We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Breakfast”
Review of Moderno Hotel Bcn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Ranked #347 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Room size was just right, and bed were comfortable for night sleeping, though not big enough to consider luxury. The full English Breakfast is very impressive, plenty of food, drinks and fruits to please your morning hunger. Location is good, it is close to La Rambla main road, but my advice is not to walk further inside the small lane, as there are many pick-pocket guys eyeing for tourists. My wallet was snatched by a young man who pretended to show me a card and insisted me to visit some drinking stall, despite I had ignored his invitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williamtan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Moderno Hotel Bcn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 807 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Average European hotel in an very good location and with an excellent staff. The complimentary breakfast was very good and offered plenty of hot choices. The metro stop is not far and there are plenty of dining options nearby. We would stay here again. Bring ear plugs for street noise, Barcelonans party all night long.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs for street noise
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arizona_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My family stayed at the family suite - 4 single beds with 2 in the middle pushed together.

The beds were comfortable but very close to each other. This may be because they squeezed 4 beds into a normal room - this is my guess since the 2 beds in the middle had the bed side lamps located at where our heads would be.

Breakfast was good - there was a buffet with choice of breads, hams, eggs, coffee/tea/juices.

Location was great - near La Rambla. However, beware of pickpockets and people who approach you with flyers/cards along La Rambla. My dad spoke with some of these people and had his wallet taken after they distracted him.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryltzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

rather basic but family-friendly, has all you need, super helpful reception staff.
breakfast was plentiful and had good variety.
nice, clean bathroom in good working order.
my only (minor) complaint is that the mattress was a little on the under-padded side. but such is a matter of personal preference, i guess.
location is ideal but intermittent nightly party noises goes with the territory so bring your earplugs.

Room Tip: 214, largeish 2-bedder w. french balcony & excellent bathroom
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We read the previous reviews on this hotel and we were a little apprehensive but there was no need at all. This hotel is smack bang in the middle of La Ramblas what a fab location. Yes it was a little noisy for us as we had a room at the front of the hotel but lets face it if you want to be in the middle of everything in a busy city then that is to be expected! I am talking about outside noise we did not hear any noise in the hotel at all. My friends had a room to the back of the hotel and they never heard a thing but then they didn't have a view either. Rooms are a little dated but very clean and both our rooms were fairly spacious. The bathroom was a good size and the water HOT. Breakfast was ideal what you would expect for a continental and plenty to choose from. The staff were very helpful and really nice. We had no complaints at all, this place is perfect for what a city break I would come again and I would recommend and what great value for money!

Room Tip: If you dont want to hear outside noise request a room to the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

it is said to be 3 star hotel, but in my terms can not worth it. my room was too small even smaller than the bathroom, has a window directly looking at a wall, extremely overpriced, noisy at night.

breakfast was average, you have better choices in la rambla.

only advantage of this hotel is its location, few steps away from la rambla, nothing else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akgunduz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#132 of 513 in Barcelona
1,187 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#315 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#286 of 513 in Barcelona
953 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#221 of 513 in Barcelona
488 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#233 of 513 in Barcelona
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderno Hotel Bcn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderno Hotel Bcn

Address: C/ Hospital N 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $77 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderno Hotel Bcn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderno has a central location, on a side street just 20 metres from Barcelona's famous Las Ramblas. It offers free breakfast and free Wi-Fi access throughout. All rooms at the Moderno are heated, air conditioned and soundproofed. There is also cable TV, a fridge, private bathroom with toiletries, hair drier and a magnifying mirror. FREE LUGAGGE STORAGE! FREE WATER BOILER! 15% DISCOUNT IN ALL "CULLERA DE BOIX" RESTAURANTS! The hotel is just a short walk from the Boquería Market on La Rambla. Plaza de Catalunya and the city's cathedral are just a few minutes' walk away. We are also very close to the Cruises terminal. The hotel's City Tour offer is ideal for exploring the city. There is also a ticket service. The 2 computers in the lobby can be used for free. The Moderno has a 24-hour front desk and offers express check-in and check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Moderno Hotel Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Barcelona
Moderno Hotel Bcn Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing