We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday trip to barcalona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moderno Hotel Bcn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Ranked #326 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“birthday trip to barcalona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

excellent location,on La Ramblas,very near to metro, It was very noisy all through the night but
slept with patio doors slightly open so it was my fault.
The hotel is basic but clean and beds were comfy,the breakfast was plenty.The staff were very helpful & couldn't do enough for us.
There is a restaurant belonging to the hotel,next door if you eat there,you get a 10% discount. The restaurant is very good,we had 2 good meals there.reasonably priced.
We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it very much.
Lorna Hall
,

Room Tip: I e-mailed hotel and asked if i could have a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    342
    163
    61
    31
See reviews for
208
233
57
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location of Moderno is wonderful. On the edge of El Gothic, La Rambla and a metro stop just meters from the hotel. The street positioning is fantastic, just off Rambla, minimal street noise!

The rooms themselves are ok! Our room was on the 4th floor; quite large, but an inward facing room to the ‘light chute’, having just the one frosted window. The worst thing about this room was the ventilation. The bathroom gets incredibly stuffy, with no fans. The in room air conditioning managed to keep the room at a comfortable warmth, but not cool. As we were on the top floor, our room also got very hot, and with only 1 room key, keeping the air-con on while we were out was not an option. The hotel lift was sometimes frightening with some very special "sound effects".

The breakfast was good. The same variety daily. The dining hall is quite small, and would be completely full at 10am. We overheard the waitress telling people to come earlier and then they wouldn’t have a problem getting a table. Not the ideal response, understandable in the waitress’s shoes, but in the tourists, the hotel should cater for more tables in this area.

Despite all this, the hotels receptionist was absolutely WONDERFUL! Always wishing us a great day, knowing bus numbers off by heart. Ask her a question, you’ll get the most detailed response! The knowledge was incredible, so easy and friendly! Was just lovely! This is by far the greatest reason why I would return to this hotel. The charm of this hotel is great!

I really enjoyed my stay here and wouldn’t hesitate staying here again, just fix the lift and the bathroom ventilation!

Room Tip: The higher floor you are, the hotter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srokaexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

In hindsight I should have upgraded from the depressing single room which overlooked the middle of the building. In saying that though what better reason to stay out and explore the city to all hours, great location near Las Ramblas, nice buffet breakfast, no street noise what so ever and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodles_181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very nice hotel near the Rambla.
the service at the Hotel was very very good and pleasant.
The beds are a little bit hard with feathers. But the rest was exelent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was a big disappointment, and I cannot understand why it received good reviews. We spent 3 nights here in a cramped room with minimally satisfactory accomodations. The bathtowels were paper thin, no washcloths and we received a disk of soap that was one inch in diameter. The tub wall was very high & made for dangerous entry & exit. The half panel protective glass did not deter the water from soaking the bathroom floor. The small satellite TV received one English channel - SKY news. When we asked for extra towels, we were told they ran out. Also, the air conditioning proved useless as it blew tepid air into the claustrophic room all night and hummed loudly. We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in hostels that are better than this.

On the good side, Eli at the desk was very helpful. If you absolutely must stay near Las Ramblas the location is very good. Also, the breakfast buffet was good and plentiful, offering a wide selection of fruits, breads, eggs, yogurt, etc. If you are under 50 years and in good health, then Hotel Moderno may not be so bad. However, if you are over 50 and/or face any physical challenges, pass this one by. I state this because in spite of having an elevator there are six additional stairs on each floor you must climb, depending on which room you get. The name should be changed to Hotel Minimalismo.

Room Tip: Don't take a room that ends in "10" or "02" since they are inside and face a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#291 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
Hesperia Ramblas
Hesperia Ramblas
#159 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#223 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#210 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#308 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderno Hotel Bcn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderno Hotel Bcn

Property: Moderno Hotel Bcn
Address: C/ Hospital N 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderno Hotel Bcn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderno has a central location, on a side street just 20 metres from Barcelona's famous Las Ramblas. It offers free breakfast and free Wi-Fi access throughout. All rooms at the Moderno are heated, air conditioned and soundproofed. There is also cable TV, a fridge, private bathroom with toiletries, hair drier and a magnifying mirror. FREE LUGAGGE STORAGE! FREE WATER BOILER! 15% DISCOUNT IN ALL "CULLERA DE BOIX" RESTAURANTS! The hotel is just a short walk from the Boquería Market on La Rambla. Plaza de Catalunya and the city's cathedral are just a few minutes' walk away. We are also very close to the Cruises terminal. The hotel's City Tour offer is ideal for exploring the city. There is also a ticket service. The 2 computers in the lobby can be used for free. The Moderno has a 24-hour front desk and offers express check-in and check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moderno Hotel Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Barcelona
Moderno Hotel Bcn Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing