We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - Location - Location”
Review of Moderno Hotel Bcn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Ranked #364 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As told by everyone - this is the place to be located in Barcelona - everything you want to visit is just outside...the rooms are ok and clean - the breakfast just sufficient and nice (just make sure you are slightly early). Once we did and once we didnt :)
The best part about the hotel is the reception staff - they so brillantly helpful :) :) including offering how to go / where to go - absolutely brillant :) :)
btw you should try the restuarant next door for its Paellea and Suckling Pig :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 832 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had missed my flight and spent ages walking around the P de G where my last hotel was, this was because they were all 4* and expensive, so having walked down to Ramblas i came across this place, the room was very small (a single) but clean and the staff were friendly, they also have free internet which was a bonus, all in all i guess it was ok for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovejumping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

excellent location,on La Ramblas,very near to metro, It was very noisy all through the night but
slept with patio doors slightly open so it was my fault.
The hotel is basic but clean and beds were comfy,the breakfast was plenty.The staff were very helpful & couldn't do enough for us.
There is a restaurant belonging to the hotel,next door if you eat there,you get a 10% discount. The restaurant is very good,we had 2 good meals there.reasonably priced.
We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it very much.
Lorna Hall
,

Room Tip: I e-mailed hotel and asked if i could have a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location of Moderno is wonderful. On the edge of El Gothic, La Rambla and a metro stop just meters from the hotel. The street positioning is fantastic, just off Rambla, minimal street noise!

The rooms themselves are ok! Our room was on the 4th floor; quite large, but an inward facing room to the ‘light chute’, having just the one frosted window. The worst thing about this room was the ventilation. The bathroom gets incredibly stuffy, with no fans. The in room air conditioning managed to keep the room at a comfortable warmth, but not cool. As we were on the top floor, our room also got very hot, and with only 1 room key, keeping the air-con on while we were out was not an option. The hotel lift was sometimes frightening with some very special "sound effects".

The breakfast was good. The same variety daily. The dining hall is quite small, and would be completely full at 10am. We overheard the waitress telling people to come earlier and then they wouldn’t have a problem getting a table. Not the ideal response, understandable in the waitress’s shoes, but in the tourists, the hotel should cater for more tables in this area.

Despite all this, the hotels receptionist was absolutely WONDERFUL! Always wishing us a great day, knowing bus numbers off by heart. Ask her a question, you’ll get the most detailed response! The knowledge was incredible, so easy and friendly! Was just lovely! This is by far the greatest reason why I would return to this hotel. The charm of this hotel is great!

I really enjoyed my stay here and wouldn’t hesitate staying here again, just fix the lift and the bathroom ventilation!

Room Tip: The higher floor you are, the hotter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srokaexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

In hindsight I should have upgraded from the depressing single room which overlooked the middle of the building. In saying that though what better reason to stay out and explore the city to all hours, great location near Las Ramblas, nice buffet breakfast, no street noise what so ever and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank noodles_181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very nice hotel near the Rambla.
the service at the Hotel was very very good and pleasant.
The beds are a little bit hard with feathers. But the rest was exelent!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#198 of 517 in Barcelona
1,002 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#283 of 517 in Barcelona
980 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#319 of 517 in Barcelona
372 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#358 of 517 in Barcelona
147 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#222 of 517 in Barcelona
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderno Hotel Bcn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderno Hotel Bcn

Address: C/ Hospital N 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $50 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderno Hotel Bcn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderno has a central location, on a side street just 20 metres from Barcelona's famous Las Ramblas. It offers free breakfast and free Wi-Fi access throughout. All rooms at the Moderno are heated, air conditioned and soundproofed. There is also cable TV, a fridge, private bathroom with toiletries, hair drier and a magnifying mirror. FREE LUGAGGE STORAGE! FREE WATER BOILER! 15% DISCOUNT IN ALL "CULLERA DE BOIX" RESTAURANTS! The hotel is just a short walk from the Boquería Market on La Rambla. Plaza de Catalunya and the city's cathedral are just a few minutes' walk away. We are also very close to the Cruises terminal. The hotel's City Tour offer is ideal for exploring the city. There is also a ticket service. The 2 computers in the lobby can be used for free. The Moderno has a 24-hour front desk and offers express check-in and check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moderno Hotel Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Barcelona
Moderno Hotel Bcn Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing