We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price right for location”
Review of Onix Fira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Onix Fira Hotel
Ranked #364 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Price right for location”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Just one block from Plaza Espanya (underground station) and just 2 stations from the Train Station Barcelona Sants, from airport there is a bus that crosses just in the corner. From the train station I suggest walking (less than 10 min) instead of the underground; is better if you are carrying luggage because the underground doesn’t have electric stairs or elevator.
Rooms are spacious and clean with a big bathroom. The breakfast is not included on the rate but don’t eat there is not good and expensive (considering what you eat) there is a computer desktop and is free to use internet.
Good option for the price you can start your tour from the city at the Plaza Espanya, the Montjuic hill, sightseeing’s are located in the same area and just 4 stations from the Camp Nou Barcelona Soccer Staduim …. Downtown is via underground

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Net0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    259
    217
    63
    46
See reviews for
128
280
33
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel is one block from Placa Espanya, with connections to everywhere. It was an extremely good value; the excellent rate includes breakfast and free parking underground (which we didn't use -- we used public transportation). The area is safe and quiet. Hotel was a bit hard to get into due to construction across the street (maybe this is why the rate was so good?), but this was a minor drawback. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Meats, cheeses, scrambled eggs, breakfast sausages, toast, pastries, etc. We would happily stay here again if we return to Barcelona. Also, there are two computers with free access.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonJohn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The only good thing about this hotel is it's location...

-On the hotel site they claim that there is a safe box in the room, which there is but doesn't work and the receptionist simply didn't care enough to explain anything, he kept repeating "It is out of order" and nothing else.
-Also, on the website they say that there is satellite TV, but of course there isn't....We spent 5 days listenig Spanish and Catalan news trying to understand what on earth was going on with the bad weather and the aiport strike...
-The front office staff generally was very unpolite, we felt very unwelcome. We asked for a good place to have dinner, we were told to go down the street where there are many restaurants...We asked if they have any information about the airport strike, they just said that they do not know anything...
-The moment we arrived, we were asked to prepay our stay, before we even see the room in a very rude way...
-Wifi didn't worked well, I had to be near to the toilet to get connected, there was absolutelly no way to connect from the working desk in the room. And once I was able to connect it was very slow.
-The room was big and with nice view over the Joan Miro Park, but very dirty! The bed sheets were not changed even once, but the cleaning lady kept chenging the pillow cases!
-The bed it self was very dirty and the bed layer was the worst I've even seen! It was a king size bed but to get a normal sleep, you'd had to strugle to be in the middle of the bed, or else you'd fall over the side! The bed layer was so used that it became so thin at the exact spot where you'll sit to put on your shoes for example, so we couldn't sleep normally...
-Breakfast was very average, I've seen much better in same or lower category hotels.

You'll find a much better hotel in Barcelona centre in the same rate

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Des_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The rooms were all very large but well equipped with high quality furnishings and the same can also be said for the communal areas. The level of cleanliness and attentiveness of staff were both great. My only criticism would be that the breakfast selection was very limited although adequate. The hotel is located minutes from a Metro station and the airport shuttle bus, and is also within walking distance of many attractions. It is also near a supermarket and in an area where it feels very safe to walk around at night. The hotel is set back slightly from the road and so is also quiet.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Louise_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Great location, next to Fira Barcelona (congress) and Plaça de Espana (aerobus, metro L5 und L1)
Big and clean rooms, huge bathroom with marmor.
Very bad Wi-Fi connection (at least on th 5th floor), Relatively quiet.
Convenient place to stay for business trip. Not sure for holliday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gummibaerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We were staying at this hotel for 2 nights,arrived late from Nice,France .The hotel is centrally located but on a narrow street behind a big stadium that was under construction. The rooms were clean and basic. everything seemed OK . I asked about using the safe in the room the next day and the person at the counter said it costs 6 Euros a day and that the rooms are safe(my mistake to believe him)
On the second day we went out leaving a good deal of money and our passports at the hotel .we locked one of the wardrobes and hid the key. we were out for about 3 hours for dinner and sightseeing , came back slept .The next morning we were leaving for Madrid, we found that except for a few notes of smaller denomination all our money was taken . As if that was not bad.
we quickly went down to complain and the receptionist scratched his head and said it was very strange. (yea we knew that!!!), He kept telling us to check and make sure we didn't keep the money somewhere else !!apparently it has happened before !!and he said we have to go to the station to make a report but unfortunately we had a train to catch in an hours time.
They did not even offer to take a note of this complaint. we were in a hurry so couldn't pursue the case.
It must have been an inside job.so whoever is booking this hotel please be very very careful with whatever you leave in the room .Hope no one else has such a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jacob_Tharian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yambol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The hotel is in good place, have good parking but it cost 17 euro - must be free. The rooms are good, quiet and clear, but the view is not good, the backyard. Big bathroom !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian-Iliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#243 of 513 in Barcelona
560 reviews
Hotel Sant Angelo
#325 of 513 in Barcelona
355 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#373 of 513 in Barcelona
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#337 of 513 in Barcelona
2,728 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vilamari
Hotel Vilamari
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
789 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Fira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Fira Hotel

Property: Onix Fira Hotel
Address: C/ Llanca 30, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Onix Fira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Onix Fira is a confortable, cosy hotel. Next to the "Fira de Barcelona" (the Barcelona trade fair hall) and the Palacio de Congresos. Its communication is unbeatable, meaning that tourists can enjoy the countless attractions Barcelona has offer. Finish your day with well-deserved rest, enjoying all the conveniences that the Onix Fira offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Onix Fira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onix Fira
Onix Fira Barcelona
Onix Fira Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing