We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Exe Laietana Palace
Ranked #370 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 6 nights in September 2013, including breakfast. We had a great stay, and would recommend it as a hotel in Barcelona.

Pros:
* Great location right on Jaume I metro station between Barrio Gotico and El-Born which have a lot of great restaurants bars and shops, 7 mins walk from Rambla.
* very good breakfast: egg, cheeses, sausages, great fruits, cereals, juices and pastries
* Room was very spacious and clean, free fast wi-fi in the room, flat screen, mini-bar
* Service was very kind and helpful, daily cleaning service

Cons
* we had 2 connected matresses but I think it could have been solved if we complained
* breakfast was about 100$ extra per person for 6 nights, I'm not sure I would pay that again... eventhough the breakfast is really good, since there are many coffee-shops and bakeries around.

At the bottom line - I think this place has has a great value, and for sure the best value-for-money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 552 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel staff was extremely friendly. Got the place at 90 EUR per night during peak season. Even if you have to pay a bit higher definitely a good hotel as it was save on travelling and moving around becomes extremely convenient. I would recommend this hotel. I stayed there for 3 days.

Though it was a little noisy as close to the via laientana road but can't ask for everything!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rons4174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My mom and I arrived at Laietana Palace Hotel tired and hungry. Anna, working at the front desk, suggested a nearby restaurant for tapas. She later explained various tour options (we did a tour bus that was great!).
A slight mix-up with the online booking service we used (similar to Expedia) meant we were given a room with a double bed the first night. Although we couldn't be moved our first night, the hotel moved us the next morning and was extremely attentive.
Overall, Anna was really the standout feature of our stay. She was gracious, welcoming, happy to have a good conversation, yet also professional. When my mom and I moved to the room with two beds (as we'd originally requested), she called up to our room to make sure all was well. She continued to greet us with friendly chatter for the rest of our stay.
My mom and I agree that a return trip to Barcelona will definitely include the Laietana Palace Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is it's location which is very close to everything in the city centre, the old city and the beach (as well as the world's 2nd best aquarium which I HIGHLY recommend). We got a great deal with this hotel on a last minute holidays website and I was very impressed with many aspects of it including the location, how pleasant the staff were, the lovely view from our window into a little square below and how incredibly clean it was. Unfortunately I feel that it did not quite live up it's high rating; I think it could have done with a bit of a face lift to make it feel a bit more stylish as it look a bit bland and dated. Also there was a dreadful smell in the lift which lingered for the entirety of our weekend.

Thankfully this was a very quiet hotel and our sleep was not disturbed by noisy neighbors or people in the street, the mattress was a bit on the hard side but it did not affect my comfort too much. We did not get to sample the breakfast so I cannot comment on that aspect, we chose to eat at a cafe near by which provided lovely croissants and coffee. Despite my complaints this was a nice place to stay and I would recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty-Louise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had a chance to stay in this hotel twice last year and both times my experience was very good. The location of the hotel is very close to practically everything in the city center since it is located in the Laietana Street. You can reach Plaza Real, Paseo Maritimo, La Rambla, El Barrio Gotico within 10-15 min walk. If you need to take a metro or a bus - they're very close to the hotel, too. Even though the hotel is located right on the busy street of Barcelona, the noise wasn't a problem at all. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Found a great rate on this hotel which is in a fantastic location for walking Barcelona. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms functional and clean, seems to have had a recent facelift and been modernised. Lobby nit up to much but no matter as Barcelona is on your doorstep! Great coffee shop right next door open almost all hours. Parking opposite and easy at 32€ per day. Would use again...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Laietana Palace. We were lucky enough to get the junior suite that had a big sunny terrace. The rooms are a little bit old-fashioned furnished but the quality was great. Housecleaning everyday, excellent location and the staff was very helpful if we needed something. The mattress was a bit uncomfortable and the price was quite high when we stayed here. Probably cheaper outside season. But compared to the quality we gladly paid those extra few euros.
To be located in one of Barcelonas busiest traffic streets the room was surprisingly quiet. Would we choose to stay here again? Definitely!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie_snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
ILUNION Almirante
ILUNION Almirante
#451 of 516 in Barcelona
792 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#312 of 516 in Barcelona
99 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#257 of 516 in Barcelona
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#308 of 516 in Barcelona
642 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#214 of 516 in Barcelona
303 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 516 in Barcelona
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Laietana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Laietana Palace

Address: Via Laietana, 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Eurostars Laietana Palace)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $57 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Laietana Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A completely renovated, neo-classical building in the centre of Barcelona, flanked by three inspiring elements: the Roman Barcino wall, the Gothic quarter and the Born district with all its design An elegant hotel in Barcelona Centre, palatial and distinguished, set in the cultural, tourist hub of Barcelona, in the urban melting pot where the Roman, Mediaeval, Modernist and Contemporary heritages merge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exe Laietana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Laietana Palace Hotel Barcelona
Laietana Palace Barcelona
Laietana Palace Hotel
Exe Laietana Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing