We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Consell, Guest House
Ranked #15 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thoroughly worth every penny!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Casa Consell is one of the best places I have stayed in! It is very homely and really does feel like a home away from home! It has a lovely terrace and every part of the guest house is decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast is simple but still a bit of choice. Its in a good location too- very close to a central metro station, and a lot lot of shops and restaurants within a very short walking distance. The staff are all lovely and very helpful; they will help out by recommending local places to visit. It's really good value for money and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    137
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
118
102
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very charming, decorated with taste and a lot of attention to details, felt warm and cosy.
Breakfast simple but good, lovely terrace, too bad it was quite chilly in the morning so we couldn't take advantage of it.The staff very friendly and helpful.The only downside were perhaps the thin walls - we could hear people taking shower or slamming the doors just as if they were in our room. In general I strongly recommend this place to all those who seek peace and homely atmosphere.Turned out to be the best hostel I've ever stayed at so far!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MufloneMilanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in quite a few hostels and this one was rather different! Feels a bit more like living as a local in your own Spanish apartment as my single room was on a diff level to main living areas, with different key entrance. Great location for a hostel, right near key attractions and cafes and shops, great lounge & outdoor area, great free breakfast and friendly hosts, but single room was dark and the size of a cupboard! Very noisy also, not from parties but thin walls etc. bathrooms were very clean though and great showers. If you literally want to lay your head then get out & explore (or hang out in lounge area) it's fine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Casa Consell is NOT the most expensive place I have stayed during all my travels. On the contrary, it's one of the cheapest (20 euros per night for a single room) but has wound up being my most favorite accommodation to date. It's a stone's throw away from Passeig de Gràcia where Casa Batlló and La Pedrera are situated (you can shop until you drop at the likes of Chanel, Ferragamo, Dolce & Gabbana etc to boot). It was spotless. However, the reason why I fell in love with Casa Consell is it made me feel like I was in my future apartment. I love the sun-drenched living room and the terrace, both of which are exactly what I have in mind for mine. The kitchen was spotless and spacious. I will definitely stay here again when I revisit Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confused20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriends for 3 nights. The staff here are super friendly and helpful. THey speak english as well as Spanish. They also made suggestions of where to go, how to plan the weekend according to the weather. They also offer a free walking tour everyday which is a great option for people who just want an intro to the town. The location of the hostal is perfect! It's super close to Casa Batllo and in a very safe, beautiful area.

We booked a private room and also a private bathroom. It was only a little extra for the bathroom and worth it. The room and bathrooms were very clean. They provide towels and a hair dryer. Don't forget to bring all your shampoos/conditioner toiletries. The common area is always very clean.

It was never super super busy in the common areas. They provide toast and cereal and coffee/tea/juice for breakfast till 11. We didn't really have problems with noise which was good. And The terrace area was amazing today with the sunshine it's a super nice area to just relax. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank internationalworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hostel has great location. Close to subway and main historical places. Price is good. They present wifi and breakfast. Rooms and baths are clean. Only problem at nights hotel may a bit noisy. I stayed two nights and both nights are noisy. It is agood idea to bring ear plugs. Moreover single room is a bit small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gradot-e-Nem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Casa Consell is an excellent place to enjoy Barcelona and rest easy. It is a warm & friendly and it has very helpful staff.
The rooms are spacious and clean, and a very bright breakfast room. The atmosphere is relaxed and calm, almost familiar.
The location is great, close to the metro and the main avenues of the city.
I recommend it!

Room Tip: The twins rooms are quite big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicocampo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
340 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#5 of 728 in Barcelona
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Consell, Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Consell, Guest House

Property: Casa Consell, Guest House
Address: Consell del Consell de cent, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 728 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Consell, Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm place hosted by its owners, where everything has been thought and designed to make you feel at home away from home. Casa Consell is situated in the city center, next to Paseo de Gracia's famous street where you can find Gaudi's arquitecture such as Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. You can also find Gaudi's emblematic cathedral, La Sagrada Familia, just 15 minutes away. Professional service, comfort and friendly atmosphere as are our keys to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Consell, Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Consell, Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing