We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel near metro stop”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #54 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel near metro stop”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel felt like a 4 star hotel, sometimes when going over seas you might not get the same star quality as the US. However this hotel felt very modern, clean and well kept. The bed was extremely comfortable and the carpet smelled cleaned. The bathroom had a rain shower head and great preasure, the shampoo and body wash were just average though. The size of the room was nice for 2 people, plenty of walking room, lots of mirrors and a big bathroom (full size blow dryer). The closest Metro stop is Hospital Clinic, which is maybe a 10 minute walk. Near the hotel were a few spots for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we stopped at Dino Pan for breakfast everyday(I think was the name) 2 ham cheese crossaints and 2 sodas or coffee under 5 euro. Felt safe at night as well, since they were a few party spots 2 or 3 blocks away. Hotel is about 1.5 mile away from the Casa Mila and Casa Batllo, so you can walk it or just use the subway. I purchased our room using Hotwire for a 4 star L'Eixample- Passeig de Garcia Boutique Hotel, 95% rating, Ammenities included Free Internet, Business Center, Smoke Free Rooms and Pet Friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    968
    181
    44
    22
See reviews for
457
1,650
130
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

- Service was great; the evening staff in particular were very helpful, they gave excellent restaurant recommendations, particularly La Mary
- Well sized, modern, sleek
- Every amenity you could need
- Great value
- Sleep quality impacted only by squeaky bed
- Spotlessly clean
- Location is out of the main tourist areas, but this works in their favour in terms of being near to fantastic local restaurants
- Only one block to metro station
- Breakfast was good, decent variety, fresh juice and fresh coffee
- Parking available next door at a reduced rate
- Overall, a wonderful place to stay
- Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
914 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the U232 hotel for two nights with a coach tour, and we felt it was a very good deal. The room has a linoleum floor and a tiled bathroom. Unlike many "king sized beds" in Spain, ours was one mattress with the usual two single beds pushed together. With only slightly more than 100 rooms, the hotel had a boutique, well-planned-out look with comfortable public spaces and friendly and helpful staff. It's in a very nice bedroom district that can be very quiet on Sundays.

Plus
• Our room 607 faced the inner courtyard, so no noise, no neighbor noise
• Clean, well-appointed room with desk, chair, open closet, wide screen TV
• Many wall plugs. Good fridge. Seat by window was convenient for suitcases.
• Glass door to the bathtub/shower could be closed completely to protect the floor against splashing
• Free wi-fi worked fine with a good signal
• Buffet breakfast very good with mostly tables for two that can be pushed together.
• Library with a large table and computers/printer for printing boarding passes
• Location is convenient to the L5 Metro line, so you can buy a T10 ticket for Eur 10.30 that is good for 10 trips. So Catalunya station is only 15 minutes and one transfer away.
• Dia supermarket in the same block and a 24 hours supermarket several blocks away
• They froze our ice pack without any problem, and they have dedicated taxis to airport.

Minus
• Reception staff helpful, but often overworked, so long waits to get their attention
• The light plastic chairs at desk make dragging noises when they are moved.

We feel that U232 provides a comfortable and unique place to stay in Barcelona, and we recommend it very highly

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a weekend and overall it was a great stay.

Hotel is not at the city centre, but metro station is only one block away so if you dont want to walk for 30-40 mins you can just use it.

We stayed in the basic room with no windows but that was no problem for us since we only stayed at the hotel for sleeping night and it was offered at a great price so we didn't really mind. If you want some light through the room though, you can choose a different room type.

Hotel is very good in every little detail and was one of the best value for money hotel stay. Next time when coming back again I will definetely stay there again.

Thanks u232

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ioannis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the only hotel I have stayed at in Barcelona, but it seems a very good value. We got the room with the breakfast buffet for a reasonable rate. We had one of the interior rooms that didn't have a view which wasn't an issue for us. The terrace on the roof of the building is gorgeous with lounge chairs, piped in jazz music, towels and a great view. It was very relaxing to spend some time on the terrace and even though we were there on a weekend, we only saw 3 other people there during the three visits we made to the terrace.

One outsatnding feature of the hotel was the bathroom- marble with the best rainfall showerhead I've ever run across at a hotel. The entire bathroom was laid out nicely, with plenty of room for two females to spread out all of their "stuff".

The hotel doesn't really have a restaurant, but there is some food available at the bar. The bar was never crowded when we were there, and I can vouch for the sangria as tasty. It seemed for the limited interaction that we had with other guests that most at the hotel were from the US or the UK, some travelling in groups. The front desk staff spoke English.

The metro stop-hospital clinic is only about 2 blocks, but there aren't any tourist attractions close by.I would definitely go back and consider this a great option for a moderately price hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlouisgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and for the most part well-equipped. Great location, about half way between the old city and the new, and walkable if you like to walk (30 minutes or so to the Ramblas, for example), and easily accessible from the airport. The hotel is on a busy street, but we got a room high up at the back of the hotel and it was perfectly quiet. There's also a nice little rooftop lounge. My only complaints were that the room did not have a tissue box nor something to make hot water in, though it was possible to go downstairs to get both. The mattress wasn't awful but could probably use replacing. We did not get the hotel breakfast because it was expensive. All in all, a good value.

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsmith90211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

great value for money, beautiful decor, comfortable and spacious rooms. very well located, with good restaurants and bakeries nearby, plus the city's attractions. we can not opine on the breakfast, because it was a little expensive and we prefer to have it outside, it's a fine way to know better the places you visit...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#72 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,803 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#84 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing