We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #54 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

With the U232, depending on your fitness range you can walk to most of the major sites and even the waterfront if you care to venture that far, I found it best to walk where ever you want to go just because there is so much to see and plan a stop for lunch or a coffee then take a taxi back to the hotel. Staff were very friendly and the rooms were nice, good pricing for the location and if you look around you can find the champagne at the continental breakfast! I would probably try a different hotel but not because I did not like this one, just would want to try something else and maybe closer to the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iseeabeachinmyfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,793
    966
    181
    44
    22
See reviews for
457
1,648
130
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Modern hotel in a great part of Barcelona. We arrived early and they cleaned the room right away so we did not have to wait long for check in. Rooms were large for European standards and balconies were even larger! Great view of the city. Also i loved the rainfall shower and the comfy beds. Front desk was very responsive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DD514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have stayed in several Barcelona hotels in various locations and, overall, this has been the best one yet.

Hotel is modern and spotlessly clean. The room itself was really nice. It was located at the rear but had a small balcony overlooking an internal courtyard. Maybe not the best view but, on the plus side, there was absolutely no traffic noise (or any other noise for that matter - fantastic for us light sleepers!). It was also light and airy which I was relieved about because I'd seen other reviews which said that the rooms to the rear were dark. Bed was huge and very comfortable.

Didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Bar prices weren't too horrific. You could also order drinks, coffees and light meals from room service.

Location is slightly far out for most of the touristy bits but that needn't be a bad thing as the area felt very safe and wasn't as crowded. About a 20 minute walk to the Ramblas but there is a metro station 2 minutes away if you don't fancy walking.

Would definitely go back to this particular hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Three generations of us travelled to the U232 to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. The hotel was really lovely, the staff could not have done more to make our trip enjoyable. Everyone was friendly and helpful, particularly the front desk who were happy to provide travel information. I emailed the hotel in advance to ask if my parents could have a room upgrade as it was a special occasion. They were given a larger room at the front of the hotel with a balcony. It was a shame that the weather wasn't good enough for them to be able to use it!
The other 2 rooms were identical. Both well furnished, spotlessly clean with the best showers we've ever had in a hotel. Each room also had a large flat-screen TV. The hotel also provides free wi-fi access throughout. Breakfast was very good.
The only minor downside was that the hotel is a little out of town so we needed to use the metro or the bus to access the city centre. We had a 5 day travel pass that gave us unlimited access to the bus, metro, train, tram and funicular railway. I would recommend this (29 Euro for 5 days) as it can be used to and from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosedalebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A little far from everything but great just the same. The front desk receptionist are awesome so nice and cool to talk to. Provided everything we needed and the rooms were so clean and nice! We rented 3 rooms (6 of us traveling) 2 were located on the first floor and one was on the 2nd floor. All 3 rooms were nice. Save your money from their bar and go two doors down to Sot diner. They have the same drinks maybe even more and they are really nice there too!

Room Tip: The room we had was #105 and the only complaint I had was that the bathroom was a stand up not conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days and found it fantastic. The service was superb. The hotel was spotless. A little out of the way but this was no problem !! Would recommend it !! The tour buses are only a two minute walk away. The local restaurants are really good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I would like to thank the hotel for a most enjoyable stay!

Impressed by the hotel on the British Airways booking site, even more impressed when I visited the hotel website and then in absolute astonishment when I first walked through the doors of the hotel.

The decor is beautiful! It really contrasts against the bright sun outside but it works so well! It feels so warm and inviting (without being to warm at all).

Every staff member from check in until check out was helpful and I never felt like I was neglected.

When I walked to the room with my partner I was shocked and in awe of the room! The size of the television, the beautiful room, the excellent shower and ESPECIALLY the balcony. An unexpected bonus, a perfect surprise!

So I must say that the overall experience was amazing! And the hotel was the perfect place for our holiday. We will be visiting again very very soon! The breakfast was great and the bar service was befitting a tapas bar!

The hotel is situated near a Metro that can take you anywhere but if you don't mind a walk you can enjoy finding random cafes, bars and restaurants! I would recommend checking out a place called Balthazar! (the burger and tuna loin were amazing, just a tip, these come as rare as you can get without being carpaccio or sushi lol)

We stayed in i think room 301 (front of the building with balcony) looking out to the buildings across the road. Even though it was a busy road, sleeping was never an issue!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,792 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#72 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,798 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#83 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing