We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Grupotel Gravina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grupotel Gravina
Ranked #217 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Central location near university area. Short walk (5-20 mins) to Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas, old city, many other sites and restaurants. We paid extra €20 for larger room with balcony which was well worth it. Bathroom also good size. Air conditioning worked though probably needs updating. Staff very helpful and booked bus, Gaudi and Food and Wine tours for us. Breakfast area and food choices good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicity M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    472
    155
    60
    31
See reviews for
215
411
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Prefect location. Staff lovely and helpful, rooms nice and clean. Free wi fi and as we were on the first floor, worked in the room!
Breakfast great, got busy, but stil great.
Placa de catalunya, Ramblas and a metro stop all minutes away. Metro was perfect to get to the beaches if you don't fancy the walk.
Found a lovely little place to eat and drink around the corner Bar Estudianil ... Better quality food and much much cheaper than Ramblas. Head to Borne district, lovely little tapas bars.
And take a little Rickshaw ride from the bottom of Ramblas, the guys are great!!
All in all perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmBRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear EmBRaz,
We are really happy to read how perfect was your stay in Grupotel Gravina. It is a great satisfaction for all of us to know that you really enjoyed.
Thank you to take part of your time to write this nice review!
We really hope to welcome you back in a future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at the Gravina. Room was small but very clean and modern. Located in an ideal area for sightseeing or a visit to the beach, with Metro stations close by. Serena and staff very helpful. Would return on a future visit and recommend to others. We did not eat at the hotel as there are plenty of cafes and restaurants to chose from. A good breakfast is available at Viena just around the corner from the hotel ands is reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location, AC rooms, and staff makes this hotel great! Annika and Serena in the front were so friendly, helpful, and very accommodating with all local, sight-seeing, and all other inquiries. Free wi-fi, quiet, and well-lit, we will def. stay in an upcoming trip within this chain hotel.

Room Tip: If traveling with family or as a group, ask for rooms next to each other. Middle rooms seem to be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear E H,
We really appreciate to read your beautiful review about your stay in Grupotel Gravina.
We know our staff makes the most and we are happy to know how guests value that.
Serena and Annica enjoy doing their best.
Thank you for your time and do not hesitate to visit us again in a future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August this year! Fernando and the rest of the staff were so friendly and helpful for recommending safe places to o and nice beaches to go to etc... The food was lovely for breakfast and the hotel is in a perfect location so close to les rambles but away enough for a quiet night. Would definitely go back!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Hannah W,
We are really happy to read how much you appreciate our staff service and breakfast.
On behalf of all the staff and Fernando, thank you to share your nice opinion with the rest of travellers.
We hope to accommodate you again in a future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We reached Barcelona from Valencia by train at around 10 am. Reached hotel by 11 am. Despite early check in request in the booking, there was no mention of it and we were told that the room shall be allotted after 2 or 3 pm. The reception staff suggested that we may take a tour bus ticket, which they sell there only, and leave the luggage in the left luggage room, and promised to keep our room ready when we come back after sightseeing. It was our first trip to Barcelona and we did not want to waste any time waiting for room so we jumped upon the offer and bought tour tickets and left. The location is very central and just walking distance to Catelunya Square which is the starting point for all tours. We came back to the hotel at about 11 pm and were dead tired. We were given the room in another wing of the hotel for which two chages of elevators and a flight of stairs was involved. On asking for a room in the main hotel building, we were told it is not available. On repeated requests we were told that if we wanted we can leave the hotel booking and stay on the street but there would be no refund.
Upon checking into the room, we were very tired and were busy having bath etc. After which, we found that the airconditioning was not working. We waited for some time thinking it may work but after waiting for two hrs we informed the front desk. The person on duty came to check and confirmed that it was not working and can be rectified only in the morning, when the technician comes as he is only in day duty.
There was no fan in the room and July beginning it was really hot in Barcelona. We asked to be shifted to another room, to be told that the similar category room was not available and we can go for a lower category (Much smaller) room, but were informed as ours was a prepaid booking, there can not be any refund of difference.
Finally the person in charge gave us the the smaller room for the night to sleep and told me that we will be shifted to another room in the morning.
Next day we woke up around 8 am and got little sleep due to all the confusion. We hurried to the breakfast and moved back to larger room where our luggage was kept. (The smaller room had no space at all, the door of the room could be opened only partially as it used to hit the bed on opening, see photos titled smaller room, hence we decided to not shift to this completely)
By 9: 30 we were ready after bath and breakfast to change the room. On calling the reception, the technician came and started the aircon asking us not to touch the control panel. After 15 minutes, again the aircon stopped working. I went to the frontdesk and requested for a room change as I cannot call the technician again and again, and also as he is not there when most needed (Night time).
Despite calling the reception again and again, it was almost noon, by the time room was changed to the adjacent one.
Our there hours were wasted in this and we were so bugged by that time that we just dumped the luggage in the room and left to make up for the lost time. We came back at about 1 am after long day of sightseeing. To our horror, we discovered that again the aircon was not working. Again we complained and luckily the same person was on duty and we were lucky to have another empty room of smaller category and he was kind enough to provide us the same for sleeping. However, one more gentleman came with same complain but as there was only one room which he had already given to us, nothing could be done for him.
In the morning, during checkout, I raised the issue with manager, who came to the room to check the aircon with the technician (who is there only in daytime). He asked the technician to switch on the aircon, which he did by some magical touch.
I would like to add here that I am pretty handy with the modern devices and can easily perform minor repairs at home. But still I could not start the aircon using the panel.
Queries to Managemnet of hotel:
1. If the airconditioning of certain rooms can be made to work only by technician, why is he only in day duty.
2. If the aircon panel is not to be touched, what am I supposed to do if I feel the need to adjust the temperature at night. What is the purpose of the individual controls in the room.
3. Why the hotel website does not say anything about the hotel rooms being in another building and the two elevators, long winding way with a flight of stairs leading to the other wing.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShalIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We first visited this hotel 12 years ago and were not disappointed on our return visit with 2 children in tow. Located down a quiet street just a short walk from La Rambla. A clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms not particularly big and no view from our room but we were only sleeping here so not an issue. Complimentary cava and buffet in the afternoon was a nice touch. Lovely breakfast with loads of choice. I'm sure we will return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#211 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#165 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#218 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#139 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#196 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#234 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gravina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gravina

Property: Grupotel Gravina
Address: Gravina 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly H10 Gravina)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Gravina 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Grupotel Gravina is located in a quiet street in the centre of Barcelona only 300 meters from the centre and the famous Plaça Catalunya, the nerve centre of the city. The Grupotel Gravina is a 19th century building that was refurbished in 2013 and has a façade listed as being of architectural interest.The hotel has two meeting rooms, one with a capacity for 44 people and the other for 55 people. Grupotel Gravina is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grupotel Gravina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gravina Barcelona
Grupotel Gravina Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing