IKEA and buy some better madrasses. It is free food and drinks in the reception area. The wine and beer is ok but we decided after the first breakfast to eat other places.
As we were 6 guys, drinking a lot during the Barcelona night, I have to say thank you to the personal working at the hotel for their patience and nice service :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony , it is worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasOslo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona for your recent stay in Barcelona and also for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel.

Regarding our mattresses, these have been conceived to ensure you have a nice sleep during your stay at the hotel and we feel very sorry to hear that our goal did not meet our expectation.

We thank you for your kind words about our staff.

We know that you have many hotel choices and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed her for one night after getting off a cruise ship. The location is excellent to see the main area of Barcelona. We took a cab from the cruise ship (approx 17 euros) and the following morning we walked to the Placa Catalunya to catch the Aero Bus (5.5 euros each). The hotel is quirky and very pink, but clean. We had a Ramblas view room on the 3rd floor. The room was fine and big enough for us with all of our luggage. Since we left for the airport at 7am, we did not eat breakfast at the hotel but looking at the buffet, there was plenty of food to pick from. We left the hotel and spent the day in the Gothic Quarter. We also toured Gaudi's Palau Guell which is a few blocks down Las Ramblas. I would stay there again if in Barcelona as it is very convenient. We did hear noise during the night from people leaving bars/restaurants. Since it was Saturday night, that didn't surprise me. If you are a light sleeper, a Ramblas view room may not be for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona after your cruise.

We also would like to thank you for leaving such lovely comments about our property.

We're glad that you enjoyed your short stay and will look forward to receiving you again.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed 1 night post cruise. The hotel is in a great location on Las Rambla. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the 24 hour buffet was an added bonus, and was worth it for the drinks alone ! We had a balcony room that overlooked Las Rambla, and as we arrived the day of the strike and protest march there was a lot to watch from the balcony ! The room was good, and very pink.......as we expected. I would definatley return. Taxi to the port only cost 14 euros.

Room Tip: choose las rambla balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for spending your time to inform us that our service did meet your expectations.

We thank you so much for your feedback because satisfied customers are our biggest achievement.

Thank you once again for your choice and have a nice day.

Sincerely,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here five nights before cruising from the Port of Barcelona. The location was just perfect for transportation by aerobus from the airport. We had no trouble walking from the bus stop in Placa Catalunya to the hotel. Also, for getting around the city it is an easy walk to many of the sights and there is a metro stop just across the street to get to almost anywhere. It was so nice to have food and drink available 24 hours, although it gets a little monotonous after five days of the same menu. There is free wifi or if you don't have a device with you there are two computers available free of charge. We met a number of other cruisers there and made friends before we even got to the ship. There is a small lounge, tables in the buffet area, and an outside patio to gather with other guests. We will stay there again if we get back to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Our standard room had no view because the window faced other rooms. The room is small but quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent generous reviews about the hotel Continental Barcelona.

We really appreciate that you took so much time to let us know about your experiences at our hotel.

With the countless hotels in Barcelona, we are so thankful to read that we are still your first choice if you get back here in the future.

Thanks to guests like you, our hotel is working every day to do it better and offer you a better service every day.

Thank you for your confidence.

Always at your disposition.

Sincerely,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#233 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#251 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#36 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#340 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Property: Hotel Continental Barcelona
Address: Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing