We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice but hot rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #46 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice but hot rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Temperature in our room was betwen 28-30 degrees. When we omplained we were told that Aircondition only was turned on or heating not for cooling. We were told to open the window to get freh air. A bit hard at night when one of te city's bsiest streets are just outside. Several other guests complained as well, we heard - and were told the same. Why don't they tyrn on the cooling?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EspressoDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asun P, Gerente at U232 Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear U232 guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel U232. I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience regarding the room temperature. This fall is being unseasonably warm, and although we had turned the heating system on at the begining of the season, as a result of your suggestion and those of other clients, we have turned the A/C system on again. On the bright side, that means our visitors can enjoy beautiful Barcelona with a beautiful fall weather!

Thank you again for your time and we look foward to welcoming you back to Hotel U232 when you return to Barcelona,

Asun Pareja
apareja@nnhotels.com
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    911
    164
    43
    21
See reviews for
423
1,524
120
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
233 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I found this room through Tripadvisor and it's everything I hoped it would be. The room is comfortable, attractive and quiet. The fitness center is well equipped. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great - just a block and a half from a Metro station - so it is easy to get around Barcelona. I'm planning on coming back to Barcelona next year and I will surely stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed on Floor 1 and it was still quiet. The only negative thing I can say is that the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked a triple room. Few days to the arrival, I asked them about the room. Was told it was an interior room. I was disappointed. Actually not as bad as I thought it would be. Great lighting in the room. The hotel had sort of chrome/brown decor to it - with the lightings, created some sort of posh feel to it.

The bathroom was quite small compared to some of the others I have been to, in Europe! But it was manageable. I liked the 'personal care' as they called it, package they had in the bathroom

I liked the location of the hotel, We walked to most places, including la Rambla. With Barcelona, theres lot to admire, so a long walk may not feel as such. But to as far as port olympic I would probably get transport. We used the citysightseeing bus. Lots of metro as well.

Food and drinks were quite cheap in Barcelona. This hotel had a minibar which we didn't buy from, but obviously bought our drinks and put into it. Also lost of restaurants nearby to choose from. What I liked were the great selections, For example, Tanta, A peruvian restaurant which was always fully booked. The buffet breakfast in this hotel was great. Ranging from pastries, to cold meat, to omelette which you have to order.

This hotel has a terrace, and gym. I would love to stay there in summer time.

Overall, the staff were very lovely. Manuel, spent time giving us information on how to get to the airport. We got the aerobus about 10mins away from the hotel direct to the airport. Journey time was about 15-20mins. This cost exactly 5.95euros. A return that can be used for up to 9 days cost about 9.95euros. This compared to a single taxi journey of 35Euros. The aerobus is comfortable and has spaces for suitcases. The only thing is that it might be full depending on where you get it.

I will be back to this hotel definitely.

Room Tip: Room 809... an interior room. So definitely guaranteed no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, AB.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was in Barcelona for a conference and stayed at the U232 for 5 nights in one of their "Top" rooms. Very spacious, large modern bathroom (with 2 rainfall shower heads and a tub too) and a large deck with table and chairs. Well decorated with modern touches. There is a good business center, an adequate gym and a roof-top deck for lounging about. Well located within walking distance of the Sagrada Familia and other Gaudi buildings. Short taxi/metro ride to the Ramblas area. Two good restaurants nearby are Paco Meralgo and Cerveceria Catalana. Manuel at the front desk was always very cheerful and helpful. I'll definitely stay here again if I get back to Barcelona.

Room Tip: "Top" rooms are worth it, and not too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We got a great deal from their website for 50% off the accommodation. U232 is in a great location only 5 mins walk from the Metro and 5-10 mins walk from the hop on – hop off bus stop. It is an easy taxi ride from the airport and will cost you approx $30 euro for the trip. Alternatively if you’re arriving in Barcelona on the RENFE train you can simply get on the Metro which is located in the same train station and its only two stops away, take Line 5 on the Metro and hop off at the Hospital Clinic station stop, this will only cost you $2 euro. There is a nice cafe across the road from the hotel where you can get fresh baked croissants and coffee etc. We had the room with the king size bed and the room looks exactly as it does on their website. There is a control panel on the wall for the air conditioning however this does not work as the temperature is controlled centrally for the hotel. We found that we needed to open our window in our room as the temperature of the heating was a little too warm for us which was fine as we had a back facing room and was very quiet outside. All appears very clean however if you look closely on the black tiles in the bathroom there appears to be either water/ soap stains on most of the surfaces. We liked the free wifi and they even had a roof top terrace which would be lovely in the summer time. We did not eat in the restaurant. We Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask front desk for a discount for the hop on hop off bus. It’s only 1 euro cheaper for the ticket b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October and was very pleased with our stay. it was ideally located for us as we purchased the open top bus tickets for 2 days and there was a stop close by.
Also as the hotel is not dead central nearby restaurants and bars were a lot cheaper than down las ramblas and gothic quarter etc. The staff we found very helpful as recommended a couple great restaurants and booked us taxis when we requested. Rooms were very nice (although were a little dark). Very spacious with a nice large bathroom.
Would highly recommend and would stay here again if was was lucky enough to visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wales81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice hotel. Very good quality sleeping. Very good services (business center with printer). Little bit far from the center. Would go back again !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nadia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#33 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#68 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
Hotel Ambit Barcelona
#39 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#63 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#41 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing