We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, small room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Gravina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grupotel Gravina
Ranked #225 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, small room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel located within walking distance to 2 subway stops and Ramblas. We had selected an inexpensive room. The room was small but clean. Staff was always helpful! We were out most of the day so was not a problem. Poorly designed shower as it got water all over bath if you were not careful. Would stay there again just because of location. Very small elevators.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank D Ford S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    460
    153
    60
    30
See reviews for
210
402
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just returned from Barcelona . There were 5 of us staying in 2 rooms on arrival at midday we were pleased to find one room ready so we could go and explore. We were on the 4th floor at front and back of hotel we didn't have any problem with noise. The double beds are two singles pushed together. The staff are very friendly and helpful .We had breakfast which is a buffet style with good selections. Free Wi-Fi worked in our room which pleased our son.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Whenever we go to Barcelona, we stay at this hotel. It's in a perfect location, not far from the main sights such as the Ramblas. The staff are really friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean and it is the only hotel I know where you are welcomed upon arrival with a free glass of Cava (Catalan champagne)!

The room we had was an interior room so very quiet. It had both a bath and a shower. What we really liked was that there was a sheet under the continental quilt on the bed, which was very useful as it was quite hot. The air conditioning in the rooms is effective and easy to use. There are also two pillows per person to choose from. It is worth noting, though, that the room safe costs about 2 euros extra per day.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Dawnand Stevein Leeds,

It has been a pleasure to read your kind review. Thank you so much!

We hope to welcome you really soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
491 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

perfekt situated close to university and pl catalunya.

modern installations and rooms, one part of rooms are real small like ours: a spacy bed fills up 50% of the room! would never suggest it if you feel sort of claustrofobic! next time same hotel but bigger room!

Room Tip: each floor 4 minirooms-kinz size bed, 4 double rooms and 4 balkony rooms so chose - price of cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is the location , very central just round the corner from Las Ramblas. I have never in my life been in such a small hotel room, no place to put your luggage, we paid in advance but were quite willing to just walk away, unfortunately could not get booked into another hotel. After a full day sightseeing you want to relax in your room, this is something you could not do, it was very claustrophobic, it is also way too expensive for what you get, take my advice give this one a miss. Staff were pleasant, they did give us another room, it was not any bigger, but better layout, we had to leave one of our suitcases in the bathroom, no room in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Alison P,
First of all thank you to take part of your time to write about your stay with us.
We have several room types at the hotel, some bigger than other, with different prices. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. However, we always try to do all our best for our clients and, when you contacted front desk they offered you the best option available at that time.
Thank you again for your time, your opinion help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Cosy rooms, great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Though the rooms were a bit smaller, the location of the hotel is compensating this fault. We spent whole day on the streets of Barcelona and our hotel was just five-ten minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaneur_sipsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Tirane, Albania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at Grupotel for one night at the start of a four week trip through Europe. All I can say is that if I had had to stay more than one night I would not have stayed. The room was TINY -- there was a twin bed, shoved against one wall, with about enough room to get into bed on the other side. No place to put luggage. And worst of all -- NO WINDOW!!

When I booked the room, the description noted "a window onto an interior patio" (or something like that). That is an exaggeration -- the window did not open and as far as I could tell what was behind the window was an air shaft. At night it was rather creepy as there was a bright light coming from the air shaft.

Also you have to climb a set of stairs to get to the room I had, which was not mentioned in the description. Plus no one helps you with your luggage.

On the plus side, the reception staff was quite nice as was the bartender at the small cafe in the lobby. And given that the room was an "interior room," it was dead quiet at night -- but this also was a bit creepy -- between the light from the air shaft and no noise it was like being in a cell rather than a hotel room.

All in all Grupotel Gravina feels more like a hostel than a hotel and it is WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what you get. On my return I booked a room at another hotel near this one that was excellent -- large room, rooftop bar, great amenities -- and it was less expensive than Grupotel Gravina.

Bottom line: Look elsewhere even if you are in Barcelona for only one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#238 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#162 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#211 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#128 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#166 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#170 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gravina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gravina

Property: Grupotel Gravina
Address: Gravina 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly H10 Gravina)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Gravina 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Grupotel Gravina is located in a quiet street in the centre of Barcelona only 300 meters from the centre and the famous Plaça Catalunya, the nerve centre of the city. The Grupotel Gravina is a 19th century building that was refurbished in 2013 and has a façade listed as being of architectural interest.The hotel has two meeting rooms, one with a capacity for 44 people and the other for 55 people. Grupotel Gravina is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grupotel Gravina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gravina Barcelona
Grupotel Gravina Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing