We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Exe Laietana Palace
Ranked #370 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Having just returned from a weekend at this hotel ( 25-28th Jan 2013 ) I have to strongly disagree with some of the reviews here. ( and i'm not the easiest to please where service is concerned - just ask the hubbie!! ) I have stayed in some very expensive hotels and not been as pleased with them as I have with this one.
We were on the 4th floor facing the front of the hotel. Room was spotless, bathroom also spotless, with the best power shower ever which had the massaging jets on it . Room cleaned and bed made everyday. Location is perfect, 5 mins very pleasant walk down a side street to las ramblas. The tour bus can be caught at the bottom of the road and reception sell tickets that give you a discount on your bus ticket and a discount booklet ( which is handy also for food and entrance fees to most tourist sites. The reception staff were very polite, welcoming and extremely helpful, particulary for directions to the football stadium, las ramblas and information on where to eat ( and where not too!)
We didnt eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food or the facilities - but after a long day sightseeing, the receptionist was only too happy to serve us a very welcomed and appreciated pot of tea !) He also apologised for charging us - as previously they gave it free, but as we had paid nearly 6 euros the day before at Starbucks, it was a bargain!
The only thing I didnt like, were the noisey cleaners who tend to forget people are asleep banging doors etc, - but you get these in all hotels, and they do have a job to get on with, which they did do very well. Apart from that I really cannot fault this hotel in any way at all, and I would recommend this to friends and family, and will definately book here again for my next trip to this lovely and interesting city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 552 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is most definitely not a four star hotel:
1. The bed was terribly hard, small and squeaky.
2. The room was tiny, the walls were not soundproof and you could hear everything from the room next door (flushing, etc)
3. The 'view' from the room was a pile of rubbish. The window couldn't even be opened because there was an AC unit blocking it.
4. The furniture was very old and not practical at all.
5. I have had better toiletries at a youth hostel.
6. They were charging some ridiculous tax of 1 euro something per person per day at the end of your stay. Surely it it's a 4 star hotel they could absorb this without looking like they are desperate for a few pennies during checkout.
7. The room was so close to the lifts that it was impossible to sleep.

I would not recommend this hotel not even to an enemy. Location was the only good thing about this house of horrors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wencus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very disappointed with this hotel. Looking at the pictures posted by the previous reviewer, we had the same or similar room. It was incredibly small, wardrobe was antiquated, broken at the bottom and impossible to hang anything longer than a shirt in. The bathroom was tired and chipped, the TV had no English language channels ( not a major problem, except it was advertised being available). There were no tea/coffee making facilities and bizarrely only one electrical socket in the room and one in the bathroom. A bit of a hinderance if you have phones and cameras to recharge!! Also the two bedside lights were on the same switch so you couldn't turn them of separately.The breakfasts were very disappointing, with bacon and scrambled egg kept luke warm.Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel handy for Marina, beach and Las Rambla. Plenty of good restaurants nearby. Just very over rated, definitely not 4*. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubagirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

For both tourists to Barcelona anad business visitors, the Laietana Palace is a well positioned and very pleasant hotel, situated within a few steps of Barcelona's beautiful cathedral and a short walk from either the harbour or the old town's narrow charming streets. It is a stone's throw from a large number of restaurants and tapas bars.
The rooms are large and comfortable although the bed was hard (I see this was mentioned before). I think the 4 star rating is a bit high - it is probably more like a good 3 star.
The staff are tremendously helpful, particularly in planning visits to Barcelona's sights.

Room Tip: Our corner room on the first floor was large and airy -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaWooldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

On Hotwire it said this is supposed to be like a Hilton. That's true if Hilton was a Travelodge. Check in was efficient, the room smells like disinfectants and the bed is lumpy and hard. Seems like we can't win, this is our second hotel in Barcelona and both sucks. Are there no comfortable bed is this city?? The one good thing is the price and location.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cait N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am loathed to give a bad review, but I don't want anyone else to go to this place with the same thoughts of grandeur I did. I booked a weekend for a friend and myself. It was to be a special weekend as we don't see each other very often so I wanted a great hotel. I'll start with the positives though. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Barcelona, you couldn't wish to be closer to the action. Only 5 minutes walk from Barcelona Cathedral! It's also right by a Metro station (Jaume). If I was going on location alone, I'd give this top marks. On a miniscule side note, there is a small supermarket a few doors down that did some very good priced and excellent quality wine.

Anyhow, back to the hotel. It was rather disappointing especially as it's marketed as a 4 star. This is the sell line from the hotels website "The Exe Laietana Palace is set in a totally refurbished, neo-classical style palatial building. A style that is repeated inside and embraces all the ambiances of its different rooms." The pictures on the website make the building and rooms look stunning, in reality though, we were in a small stuffy room with buzzing air conditioning, a television that didn't have properly functioning channels (not that that matters too much), dirty scuff marks and a foot print on the walls, some of the skirting was chipped and broken. The bathroom didn't have an extractor fan so I had to open a window that had a pile of rubble outside of it.

I did give the hotel a chance by approaching the staff at the front desk and saying that I would like a different room as it wasn't really the standard I was hoping for, but I was told that they are pretty much all the same. So either I was being lied to, or the other rooms were actually that quality throughout. I know in this case, the real attraction is the beautiful city of Barcelona, but when you pay for a four star hotel, you expect to get a four star hotel.

Room Tip: I'd ask to see the rooms before you accept one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_ultralash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
ILUNION Almirante
ILUNION Almirante
#451 of 516 in Barcelona
792 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#312 of 516 in Barcelona
99 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#257 of 516 in Barcelona
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#308 of 516 in Barcelona
642 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#214 of 516 in Barcelona
303 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 516 in Barcelona
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Laietana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Laietana Palace

Address: Via Laietana, 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Eurostars Laietana Palace)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $57 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Laietana Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A completely renovated, neo-classical building in the centre of Barcelona, flanked by three inspiring elements: the Roman Barcino wall, the Gothic quarter and the Born district with all its design An elegant hotel in Barcelona Centre, palatial and distinguished, set in the cultural, tourist hub of Barcelona, in the urban melting pot where the Roman, Mediaeval, Modernist and Contemporary heritages merge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exe Laietana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Laietana Palace Hotel Barcelona
Laietana Palace Barcelona
Laietana Palace Hotel
Exe Laietana Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing