We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff training”
Review of Lleo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lleo Hotel
Ranked #195 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is situated perfectly for all wanting to be close to the Las Ramblas, in central Barcelona. It is modern, clean with a large lounge to relax in. The pool on the roof is small, but plenty of seats are available for those wanting to enjoy the sun, It even has a disabled access. The breakfast is very good, with the late finish time of 12 md, so no rushing to get in your breakfast. The room we eventually got had adjustable beds, which were very comfortable. We were shown a tiny room with a window overlooking a service shaft, but we did manage to get the room changed. The only blot on the landscape were the reception staff, who for the most part curt, even rude.

Room Tip: Just check the window, you may not get the best view on the upper floors
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann1E99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Lleo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel Lleo is in an excellent position - close to shops, Las Ramblas, metro. Bus to airport is a few minutes walk. Pool area, lounge area are very nice.

Unfortunately we had a room on the 4th floor - one of the rooms that has not been renovated. Although clean, it was tiny, the window we had was frosted and would not open. The corridor also looked dated.
Would suggest that anyone staying there - request a room on 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor. These rooms have been renovated and are lovely - we saw one and couldn't believe the difference to our room. Hotel said they hope to renovate floors 4 and above in next few months.

Breakfast was ok, but if paying extra for this, think I would prefer to go to Starbucks opposite or one of the of cafe bars around for breakfast..

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st, 2nd, 3rd floor and one with a window that opens. Apparently booking direct to...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbenzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Friendly and very helpful staff, great breakfast - available until 12.00 noon! Good room and excellent facilities, Free Wi-Fi. Very convenient for metro station. Plenty of good restaurants nearby. Easy walk to Las Ramblas and La Boqueria Market - not to be missed at any cost!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Lleo. It was a large hotel by Europe's standards, with 2 lifts, 24/7 reception, roof-top pool, and several floors of rooms. Our room was spacious with a patio. The AC worked great, but the room remained so humid that the bed sheets and mattress felt damp. There was literally no insulation in the walls, so every door slam, conversation, and tv was heard. There was a large breakfast buffet that remained open until noon, however; the selection and quality of the food provided was average at best. The front desk staff were gruff, apathetic, and avoidant. The best aspect of the hotel was its location, close enough to Plaza de Catalunya, but far enough from the busy, sketchy La Ramblas. This was an average hotel, not luxurious by any means, but met our needs for 3 nights in September.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and found the hotel to be in an excellent location with a generous sized room, including a small sitting room which lead out to a small terrace. There was a nice bathroom and a shower with good pressure. Our room was on the 1st floor to the rear of the hotel and was very quiet. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
We did not have any meals at the hotel but the menu was similar in both the food offered and price compared to the restaurants around the hotel.
The Metro is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and a small Supermarkat (Supermarket) is a 5 minute walk if you turned left from the hotel and went to the end of the street, it was on the right across the street. A large supermarket was a 10 minute walk if you turned right from the hotel and walked down the street and turned right at McDonalds and down the main Plaza, it is approximately 300 metres on the right.
The central square where the Hop on Hop off buses left from was also very close, only 10 minutes walk. If you have a few days in Barcelona I would recommend a 2 day pass as we found the buses move reasonably quickly around the city and take you to all the main attractions. (Euro 32)
If you thinking of visiting the Familiar Grand Gardaí, book online before you go as the queues were VERY long to get in.
Overall all we thought the Hotel Lleo was an excellent choice for our stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, room was fantastic, (one of the nearly refurbished ones) lovely beds, great bathroom with double shower, tv in bathroom!!! Really clean, rooftop pool was great, great location, would def stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 529Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#164 of 513 in Barcelona
668 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#176 of 513 in Barcelona
1,487 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
215 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#201 of 513 in Barcelona
542 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#226 of 513 in Barcelona
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lleo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lleo Hotel

Address: Carrer de Pelai 22-24, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#161 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $95 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lleo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lleo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lleo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing