We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Staff, Watch out for overcharging in hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #187 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Staff, Watch out for overcharging in hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The receptionist I dealt with was extremely rude and unhelpful. I was also overcharged on my bill.

The room is very basic and didnt look properly clean. The photos on website dont look anything like the actual hotel.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Watch what you are being charged. The hotel continously tryed to add extra charges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sadie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    336
    81
    20
    13
See reviews for
77
297
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are looking for a good budget hotel this is the ONE . Great location, clean comfortable rooms and spotless bathroom. Breakfast varied and plentiful, we had a great time and would highly recommend the hotel. Would love to revisit Barcelona and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor facing a side street and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mairi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hotel before beginning a two week vacation in Spain with friends. The room was moderately sized with a small bathroom, but both were comfortable and nicely furnished. The location was great for wandering around the city with plenty of restaurants and tapas bars nearby.The hotel itself has a lovely restaurant and serves breakfast as well. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the service and friendly staff at the front desk. They were helpful with directions, questions and even let us have an early arrival and late checkout. We recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the front rooms for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi5636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location - Directly opposite the Estacio de Franca train station, a 5 minute stroll to Port Vell, 10 minutes to the beach and 15 minutes to the bottom of the Ramblas. The hotel is perfectly located for the Born district and visits to the Ciutadella Park and zoo. A few neighbouring bars and cafes but no problems with noise.

Check in/out - Very efficient and friendly.

Room - Small rooms, but perfectly formed. My was room 125 and it had a good sized bathroom with a bath and over bath shower. The bed was comfortable and the room had a free safe and a minibar available. Towels and linens were clean and not dogeared! The only issues were a lack of space to store suitcases and the aircon, which wasn't the strongest ever, especially after having a shower and blow drying your hair!!

Bar/restaurant - Breakfast was good, with a decent variety of food from cooked breakfast to continental. We did not use the restaurant for lunch or dinner but the bar had a nice outside area to sit in the evening a people watch.

Overall, I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Park hotel before and after our cruise. The first time we had a room in front of the hotel with a small balcony. Spacious according to European standards. The hotel is across a railway station and therefore easy to reach from the airport. The price for the train is 4 Euro one way per person and that beats the taxi price of 40 Euros. Very nice restaurants in walking distance where you can have tapas and paella. Much cheaper and better quality than at Ramblas, the most popular tourist street in Barcelona. For lunch look for the specials (one tapa, paella, sangria and desert) for 10 - 15 Euros. The best specials are in the restaurants near the old harbor. Ramblas is in walking distance from the Park Hotel. Just look for the Columbus memorial. Please be aware of pick pockets especially when there are lots of people.
On our return from the cruise we stayed again at this hotel but this time we had a room at the back. The halls are a bit dark but the room was very modern. However the aircondition was not working so a very warm night. Some of the staff is very helpfull but not all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with some friends for a hen weekend (not the rowdy type!) and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel and it's location. I caught the train from the airport and the hotel is straight across the road from the train station. The rooms were clean and well decorated and I had a very good nights sleep on both nights. Location wise you are walking distance from a lot of attractions and the sightseeing bus stops very close by. The nearby park is delightful if you get the opportunity to have a walk around it. There are some nice reasonably priced restaurants close by. I think this hotel is a great option for a base from which to see Barcelona.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors at the rear of the hotel seem to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expat_Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good location! Somewhat small rooms but nice and clean. Friendly staff. Perfect for the ones who want to go to the beach, also explore the Born and Gotic districts and close to the stop for the city tour bus. Nice area in general with small shops and lot of small restaurants. Stay away from nr:7 though, seriously overrated..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saunagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#105 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#272 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#128 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#54 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Barceloneta
Santa Marta Hotel
Santa Marta Hotel
#164 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#246 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Barcelona

Property: Park Hotel Barcelona
Address: Av Marques de L'Argentera 11, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#154 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCHITECTURE, DESIGN AND COMFORT IN THE MOST EXCITING HAPPENING AREA OF BARCELONA Park Hotel is a 3-star historic hotel located in one of the most emblematic quarters of Barcelona, el Born. The quarter where the art and the fashion have always been merged to, it is an area full of live, museums and wonderful gastronomy. The Born quarter is the area where the old tow lives with the latest trends. The building was built between 1950 and 1953 by the Architect Antoni de Moragas I Gallissa. It was one of the first buildings of the neoracionalism movement of postwar Europe. The interior design made by Eulalia Calaveras was done to the last detail, to make guests feel at home while in Barcelona. ROOMS The hotel offers 91 welcoming rooms, all of which are exterior. The furniture, combination of wood and textiles and clever lighting all create an atmosphere of warmth and light. Our security system combines the use of magnetic strip key cards and motion detectors to provide greater security and intimacy during your stay. The presence sensors will then switch off the lights as you leave, in keeping with our commitment to sustainability. Guest Room Amenities: Air-conditioning, heating Direct telephone line Safe LCD and LED televisions Satellite channels Digital+ Mini-bar Laundry service Wi-Fi Internet service, free of charge Handicapped rooms RESTAURANT 10's In the heart of the Born district, right where the ABaC Restaurant began its journey over ten years ago (now to be found in Avenida TIbidabo and currently holding 2 Michelin Stars) 10's offers an informal and casual ambience with capacity for 60 guests. It distances itself from the stereotypical Spanish tapas bars with a fresh image Offers tapas and side dishes true to the philosophy of ABaC; tradition and modernity in equal measure. Jordi Cruz defines them as "Uncomplicated creations, packed with flavour and impact. The idea is one of an orchestra where the excellent "patatas bravas" - always in their skins, or "calamares a la andaluza" play permanently and invite an exclusive ABaC guest star to play each week; such as the Cherry Ceviche or the Figs with Foie Gras. Generous portions, quality produce and inspired creativity are all offered on a plate at a good price." To complete the experience there are two terraces and one reserved for 20 guests MEETING ROOMS The hotel offers a meeting rooms, from 2 to 50 people, with day light and views to Avenida Marques de Argentera, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience. OTHER SERVICES: Car park 24-hour reception Bar from 11.00 To midnight Meeting room Room service (16 hours) Breakfast: buffet service Mobile Business center Wi-Fi throughout the building, complimentary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Park Hotel
Park Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing