We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically friendly, shame about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Consell, Guest House
Ranked #17 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We received a warm and friendly welcome. The owner is a lovely person and everybody else of her staff was also extremely helpful. We could ask them for advice and help, they never got tired of our questions. The communal area is cosy and attractive with free WIFI and computers to use. The simple breakfast was all we needed and we liked it. The location is very central, close to all attractions and the way to either underground or train station is just 2 minutes away. The downside was our room: it was pretty terrible: so tiny, you could not swing a cat in it and with no natural light. Also, as it was situated between two bathrooms, we could follow exactly the bath habits of the other guests all too closely. When someone decided to take a bath at 1.30 in the morning, it sounded like standing next to the Niagara Falls. Although we did not spend much time in our room (that's not what we'd come for, obviously), it still put a slight downer on our experience with Casa Consell. There are better rooms available, we just were unlucky with the straw!

Room Tip: Tell them you do not want No. 6!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kay63170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Casa Consell, Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 465 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

After my friend booked all the accommodation for our trip, it was a great treat to end up in such a lovely place. Great staff, lovely rooms, great locations and not bad on the purse strings. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess_Faff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our stay at Casa Consell was a very enjoyable one, and one definitely enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. It has a feeling of a place made for travelers as there are guidebooks, travel books, and maps all over. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the simple breakfast provided was the perfect way to start the day. Everyone we came across that worked there was more than happy to give us directions or suggestions on what to do during the day or night. The location is also very good, just far enough off the Passeig de Gràcia to be quiet but close enough for walking to restaurants and metro stops. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent four nights at the end of February-March. The room was very pleasant. We received a very warm welcome from the team. In addition to this, Casa Consell is very well located, close to all tourist attractions.
WIFI is free to stay in touch during the stay and the breakfast is very decent. Don't hesitate to ask them to recommend for sights to visit or for good restaurants and tapas bars. They will tell you the places with passion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThierryRatovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of February with 3 friends. We booked two twin rooms which were lovely and clean. We received a very friendly welcome and the host Francisco went out of his way to make sure that we had everything we needed including a loan of a brolly when it started to rain. We stayed on the 2nd floor but the steps were not steep and there was a lift which proved very entertaining "watching people press the wrong button and shoot past you on to the wrong floor". Location very close to all the main attraction (especially the shops on the passage de gracia). Especially liked the free wifi so I could keep checking my emails. The tour bus was at the end of the street which was particularly good for getting around and seeing everything in a short stay, Breakfast of cereal, juice and toast was a suprise extra as the cost of the room was so cheap. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a great stay at Casa Consell! We booked a twin room with ensuite and were given what is essentially a quad room (with 4 beds) with ensuite. Fine with us! Location is excellent, just off Passeig de Gracia and short walk to the metro stop, as well as Casa Batllo.

Room was clean and bathroom was clean, but note there was no room cleaning service - we stayed for 5 nights and there was no change of towels and bins were not emptied for the entire stay. That didn't bother us too much as we really only expected "hostal" standard anyway (indeed, as we booked the room through hostalworld.com!). They did provide a hairdryer however which was great (but other than that, no bathroom amenities).

Breakfast was decent enough, bread/toast, cereals, cakes, juice, coffee/tea....

One of the hosts, Francisco, was very friendly and helpful, from the time we were booking our room to the day we left. He was always happy to give us travel tips and made us felt very welcomed.

Only thing that stopped me from giving this a 5-star rating was that the wifi, although free, often dropped out and it was somewhat difficult to reconnect at times. Also, although the breakfast was supposed to start at 8am, one morning we woke early to start breakfast at 8am sharp (as we needed to catch an early train), only to find that the breakfast spready was not ready yet......

All in all however a pleasant stay and would choose Casa Consell again if we were in town next!

NB - this is not strictly related to the Casa Consell itself, but if you are going to stay here and happen to be looking for food around the area, DO NOT go to Tapa Tapa on the corner of Passeig de Gracia simply out of convenience and thought it looked good with bright decor!! It was one of the worst meals I had in Barcelona - it was not cheap, food was less than average, service was not good (although subsequent waiters were better, the first waitress refused to sit us inside despite many tables available and insisted that we could only sit at the bar next to the open glass entrance where it was windy and cold - we then asked another waiter who took us to a table inside, so what the?), and the table next to ours actually complained and walked out without touching their food. Horrendous!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePilgrim168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at Casa Consell for a long weekend trip to Barcelona. The hotel is centrally located to shops, restaurants, La Ramblas, and public transportation. I felt very safe walking in the area alone and in the evening. The morning breakfast was standard but a great start to the day. I stayed in the single room. It is tiny but right across from the bathrooms in the hallway. The tenant next door is a bit noisy but the noise stopped after 8:30/9pm. I like that I had free access to the kitchen on the main floor and the 2nd floor. I even had my own shelf in the refrigerator. I only had to wait a few minutes in the morning for the bathrooms. I loved the terrace. Had it been warmer, I certainly would have taken advantage of the space. The staff was great. They were extremely resourceful and accommodating. I would highly recommend Casa Consell to my fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
372 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#20 of 732 in Barcelona
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Consell, Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Consell, Guest House

Address: Consell del Consell de cent, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 732 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $162 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Consell, Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm place hosted by its owners, where everything has been thought and designed to make you feel at home away from home. Casa Consell is situated in the city center, next to Paseo de Gracia's famous street where you can find Gaudi's arquitecture such as Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. You can also find Gaudi's emblematic cathedral, La Sagrada Familia, just 15 minutes away. Professional service, comfort and friendly atmosphere as are our keys to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Consell, Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Consell, Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing