We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and scrupulously clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Ranked #375 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location and scrupulously clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

While "Palace" is a misnomer, the hotel has an unbeatable location in the Barri Gotic. Walking distance to almost everything. Our room was basic but quite pleasant and had a large bathroom. The staff were very helpful and everything was spotlessly clean. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeithHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    186
    123
    70
    53
See reviews for
62
248
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

You can walk to most areas from here, lots of great places to eat out, only downside was it was covered in scaffolding which if I had been coming on a special occasion I would have been disappointed by. Rooms functional - we stayed on the 5th floor, no noise. Staff helpful -I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peewee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel is located in the Gothic Quarter, very central and close to the beautiful waterfront. The rooms were not very big, but that is to be expected in Europe. The hotel was clean, but looking quite tired. No elevator when we stayed there, which wasn't too much of a problem. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Overall, a good stay, but if your looking for modern and luxurious rooms, go somewhere else. The main attraction is the perfect location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel is located in the Barri Gothi, a block from the Cathedral and the Picasso museum, and a five minute walk from the Ramblas. It is also right across the street from a metro stop and about two blocks from the harbor. This makes it convenient to almost all the attractions in Barcelona.
The hotel itself is clean and the staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. The rooms are small but contain a minibar and a safe. My window looked out over the old roman wall. My friend's room even had a computer for her use in the room.
The hotel serves breakfast (at thirteen euros, kind of pricy) but other than that, does not have a restaurant. This is not a problem in Barcelona, where you can get great food everywhere. There is a bar if you want a quick cup of coffee or a nightcap. The front desk person also serves as the bartender. There is an Irish pub next door if you want to watch sports in a crowd or get tired of tapas and paella.
The only drawback to our stay there was that they are working on the outside of the building and I was awakened by the work noise one morning. This is obviously only temporary and they did not start working until eight o'clock.
I have stayed in other fancier hotels in Barcelona and this one was by far the most convenient and friendliest, not to mention easier on the pocketbook.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank La-arana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

arrived in lobby to find fellow guest had been robbed in the lobby.
first night slept in very small odd shaped double room - requested move on sight but no options available - view from window was scaffolding. Double bed was terrible - would expect to find it only in the cheapest of hotels - no weight, worn out mattress and totally uncomfortable.
woken up by scaffolders.
moved to alternative double room - bigger and better shape, but did not lose the scaffolding or alarm call from scaffolders. After 2 more nights could not wait to move elsewhere.
And all of this cost around £130 per night. Definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The location is great for people like us that want to walk arounf in the center of the city. It is true that the building has scaffolding at the back and that was a bit frustrating. It is also true that my romm (#508) was very small, but honestly I don't mind.... It;s central location is the major criterion for me. We didn't choose to have breakfast there, lots of places are available nearby to have a good coffee and eat something. The hotel staff have been very helpful (searching for info about train and buses in spanish only sites !). Definitely not a 4 star hotel...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel is a construction site, with scaffolding around most sides. Rooms facing the main road are extremely noisy, when I requested a change of rooms the staff claimed the hotel is fully booked and there is nothing they could do.

It's probably officially a 4 star hotel, but I have stayed at plenty 2 or 3 star hotels that are way better value for money, just avoid this one. I booked very late and this was one of the few hotels with rooms left, so I didn't have much of a choice.

Security also seems poor as the reception staff usually hides in a room behind the reception rather than stay at the reception. A few times we walked in without anyone noticing that we have entered the hotel.

The rooms are tiny, the bed takes up most of the room and the wardrobe is unpractical.

Location is great though, right near the old town, that's the only good thing about the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms facing the front, extremely noisy. But at the back you're stuck with look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkgl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#265 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#455 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#453 of 521 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#302 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#256 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#317 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Exe Laietana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Exe Laietana Palace

Property: Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Address: VIA LAIETANA, 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Eurostars Laietana Palace)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Exe Laietana Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A completely renovated, neo-classical building in the centre of Barcelona, flanked by three inspiring elements: the Roman Barcino wall, the Gothic quarter and the Born district with all its design An elegant hotel in Barcelona Centre, palatial and distinguished, set in the cultural, tourist hub of Barcelona, in the urban melting pot where the Roman, Mediaeval, Modernist and Contemporary heritages merge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Exe Laietana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Laietana Palace Hotel Barcelona
Laietana Palace Barcelona
Laietana Palace Hotel
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing