We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, classic ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nouvel Hotel
Ranked #230 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Perfect location, classic ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for five days here. Because he had never been to Barcelona before, I wanted someplace close to Las Ramblas and the Eixample but still reasonably quiet at night.This place definitely fits the bill. The hotel exterior and lobby area speak to the Grande Dame nature of the place. The rooms are perfectly fine--not fancy, not shabby. No free Wifi, though, but there is a computer available on the first floor for guest use. I would guess that it gets pretty hard use in the summer time! Staff was unfailingly polite and helpful, though with a tiny bit of sales-pitch on some of the tourist sites (I suspect a financial tie). Our room looked out into a central shaft and other rooms across, so we kept the wood blinds closed. It was possible to get extra air by just opening the window and leaving the shutters closed.

Location simply could not be improved upon--an easy walk to all of the main touristy sights and close to a couple of Metro stops for places further afield. Only real downside was breakfast--for the price, it was appalling--soggy pastries, canned peaches and pears, small containers of cheap yogurt, etc. Coffee came in a huge carafe and was tepid and, I suspect, made up from instant. Luckily I still had a few Starbucks Via packets, so added to hot water it made a real improvement to the dishwater coffee there. While I often take the hotel breakfast in Europe for convenience sake, here there is no reason at all to do so--directly across the street there is a cafe with a huge assortment of freshly baked rolls and pastries and delicious coffee anyway you like it, all for about a quarter what the hotel was charging.

There is a hotel onsite, but after the breakfast experience we weren't moved to try it. If breakfast were upgraded, this would merit five stars. Also, adjacent to the lounge is a lovely sitting room with comfortable chairs. It's perfect for a bar-lounge; I can't believe that it hasn't been made into one. Perhaps in the summer, when the hotel is more fully occupied?

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor near the computer station--you will hear people making phone calls, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flitcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    471
    159
    62
    42
See reviews for
212
380
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This vintage hotel was perfect. Location, staff, room, price.. very happy! The gent at the front desk had an amazing knowledge of languages, remembering our names every morning, which I thought was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just off Las Ramblas and around the corner from Plaça de Catalunya in a quiet side-street, this hotel is a great base for exploring Barcelona. Great value for a 3-star hotel in such a central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kugelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Marvellous location, just off Las Rambalas and close to Playa Catalunya.
Rooms clean and functional.
Reception staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Truly excellent value for a 3* hotel.
Has our strongest recommendation and wont look for anywhere else on next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated to La Ramblas, the hop on hop of busses and bus transfers to the airport. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a lovely stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Minnette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a great location just off Las Ramblas. Although it is near all the action I found it very quiet at night. Great reception staff. The decor is a bit dated/ tired, but that is a small gripe. This is good value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went to Barcelona in early April, my husband, daughter two grandchildren and myself. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were extremely helpful and very polite.
The position of the hotel was perfect. A short walk from Las Ramblas and Place de Catalunya.
We would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#124 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#198 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#300 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#110 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Property: Nouvel Hotel
Address: Santa Ana, 18-20, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nouvel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing