We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“functional”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sant Agusti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sant Agusti
Ranked #291 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
shropshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“functional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed at hotel whilst needing an overnight stop in Barcelona.
I have found quite a lot that in Spain and particularly Italy that hotels might have say a 3 star rating because of facilities, restaurant, bar etc but then restaurant only used for breakfast?.
Great location and fair price. Thin walls, conversations and televisions could be heard but to be fair very quiet through the night.
Breakfast ok, would use again in same circumstance, but if travelling for leisure would want better.
Found staff to be a little surly but not unhelpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miketheshrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    442
    195
    81
    22
See reviews for
191
394
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel is located 100 m away from the famous La Ramblas in a quiet Sant Agusti Sq; this is about half the way between the Port Vell and Placa Catalunya. The Liceu metro station is 100 m from the hotel; perfect location
However, average 3 stars hotel. Breakfast is below average, few choices repeated each day. Rooms are small, although clean and quiet. The pillows and the mattress are not the most comfortable, few TV choices and the water in the bathroom is too soft (low hardness), therefore you don't really know when the soap goes away.
All in all, if you exclude breakfast and book in advance you can get a 100 eur/ double room/ night which for the location and the 3- stars could be a deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Sant Agusti Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MD_33_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

First impression was how clean everything was. Our room was bright and airy, twin beds as requested and the other two of our party were in the room next door. Walls very thin, could almost hear full conversations through the wall. but no noisy revellers at night. Would have liked to have tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Beware of the black marble stiarcases. They can be very dangerous in the dim lights three of the four of us tripped or slipped several times. Location was ideal just off La Rambla within easy walking distance of buses, metro and flamenco dancers, Night staff not too helpful - the answer was always ask tomorrow morning. Just small niggles that did not spoil our stay, Would go again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Sant Agusti with our 9 year old son. There was no pleasant greeting upon check in, no offer to help carry bags, the only information given was what time breakfast is served - we were then left to find our room without directions or advice! We had requested a double bed (booked this in August), no double bed and when I complained it was a curt 'not possible and we have no information on this' even though it was clearly written on our booking form. The room couldn't have been more basic - no drawers, no door hook, no kettle, thin old and worn bed covers and towels the same. Hairdryer didn't work (this was replaced eventually but the only setting was very hot) and the double balcony doors didn't close properly - so very noisy all through the night with sounds of drunks/homeless around square. Their website proudly talks of bar and dinner being served - JOKE as this was closed and when I asked the front desk I was just told 'it is closed' with no other explanation. Asked to print out boarding cards, yet again 'no not possible', asked them to book an airport transfer for us and again 'no' was the answer. Breakfast appalling - very basic and no fruit or fresh juice - only flavoured water!! One good point only - the location! We called it Fawlty Towers!! This is a 'budget' hotel priced at mid range level....awful!

Room Tip: we requested a double bed at booking which we didn't get - I even emailed them to confirm this p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveofTravel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

East Hampton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Sant Agusti in Barcelona for two nights and while the location is convenient and the room was clean, we found the service below average. The front desk staff and service was perfunctory at best. There is no parking at the hotel but there are garages within a block or two though the hotel does not help with where to park in any way. They have a bank of three computers connected to the internet for the guests but no printer. When we asked about printing a boarding pass we were directed to a creepy internet cafe and paid 5 euro for 30 minutes and printing cost. I would not choose to stay at Hotel Sant Agusti again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Could not have asked more of the hotel or staff. We arrived just after 11 and although we couldn't check in before 2, reception were quite happy for us to leave our luggage (yes, I know that's what left luggage is for (!) but it helps when staff are happy to offer a service with a smile, rather than make you feel like you're imposing). Double room perfectly ok - clean, comfortable and quiet (even those the hotel was full there was no noise). Breakfast was nothing exciting - rolls (sweet and savoury), meat, cheese, yogurts etc. but the quality and quantity could not be faulted. Very close to La Rambla (Liceu metro stop 5 mins stroll) as others have noted, but again as has been said elsewhere, very quiet area at night. A brilliant stay overall - and if you're wondering why the tables outside next door (Rita Blue) are so full, just try the food (you won't be disappointed!).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Nice hotel with decent bar next store. Close to Las Ramblas, Metro stops and other fun plazas. Top floor rooms are the best and have great views of the city. Staff could have been more friendly and baggage check room is on the honor system so lock your bags. Would definitely stay there again though.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_whitloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Moderno Hotel Bcn
#327 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#377 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#179 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#73 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#220 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#339 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Agusti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Agusti

Property: Hotel Sant Agusti
Address: Placa Sant Agusti 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Agusti 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Barcelona (1840), completely renovated is located in the historical building of the former Convent of Saint Augustine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sant Agusti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Agusti Hotel
Sant Agusti Barcelona
Sant Augusti
Hotel Sant Agusti Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing