We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax with U232!”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #65 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked a triple room. Few days to the arrival, I asked them about the room. Was told it was an interior room. I was disappointed. Actually not as bad as I thought it would be. Great lighting in the room. The hotel had sort of chrome/brown decor to it - with the lightings, created some sort of posh feel to it.

The bathroom was quite small compared to some of the others I have been to, in Europe! But it was manageable. I liked the 'personal care' as they called it, package they had in the bathroom

I liked the location of the hotel, We walked to most places, including la Rambla. With Barcelona, theres lot to admire, so a long walk may not feel as such. But to as far as port olympic I would probably get transport. We used the citysightseeing bus. Lots of metro as well.

Food and drinks were quite cheap in Barcelona. This hotel had a minibar which we didn't buy from, but obviously bought our drinks and put into it. Also lost of restaurants nearby to choose from. What I liked were the great selections, For example, Tanta, A peruvian restaurant which was always fully booked. The buffet breakfast in this hotel was great. Ranging from pastries, to cold meat, to omelette which you have to order.

This hotel has a terrace, and gym. I would love to stay there in summer time.

Overall, the staff were very lovely. Manuel, spent time giving us information on how to get to the airport. We got the aerobus about 10mins away from the hotel direct to the airport. Journey time was about 15-20mins. This cost exactly 5.95euros. A return that can be used for up to 9 days cost about 9.95euros. This compared to a single taxi journey of 35Euros. The aerobus is comfortable and has spaces for suitcases. The only thing is that it might be full depending on where you get it.

I will be back to this hotel definitely.

Room Tip: Room 809... an interior room. So definitely guaranteed no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxuryChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 3,232 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was in Barcelona for a conference and stayed at the U232 for 5 nights in one of their "Top" rooms. Very spacious, large modern bathroom (with 2 rainfall shower heads and a tub too) and a large deck with table and chairs. Well decorated with modern touches. There is a good business center, an adequate gym and a roof-top deck for lounging about. Well located within walking distance of the Sagrada Familia and other Gaudi buildings. Short taxi/metro ride to the Ramblas area. Two good restaurants nearby are Paco Meralgo and Cerveceria Catalana. Manuel at the front desk was always very cheerful and helpful. I'll definitely stay here again if I get back to Barcelona.

Room Tip: "Top" rooms are worth it, and not too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We got a great deal from their website for 50% off the accommodation. U232 is in a great location only 5 mins walk from the Metro and 5-10 mins walk from the hop on – hop off bus stop. It is an easy taxi ride from the airport and will cost you approx $30 euro for the trip. Alternatively if you’re arriving in Barcelona on the RENFE train you can simply get on the Metro which is located in the same train station and its only two stops away, take Line 5 on the Metro and hop off at the Hospital Clinic station stop, this will only cost you $2 euro. There is a nice cafe across the road from the hotel where you can get fresh baked croissants and coffee etc. We had the room with the king size bed and the room looks exactly as it does on their website. There is a control panel on the wall for the air conditioning however this does not work as the temperature is controlled centrally for the hotel. We found that we needed to open our window in our room as the temperature of the heating was a little too warm for us which was fine as we had a back facing room and was very quiet outside. All appears very clean however if you look closely on the black tiles in the bathroom there appears to be either water/ soap stains on most of the surfaces. We liked the free wifi and they even had a roof top terrace which would be lovely in the summer time. We did not eat in the restaurant. We Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask front desk for a discount for the hop on hop off bus. It’s only 1 euro cheaper for the ticket b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October and was very pleased with our stay. it was ideally located for us as we purchased the open top bus tickets for 2 days and there was a stop close by.
Also as the hotel is not dead central nearby restaurants and bars were a lot cheaper than down las ramblas and gothic quarter etc. The staff we found very helpful as recommended a couple great restaurants and booked us taxis when we requested. Rooms were very nice (although were a little dark). Very spacious with a nice large bathroom.
Would highly recommend and would stay here again if was was lucky enough to visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wales81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice hotel. Very good quality sleeping. Very good services (business center with printer). Little bit far from the center. Would go back again !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nadia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great hotel. Room was small but had 2 bathrooms. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Near subway station. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel but just down the block is a great little restaurant that serves a really food breakfast very cheap.

Room Tip: I booked this trip in April . It helps to book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank421132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Holt_Doncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,122 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 516 in Barcelona
2,312 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#91 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,894 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#63 of 516 in Barcelona
1,118 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 516 in Barcelona
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $73 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing