We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #55 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,863
    1,001
    184
    46
    24
See reviews for
485
1,705
137
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a well run and well maintained hotel. Nice staff, very comfortable rooms, good breakfast selection.
Only downside, don't order a pizza from the bar - straight from the supermarket freezer.

Nothing to add.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingdave0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights during our visit to Barcelona. For our purposes, U232 was excellent. Our room (909) on the top floor was extremely large and comfortable, making us feel like we were staying in an apartment (lots of storage space, couches, tables, etc.). The bathroom was first class with a double sink, double shower, tub, etc. Frequently we stay in Kimpton hotels and U232's room compared favorably.
We enjoy walking as tourist in a city, so U232 provided a good starting point for our tourist activities.
Good, but not excellent was the Wifi service (connection drop) and concierge service.

Room Tip: We loved our room 909 with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a family room and were happy about the two connecting rooms we were given on the 8th floor: they were spacious, we had three bathroom (2 tubs and 1 shower) and we had enough place for the 5 of us. Despite all that, I must say that the children room had no view at all, one of the bathrooms had a strange musty smell, and balcony was extremely tiny (not worth the price we paid). Breakfast was good and the breakfast room very pleasant to stay. Unfortunately the staff really disappointed us: when we arrived we were barely welcomed and just given the two key cards with the room numbers. Never during our 4 nights stay were we asked if everything was all right or if we needed something. On our last-but one day in Barcelona we found out that the next day there would have been a strike (Metro and trains). We asked some information at the desk and…they did not know anything about it !! (I must say that Manuel took at least the time to have a look on the Metro web site to check). The next day, we had fixed a taxi for 2.30 pm but it unfortunately did not show up. Despite we were waiting in the lounge room and the personnel at the desk knew we were waiting for the taxi (I had told Cristina in the morning when I paid the bill), nobody said nothing about the fact that also the taxi service was irregular because of the strike!!! They just suggested to go out and make signs to taxi drivers to make them stop (which did not work at all)!! In the end we had to took luggage and kids, to run to the metro then get a train to the airport and we managed to get our plane at the last minute!
So overall though the hotel was good and well situated, staff was too unfriendly and cold and did not make us feel welcomed at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel u232 is a bit off the beaten track, about ten minutes by metro to the tourist area. The hotel is lovely. The staff were very pleasant. We did not do the breakfast buffet as it was a bit pricey and there were plenty of cafes in the area (it's a real neighborhood). We took the top floor rooms and they were very large and comfortable. The bar could use a little work unless all you want is a glass of wine or a beer. I asked for a martini and he was clueless. But the staff really helped with places to eat, though only in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located where it is, you're not in the middle of the city, but it's very convenient to anything via a long walk or a quick metro or cab ride. I actually preferred that. Metro stop is a block away, and is safe, cheap and efficient. The room was good, as was the service. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cugrad2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the U232 during Christmas. It is in a great location (Eixample) for what we were looking for - close enough to restaurants, bars, without being next door to La Rambla. There were plenty of excellening dining options within walking distance, and only a short metro ride (closest stop: Hospital Clinic) to La Rambla and the beach.

The room was a good size, and very well furnished (flat-screen TV, comfy bed, great shower). Our room faced a courtyard, which meant that it was very quiet, even if the view was not great.

Service was efficient and friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikramvasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,922 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
2,265 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 513 in Barcelona
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,782 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
309 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing