We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark cupboard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Barcelona Eixample
Ranked #205 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My room was very small. The bed (small double) was pushed up to the side of one wall because otherwise there would be no space to walk round. The window looked on to a sort of inside courtyard thing (but courtyard is too grand a name - it was just a small space) so there was zero sunlight and the window was pointless. Although there was a light over the bed (very dim), a tall lamp in the corner and a table lamp, there was a whole quarter of the room near the wardrobe and mirror which got no light at all (quite an achievement in such a small room!)

There was a safe in the wardrobe, and someone before me had peeled up the instructions on the top to try to read them because it was impossible in the darkness. I had to get my little reading light and angle it so I could just about see the instructions.

The public areas of the hotel were fine and the breakfast was fine too. The staff were all very nice.

However, if they let out such a small, extremely dark room they should advise that at the time of booking.

Room Tip: If you are a single traveller, be aware you may end up in a small dark cupboard. Ideal if you are a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for NH Barcelona Eixample
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 883 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

those were the words I used to describe my room, then my colleage said that I've just described their rooms too. This was my second time in NH hotels in Barcelona and this was the second time that they rented me a smaller room than it was settled and payed with agency. anyway good hotel but....

Room Tip: make complains and make your room bigger
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanasinovcic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

clean room. comfy bed. not far to metro station, 10minutes walk. good breakfast. NO BAR!!!!!!!. cool tapas bar accross the road on the corner called Tomato. good food lovely staff will deffo go back if we visit again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannyknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel last year for four days with friends. When we booked this hotel we knew that it wasn't exactly in the city center, but we didn't' want to pay too much for an hotel just for the sleep. Even if it's not so close to the subway (and from the subway's stop to the hotel it's a looooong walk with the luggages) it's in a good position because there are many buses close to it, and it's easy to reach some important places like La Sagrada Familia. This hotel has big nice rooms with a huge wardrobe, and the bathroom is nice too. Near this hotel there are many bars, and for the breakfast it's perfect. For the evening there are so many taxes and they're cheap if you don't want to take the subway or the buses.
The staff was very kind and they speak many languages, italian too.
The only thing that I didn't appreciate too much was that there are some buildings in front of the hotel, and we had to keep the curtains closed or they would have seen in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellechi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

NH Master is a good hotel , with clean and calm room , I was sleep very well and nice bed , easy to go for all atractions .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleterruggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel is farther from the center than we though, so we had to walk quite a bit. Rooms are OK, but what looked like a king size bed turned out to be two single beds put together, with some space in between. TV didn't work. We notified the receptionist several times, and on day 4 got an answer that the problem is not with the TV, but with the cable, so there is absolutely nothing they can do. We couldn't help but laugh, and the receptionists were really surprised and asked why. Well, how about: offer another room, or a discount, or at the very least "sorry for the inconvenience"? Other than that, the personel was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
Thank polina21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eva s, Gerente at NH Barcelona Eixample, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

First at all, thank you for your comments and sorry for the inconveniences you had during the stay in our hotel. Certainly our staff did not behave according to our company’s procedures especially when something is not working properly. Every flaw is fixed up on a daily basis but in this case, as it was not possible to repair at the moment we should have offer you to change the room (there was a problem with the antenna).

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused to you. Hope to see you again in NH Master.

Eva Sanmarti. Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in March, about £45 a night.

Best feature about this hotel is the location. We hardly got a metro anywhere. if you like hiking you can make it up to the castle through placa de espanyol or all the way down las ramblas to the beach. But also very close to the metro for those that prefer that option.

Looks like a great location for clubbing. But if you are not a clubber you might find like me, that you get woken up by them coming back to the hotel in the wee hours of the morning.

Apart from the noise we didn't have any issues with the hotel but didn't find it anything special either.

Breakfast was very expensive so didn't try it, not a problem, plenty of great places outside! Best one we found was Dino pan, not far away on Avinguda de Roma.

Also quite a few options for dinner around. The tapas place almost opposite was very nice.

If this was the best price, then I would possibly stay here again, but I would be looking for other options first.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blbovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Sant Antoni
Hotel Sant Antoni
#172 of 513 in Barcelona
803 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#315 of 513 in Barcelona
547 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
NH Barcelona Diagonal Center
NH Barcelona Diagonal Center
#250 of 513 in Barcelona
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#167 of 513 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#138 of 513 in Barcelona
2,640 reviews
Hotel Sagrada Familia
#235 of 513 in Barcelona
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona Eixample? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Eixample

Address: Valencia, 105-107, 8011 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Master)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $77 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Barcelona Eixample 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, NH Barcelona Eixample is a pleasant 15 minute walk from bustling Barcelona city center, or just two stops away by metro. The Sants main line station and Barcelona's renowned Fira exhibition centre are also just 15 minutes away while Placa Catalunya with its tempting shops and inviting restaurants and bars can be reached on foot in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Barcelona Eixample reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Master Barcelona
Nh Master Hotel Barcelona
NH Barcelona Eixample Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing