We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U232 Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
U232 Hotel
Ranked #50 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The U232 is a beautiful hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel decor of black and beige is quite chic. I liked the club feel of the lobby. The bar had the best sangria. The rooftop area was a great place to relax. Even though the hotel is a few minutes away from "the action", we were able to use the subway (less than 2 blocks away) or utilize taxis, which are relatively inexpensive compared to other large metropolitan cites. There were also good restaurants close by.

Now as good as this hotel was, and it was really good, the customer service was nothing short of fabulous. My hats off to the entire team as they made us feel very welcome. Each time we walked in the door we were greeted with an "Hola". They gave us wonderful recommendations for meals. We received an overview of the subway system along with directions on how to get wherever we wanted to go.

A special thank you to Crystina and team for their patience and wonderful customer service. Staying at the U232 was truly the best part of our trip to Spain.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gvldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,734
    946
    173
    44
    21
See reviews for
443
1,601
128
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We again booked direct through the Hotels web site and received quick confirmation. We requested the same room as last year and this was arranged albeit next door room 112. It’s on the first floor no need for the lift, a basic room but clean large and comfortable. More details on our previous review. We paid 99E per night for a three night stay more than last year but still good value. We did not have breakfast, the cost 10E each. There is a multitude of cafes nearby coffee and a pastry for two costs around E5.50. We enjoy the Hotel as its quiet, close to the metro, about 2 minutes and great restaurants within a five minutes’ walk. It’s a non touristy area and you mix with the locals. We particularly enjoyed the tapas and meal at Maitea Taberna 157 Casanova and also at Paco Meralgo, 171 Muntaner. Both highly recommended and very reasonably priced, under 60E for two including wine. The sun terrace on the roof is a pleasant relief for a half an hours rest. We will book again when next in Barcelona.
Another positive the staff this year where friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had a wonderful time in this hotel. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Geeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Another great stay! Arrived at 10pm on a Friday and front desk were super friendly & helpful. We were very lucky and upgraded to the top room which had a large terrace and huge bathroom with whirlpool bath.....just what you need after a day of walking!

The hotel is spotless & housekeeping did a great job. The room room decor was chic and the bed so comfy!! We really enjoyed our stay & the restaurant recommendation was totally delicious. Although the hotel is not in the centre of town the metro station is close and we enjoy being off the tourist trail.

Another great stay, thanks U232.....we will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNCheese100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the U232 before our Mediterranean cruise from Barcelona. This hotel was perfectly suited to our needs, and was very comfortable. The front desk staff is top-notch, and had immediate answers to all of our questions. (They even saved us a couple of Euros by suggesting that we hail a cab on the street...if you call for one, there is a surcharge!)

The hotel is in the quieter Exiample section of town. Yes, it's not in very close proximity to the main sights of Barcelona, but the hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the "Hospital Clinic" metro station. We found the Barcelona metro to be one of the best in the world, providing access to all the city's sights in a matter of minutes. Buy a T-10 pass for the best value.

There are many food/drink options nearby...most of them we did not use, although we absolutely loved eating breakfast at the little "Dino Pan" store right up the block. Best coffee and croissiants ever!

Bottom line...we really enjoyed our stay in Barcelona and at the U232...we highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed 3 nights. nice lobby. nice large room with good a/c and shower.

good location with easy access to taxis, cafes, hop-on hop-off bus.

room service food was average at best though. had a couple of nights where we came in late and jjust wanted a snack. the pizza was awful and the club sandwich was poor with stale crisps!

good to have the wifi in room and near the main lobby there are two computers with printers which we needed.

on our last night we were woken at 1am to loud thudding footsteps from the room above which went on for over an hour! dont know what they were up to. called the receprion but no one was on at this time that could speak english, but i think they got the message as shortly after i saw a security guard in the hall way and signalled to him what was going on. shortly after the thudding stopped.

overall pretty good, i would recommend it

Room Tip: ***no swimmimg pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I were recently guests at U232 Hotel for 3 nights during our first visit to Barcelona.
Our flight arrived into Barcelona at 7:45am and we whizzed thru passport control. We followed the hotel website directions for taking the train/metro and there we were, before 10am, at the front desk. Check-in was listed as 2pm but we were very pleasantly surprised to find that a room was ready for us immediately. What a bonus to be able to shower and catch a couple hours of shuteye after an all night flight from Toronto!
The basic room (106) was on what we call the second floor in North America and had a balcony but no view....just a wall about 10 feet away. Not an issue for us.
We were well off the street so no traffic noise and any noise from the halls or floor above was very minimal.
Great blackout curtains as well.
We had a king-sized bed (not just two smaller beds pushed together) which was very comfy and the linens were of good quality.
Excellent shower, plenty of hot water and huge bath towels.
The room was clean and in good repair.
The airconditioning was a godsend....over 40C every day we were there.
Cannot comment on the breakfast as we did not partake. There are a couple of small cafes just down the street for morning coffee on the way to the metro.
We walked to Sagrada Familia from the hotel and found the metro super convenient for everything else we wanted to see and do in the short time we were there.
Never having been to Barcelona before, I was worried the hotel was a bit out of the way but it turned out that we were quite happy to be a little further away from the crowds of Las Ramblas.
I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#39 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#85 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#73 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,688 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing