We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A couple from Hungary”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel l'Alguer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel l'Alguer
Ranked #456 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    31
    11
    15
See reviews for
15
32
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Me and my 2year old daughter stayed here for 3nights. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The location was great, in quiet street, close to shops, metro and bus stop, with easy access to city centre. The room was small, but as we used it for sleep and shower, it was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

it was the worest hotel i had seen in my life the service was too bad and the rooms was dirty and the smell there is terrible , there were no adapter for my mobile charger also no wifi even in the lopy . i swear it is the worest hotel i had seen in my life,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MOATH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Braintree
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel is ideal if you're looking for a clean, basic hotel, close to the Camp Nou or if yo're looking to do Barcelona for one or two nights on a budget. It is very close to the Metro and takes about 15 minutes to get to Plaza de Catalunya/Ramblas

Away from the football ground there are a few small tapas bars and a McDonalds if you like that sort of thing. It is also very close to the Metro.

I've now stayed here twice and although I like my comforts, I'll return here when going to watch the football and just want a cheap, clean bed for the night.

Just remember you are not paying Ritz prices so don't expect Ritz style accommodation.

Room Tip: I've stayed in two different rooms, both exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I used this hotel in early February 2012 for a long weekend in Barcelona with my 11-year-old son. The reason I booked was price and proximity to the Camp Nou (We had tickets for a game on the Saturday night)

It was warm, clean and had friendly staff. Comfortable beds with sheets and blankets that were expertly made each day - we'd a bit of trouble getting the sheets back!! They were fantastic to sleep in.

Yes, there was a bit of noise in the morning, with doors banging and people talking but you're in a hotel - what do you expect.

Be warned - it's VERY basic and fairly cramped. If you are looking to spend some time in your hotel, look elsewhere. If, like us, you are only using it to sleep in and keep your stuff, then I'd highly recommend it. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the Camp Nou and a 5 minute walk to the nearest Metro (Callblanc).

And there's a fantastic little pizzeria just around the corner with a McDonalds and a lovely bakers in close proximity.

The lady who checked us in was very pleasant, laughing and joking with my son in near perfect English. All other staff were friendly and smiling.

I'd use this again for further Nou Camp/Barcelona trips.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_G_From_EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

I agree with most of the comments but would like to add that breakfast was bad and too expensive if not booked with the room (€ 8)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skepticus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

Spent seven days/six nights at Hotel L'Alguer! Loved the location! Located on a very quiet street with hardly any traffic except for an early commuter or two! Within just a few steps from a Metro station. But one can also walk all the way to the Plaza Cataluna (the heart of Barcelona) It may take an hour and maybe asking 'how to" a couple of times!
Twice during my stay I had to go to the front desk at about six o'clock in the morning to ask the receptionist what was "all that raucous about" Twice, I was given an empty stare and a "what do you mean noise, Sir" kind of question as if I were dreaming or figuring the noise being made by the 'help in charge of the up-keep'.. They talked just as if they were in the middle of the Ramblas! No regard whatsoever for the " Do Not Disturb Sign"
Other than that helpless and hopless night receptionid(s) the room was clean, somewhat comfortable and the bathroom was adequate.
Would have no objection in going back if for nothing else, for the simple fact of its proximity to a metro station.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xicanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
Hotel Madanis Liceo
#6 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#204 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Madanis Hotel
#272 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bonanova Park
#367 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Apartamentos Turisticos Marsol
#396 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Les Corts
Catalonia Rigoletto
Catalonia Rigoletto
#157 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Alguer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Alguer

Property: Hotel l'Alguer
Address: Passatge Pere Rodriguez 20, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Alguer 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel l'Alguer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Alguer Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing