We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location and friendly, informative staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Consell, Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Consell, Guest House
Ranked #18 of 744 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly, informative staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We chose Casa Consell for our sorry break to Barcelona and were not disappointed.

Upon check out we were given a warm welcome and an overview of what was on offer in the local area.

The room was basic and clean. Worthy note us there is no safe or air conditioning in the room, but shutters and decent windows that keep the heat outside. We were given two sets of keys for the three of us which worked out well.

Finally the location is excellent, very close to the city centre with all of its offerings.

Helpful?
Thank CJayHH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    112
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
97
83
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is the only place to stay in Barcelona! Just of Passeig De Gracia it is located in the center of the city, very close to restaurants and the metro line- however as it is just tucked away it is very quiet and peaceful. Although the security in Barcelona is often questioned, here you feel that you and your belongings are safe- not worrying about leaving the windows open at night. The rooms are lovely and clean, along with the bathrooms, which although are shared, had no wait for them with three next door to our room. The kitchen is well equipped with fridge space and a lovely continental breakfast to start the day. Staff are lovely; very welcoming and friendly. Overall a brilliant place to stay- can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catmay93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I booked accommodation here on the basis of the reviews it received on TA. I wasn't disappointed. My husband & I stayed 5 nts in an ensuite room (Rm 6) in mid-June. I received a reminder email including directions on the metro lines. The email should've also said that CC is located on the first floor/Principal (a small elevator is available). Anyway, check-in was smooth with Stewart. So much is said of security in Barcelona - well, the suburb of L'Eixample was very kind to us - we were able to take full advantage of an open window at night for comfort & we felt secure at all times. An overhead fan was invaluable. No complaints about the bedroom or ensuite. Sleep quality was good - we may have been disturbed by some night owls returning from a night of carousing or by some folk having early showers for early departures - but that was momentary. Continental b/f is provided - tea/coffee, cereal, juice, bread & spreads. Guests have the full use of the kitchen & they are allocated space in the refrigerator as well. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfasting in the fresh air on the terrace. Only a short walk to Passaig de Gracia metro station (which links to other lines) as well as to the train station which connects with T2 at the Airport. Also a short walk to La Sagrada Familia, La Rambla, Placa Catalunya. And CC is well located - close to supermarkets as well as a couple of large markets, good restaurants & a laundromat is close by. Good wifi & a couple of computers are available for guests' use as well. But best of all, the welcoming & helpful staff members are always available/ready to assist with recommendations & advice. A fabulous finale to our Spanish holiday! Highly recommended & a huge thanks to Stewart, Luz, Francisco & the rest of the team!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Everyone at Casa Consell makes you feel this way all the time (even after checkout!). Fab facilities incl. cooking area, fantastic common area, great location 1 minute from surface and metro, 2 minutes to La Ramblas and markets, 5 minutes to Ravell (the most interesting area for us), 10 minute walk to Sagrada Família and Gaudi stuff. Wifi could be reliable on the upper floor, but hey , we would like to recommend Casa Consell as highly as possible. Can't wait to get back ...

Room Tip: We like very much the double rooms (x2) with balconies to the street ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selfhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We look for simple, clean, inexpensive, reliable accommodations close to where we want to be. Casa Consell fit those needs perfectly. The kitchen was easy to use and common area was peaceful. What we didn't expect was a staff that was so helpful and accommodating to our modest needs towards orientation, wifi, ticketing and the like. Thanks for the tips to Luc (?sp pronounced 'Loose') for sights and food. This location, close to the Gaudi sites and Ramblas makes sightseeing a real ease.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrillsOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Casa Consell for a total of 5 nights with a group of 8 people. First of all they were very helpful and warm throughout the reservation process because we had to change pur reservation many times. They were very kind as to receive our luggage before we arrived because we had to be at the Barcelona match and time was critical. Throughout pur stay the Casa Consell team was fantastic. The rooms are very cozy and there are options for different types of groups. Breakfast is good and the kitchen is always clean in case you want to use it. The common areas (living room, dining room and terrace) are super cozy too. They are very well located for many things: shopping, sightseeing, walking around, restaurants, etc. I want to thank Amparo, Fran, Lucas, Stewart and Luz For their warmth!!! I will definetly come back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaBracho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My second visit this time with 2 friends. Accommodation the same high standard as for our family visit in 2013. Warm welcome from friendly helpful staff. Enjoyed the 'home from home' atmosphere with other guests. Weather pleasant enough to make use of the charming terrace. Advice and assistance booking trips invaluable. Staff particularly helpful with unfortunate incident of phone theft. Look forward to going again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSpeller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#42 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#12 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden
Barcelona Central Garden
#5 of 744 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Consell, Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Consell, Guest House

Property: Casa Consell, Guest House
Address: Consell de Cent 324 Principal 2a, Entre Paseo de Gracia y Pau Claris, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 744 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm place hosted by its owners, where everything has been thought and designed to make you feel at home away from home. Casa Consell is situated in the city center, next to Paseo de Gracia's famous street where you can find Gaudi's arquitecture such as Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. You can also find Gaudi's emblematic cathedral, La Sagrada Familia, just 15 minutes away. Professional service, comfort and friendly atmosphere as are our keys to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Consell, Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Consell, Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing