We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, no frills, ok for a night.”
Review of Operaramblas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Operaramblas
Ranked #50 of 305 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
272 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Great value, no frills, ok for a night.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel! Last minute I decided to arrive a day early in Barcelona and the price at the hotel I booked (NH Numancia) more than doubled! It is cheap, clean, with aircon. The aircon is noisy and you can hear your neighbours bang their doors but nothing my earplugs can't fix. With the price and superb location in Las Ramblas, it's good value. I wont stay more than a couple of nights though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    258
    107
    34
    22
See reviews for
60
207
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This "hostel" feels more like a no-frills hotel. It is located a short walk (3 minutes) off the Ramblas. As Rick Steves pointed out, the street it is on isn't one of the best, but it is fine.

I stayed here for three nights in August 2012 in a single bed room. The room was as expected - single bed, AC, ensuite bathroom with sink and shower. There was really not much character in this hotel at all. Barren white walls were the theme. I found that when I walked around my room after taking a shower, my feet became dirty from the grime on the floor of the room.

There is no wifi in the rooms, which I found annoying, though there is wifi in a character-less lounge next to reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corndog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Great spot, clean rooms, nice bathroom, easy check-in. Only complaint was the 2 single beds (which are in every hotel in Spain) were placed head to toe so couldn't push them together. Such a good location though so great value!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Writing on behalf of my daughter. Though first time hostal experience she was pleasantly surprised, and would highly recommend the hostal. The place was in a good sight seeing location and in light of her awful Barcelona experience, she spoke highly of the staff, who were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASUmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place feels like a hotel, not a hostel. It is a very sterile environment however, the front desk staff were always helpful.

We had our own bathroom and two single beds. Everything was very clean. There is no wi-fi in the rooms which I find irritating as it means you have to sit in the common room which lacks any atmosphere. It is in a fabulous location which is all that matters in Barcelona. Why would you be sitting in your hotel in Barcelona anyway?!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past 14 months and have no major complaints... Good location and nice front desk personnel..... We stayed a week this year and that was a mistake... It is a small hostel and has a major problem with noise... Noise withing the building itself... If a door closes nearby it sounds like a boom... Sleeping is a problem due to the poor insulation,, noise, etc... that allows sounds to travel through the walls... A week became hard to enjoy the hotel... No T.V. in the room... Internet only in one room near the front desk...As for price we feel it is over priced for a couple... We paid 90 euros a night for Sat and Sun nights and 70 euros during week...It is a small Hotel 6 operation and not a place we would stay again because for another 10 Euros a night you can stay nearby in a nice hotel...

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get wifi and t.v. in your room... ask if there is a noise problem.. we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler57Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in this hostel and it was very nice. The staff was great and always willing to help you.
The room was cleaned every day ( new towels every day )
There is A/C in the room which is good thing.
Ask for a room starting with level 3 if possible.
The check in schedule was great: our plane was delayed and we checked in around 23:00.
The room was quite quiet.
The location of this hostel is near Metro Station - "Liceu" ( 2 minutes )
Metro Station "Liceu" is on Ramblas street.
When we checked out, there was a locker room where we left the luggage for a few hours.

I think we made a good choice by going to this place.
Certainly we will accommodate the same hostel in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room starting with level 3 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bogdan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Mare Nostrum
Hostal Mare Nostrum
#20 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Ramos
Hostal Ramos
#113 of 305 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
La Rambla
Ramblas by Pillow
Ramblas by Pillow
#100 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Benidorm
Hostal Benidorm
#64 of 721 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#16 of 305 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
El Raval
Hostal La Palmera
Hostal La Palmera
#91 of 305 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Operaramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Operaramblas

Property: Operaramblas
Address: Sant Pau, 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Operaramblas 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Operaramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Operaramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing