We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than many 4 stars hotel!”
Review of Lleo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lleo Hotel
Ranked #200 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I'm still here in the Lleo Hotel in Barcelona. It is a very good 3 stars hotel, actually better than many 4 stars hotels, and price is lower than many hotel here around.

The location is perfect, just 200 metres from the main square Placa Catalunia and the famous Rambla, with 2 metro lines and bus turistic, and direct connected to the airport with aerobus shuttle.

I booked a deluxe room, it is a very large and renovated room, with parquet, a big bathroom with shower and bathtub and two sinks (see my pics). It has also a big terrace with chairs.
On the roof there is also a pool that can be freely used.

Breakfast is abundant and good, service is nice and helpful. Also, two internet stations are provided for free (I'm just writing from one of them).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wojager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

Was a decent price for what you got, the staff were helpful enough, we loved our stay here as it was in a good location and near all amenities .

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because of its location, and the location is good, not the best , but good. That is all the good points over with , now the down side of this hotel.
The Hotel has undergone a refurbishment to make it appear a 4 star hotel, but it is not. The flat screen TV, the electric adjustment beds, and electric curtains are the high points of a disappointing hotel.
The rooms are small, too small, they have tried to cram to many rooms in a small space, and with 2 people walking around the room, you keep bumping into each other. The aircon is set at 23 degrees, you have no control on the temperature, so its 23 or nothing.
There is a swimming pool on the roof, dont lean on the wooden panels around the pool, as one wobbles and its 6 floors strait down to certain death.
All rooms have a safe deposit box, the only trouble is the all use the same key for every room, and they run out of keys. So anyone with a key for any room has access to you valuables in your safe deposit box.
when asked they are very proud about their cctv, and tell you your room is safe. If you have every stayed in this hotel and left with a safe deposit key you have access to all rooms safes.
I walked up to reception and asked for a spare door card for my room and they just gave me one. no questions, anyone could walk in this hotel and rob you of everything. security is poor.
Breakfast is the usual dismal breakfast you get at most roadside truckstops, infact i have eaten in better roadside truck stops.
the walls are paper thin, and you can hear the passionate couples or heavy snoring people in the room next door.
there is no extractor fans in the bathroom, so get in there quick if your partner has has a spicy kebab the night before , if you undo the window it will cut off the aircon, so you will suffocate either way.
The location of this hotel is good, but for the money there are loads better, dont be fooled that all the marble tiles and flooring make a great hotel, its not a bad hotel, I have stayed in many worse, but for the money you would expect better, A LOT BETTER.

Room Tip: GO ELSEWHERE, Barcelona has many better hotels. The price does not equate to a good hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ExeterBobbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have just come back from a long weekend at Hotel LLeo and have to say that it was a fantastic place to stay. The location is central, a few minutes walk from the lop of La Ramblas, yet was not noisy at night. The hotel is slightly dated but very clean and tidy. When we arrived the reception were very friendly and checked our group of 8 in quickly. Our rooms were all ready when we arrived and they were exaclty what we were expecting, the triple rooms were fine with 3 single beds, hanging space and a large bathroom, the shower was powerful but a little dim. We made use of the roof terrace and plunge pool/jacuzzi it was great place to relax with views over the rooftops across barcelona. We met in the hotel bar a couple of times before going out for drinks, again staff friendly. We didnt book for breakfast, there are many places very close to pick up coffee and breakfast, we tended to go to a takeaway called viena a couple of shops down from Hotel LLeo and take our breakfast up to the terrace, nobody seemed to mind. If i ever go back to Barcelona I would not hesitate to stay here, it is great value for money!! The surrounding area is amazing too, Barcelona is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: We had standard rooms, they were perfect, you could of had the more modern rooms but I wouldnt waste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussyrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Very good value and recently upgraded rooms make this nearly a 4 star but for around 100 ukp per room per night. Right in the centre of the city easily accessible by the aerobus from the airport and opposite a pick up for the open top tour of the city. Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

It's a good, basic hotel. Excellent value compared to others in the same area. It's just a few minutes walk from the Aerobus stop, and even nearer if you get off at Universitat, the stop before Placa Catalunya.

The hotel is on a very busy street, so there will be a lot of traffic noise. Our room was right at the front, so probably the noisiest, but once the windows were closed, and the air conditioning turned on, it was surprisingly quiet. The room was very comfortable and spacious, with an enormous, extremely comfortable bed. There was plenty of storage - large cupboard with lots of hanging space and shelves. The fridge was very welcome, but I would have liked a kettle as well. The bathroom was typical Spanish state-of-the-art modern, with a strange shaped washbasin and weird tap. But the shower was great - lots of different spray jets and rainforest effect, and absolutely huge. The built-in hair dryer was quite powerful, unlike the usual feeble warm-air tube in most hotels, so you don't have to bring your own. Bath towels were a bit on the small side, however.

Breakfast was quite good. The usual buffet (hot as well as cold), and the staff kept it welll stocked up all the time. If you like tea, it's probably best to bring your own teabags - what came out of that machine was not very nice!

The staff were very welcoming and friendly - all in all, a good choice if you want to stay somewhere central, but don't want to pay boutique-hotel prices.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

we have just returned from a very pleasant 7 night stay in wonderful Barcelona We were a bit worried after reading some detremental reviews about the hotel.. We were very pleased to find this hotel very clean and comfortable . The breakfast catered for all tastes and was available till 12 Midday Wonderful ! Our room was very large and had electric beds . My husband uses a wheelchair and we had asked for a disabled room I must admit the room was big enough but if my husband had not been able to walk into the toilet with his sticks it would have been very difficult also the shower was over the bath so not really disabled friendly We also found the staff friendly including the reception staff who went out of their way to help us.

Room Tip: rooms at back probably quieter.make sure they understand you requirements . We might have been unluc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#225 of 516 in Barcelona
499 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#158 of 516 in Barcelona
687 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#179 of 516 in Barcelona
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#23 of 516 in Barcelona
261 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 516 in Barcelona
4,553 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#207 of 516 in Barcelona
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lleo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lleo Hotel

Address: Carrer de Pelai 22-24, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $77 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lleo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Lleo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lleo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing