We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great tour!

The walking tour of the Spanish Civil War in Barcelona was not only an enlightening experience but... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Orly492018
,
Syracuse, New York
Best Thing You Can Do In Barcelona

This tour opened my eyes to Barcelona and the way that history and the people that have struggled... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Eduardowolbert
Read all 1,442 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Barcelona
from $43.46
More Info
from $34.31
More Info
from $101.79
More Info
from $28.59
More Info
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveler rating
1,414
25
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,414
25
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nick lloyd george orwell orwell's homage to catalonia world history history buff personal stories subject matter international brigades reading list recent history history come alive his enthusiasm passionate guide deep knowledge ask questions three hours better understanding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,374 - 1,379 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I really enjoyed this tour and Nick's knowledge on all the little-known facts of the civil war, Republica, anarchism and more.
If you are interested in history you shouldn't miss these walks around Barcelona: a time travel experience for a day!

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank kittygalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

At first I balked at the price, but having been on many other (cheaper) tours in different towns, this one is far superior, longer and worth every penny. I'd happily go on it again!

Nick told stories, played music, and conjured us back to times gone by - you see a whole different Barcelona through his eyes and thus your own. Very responsive to questions and interests, engaging and attentive. THANKS

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank Bobs-the-Job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have to recommend Nick Lloyd's Spanish Civil War Tour as it really was a most interesting, informative and enjoyable morning. The atmosphere of Barcelona during this unique historical time is brought to life by Nick's enthusiasm and knowledge of the subject. I thought three hours might be a bit long but not at all. Next time I will definitely do the extended tour.

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour with Nick yesterday. He shared all sorts of stories and information about that period in Barcelona's history. With the photos and videos as well he built up a picture of what the city was like and explained the complex relationships between the different groups very clearly. Absolutely brilliant i've already signed up for his other two tours!

Date of experience: February 2012
Thank anna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Today a few of us did the fantastic tour by Nick Lloyd about the Spanish Civil War, from a mostly anarchist persective and retracing a good bit of where George Orwell cut his teeth. Loved the tour, great to learn more and more about these fascinating subjects, which are not only important for the understanding of yesterday, but also for thinking of how we live today... Really recomend it. I learned many things, amongst them was the origins of that phrase; "If you tolerate this your children will be next", which the Manic Street Preachers sung about.

Spanish Civil War tours in Barcelona
http://iberianature.com/barcelona/history-of-barcelona/spanish-civil-war-tour-in-barcelona/

Nicks great articles in the Metropolitan magazine
http://www.barcelona-metropolitan.com/topics/nick_lloyd

MANIC STREET PREACHERS_ If you tolerate this your children will be next
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7dBBCHYcZs

Date of experience: February 2012
3  Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews