We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for families with small children”
Review of H10 Raco Del Pi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Raco Del Pi
Ranked #171 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First time ever in Barcelona, we wanted to have a hotel in the middle of everything. We got it. The location of the hotel is brilliant, if you want buzz, and action. Yes, it is in a little lane, but no, it is not quiet. The rooms at the back are ok, but they are quite small. We have booked a family room with a cot. We have arrived late and exhausted. Front desk told us we need an upgrade as the cot does not fit in a standard room. We also had to pay for the upgrade upfront. I must say, it was not their foult, but the foult of the booking system, Still, not quite a good experience. It is good to know that rooms facing the street are spacious, pretty but very noisy. I would say that rooms are better equipped than three stars. So is the staff, helpful and funny, very mediterranean. Champaign upon arrival is a nice touch and so is the afternoon tea/coffee and bisquits. Negative is the noise and the bed, matraces and sheets are so bad, probably the worst I have ever experienced. I would recommend this hotel for couples who like nightlife and good location.

Room Tip: Petite rooms are really small, but quiet. Family rooms are spacious but loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had booked this hotel the night before, taking the last room. We arrived the next day but on arrival the manager told us his hotel had an electrical fault and that meant there were no lights on one floor. He said we would have to move to another hotel and walked us the short distance to Atlas Hotel. This was cheaper but not as nice as the one we had booked (from what i could tell from reviews, photos and the look of the reception). As we were only in Barcelona for the weekend we really didn't want to spend ages trying to find another hotel so felt we didn't have much of a choice - especially as the manager of H10 Raco del Pi said the only other hotel he could offer us was by the train station. The manager did not seem that apologetic that the room we had booked was not available. It made me wonder whether there really was a fault. Maybe i'm being cynical but I think the hotel was just overbooked. It will be interesting to see if others come on Trip Adviser and say they were forced to move hotel because of the 'electrical fault' as he said it covered an entire floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Peter-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband had a conference in Barcelona, I was lucky to follow. We wanted to have a hotel in the middle of everything, i.e. Barrio Gothic, from where it is easy to take the metro to the actual meeting places, but on the other hand stroll along the alleys and enjoy the catalan atmosphere and the lovely cafés, tapas places, restaurants - and the Mediterranean! I had my vacation as my husband had to work... ;)
About the hotel:
Good: Location. This is absolutely the strongest point; you can easily walk almost anywhere and take the bus or the metro if your feet get too tired, but it is most easy to come here (Aerobus to Placa Catalunya, from there we walked to the hotel as our suitcase rolled with us, no need to take a taxi, if only you are used to walk in European cities).
Another plus was the air conditioning that operated just perfectly; "only" 28 degrees Celsius out can mean it is hard to fall asleep if you have it too hot in: No problem here!
And we even had wireless connection with our iPad included into the room price, great! That is something you expect to have these days, but, for some strange reason isn´t for sure everywhere.
Not so good: Our room (205) was small and that was totally ok, but, the window opend into a narrow alley with absolutely no other view than the opposite wall(!) That depressed me quite a lot in the beginning, felt like an animal in a cage; later I got used to it, but be aware: The so called "standard rooms" are in fact called "petite" ones at the hotel and this means they have no actual views. The same comes to the single rooms, at least according to the hotel plan.
Otherwise? Clean room and bathroom, nothing to claim about... But nothing special, could not find any specific atmosphere. Materials ok, fairly dark colours, basic furnishing.
The staff was polite but would not say helpful or friendly, rather stand-offish. We were offered to have a breakfast or some other extras, but were not interested in as we found much more attractive possibilities were just outside the hotel; maybe they found us not so potential customers?
Would I return? To Barcelona I would definitely return, to this hotel? Maybe, maybe not: I suppose you can find for the same money something more fascinating in the old town. On the other hand, if someone would pay me for staying in some other room, with a proper view/balcony, why not?

Room Tip: Don´t choose "standard"/lowest priced rooms if you expect to have any view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UndaNijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is great value - it is not a luxurious place, but the location is great, walking distance to Placa de Rial, friendly and helpful staff, quite small but clean room with a good bathroom and comfy beds. Didn't have the breakfast but saw the courtyard where you could have it which look great. We had some problems finding it as the taxi driver didn't no so print a map and bring with you. Totally recommend this hotel for a weekend stay in the city!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great service, nice room, on an excellent location, ecellent breakfast, just a little hard bed. We certainly will return to this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ErikvanAnholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had high expectation and looked forward to stay in this hotel based on the reviews on TA, but a couple of issues meant our stay wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been. The issues were the air conditioners in the room and a couple of potential charges which weren't mentioned anywhere until until check in time.

Positives- good location in Gothic quarter, close to Placa Catalunya, La Rambla and easy walkable distances to 2 metro stations. Reception staff was very friendly and spoke good English.

Negatives- inadequate air conditioner in the summer, and need to pay to use the security box in the room. We might have been unlucky with the AC as I haven't seen anyone mentioned it before but it certainly was crucial feature in hot Barcelona summer.

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel which was booked directly online through the hotel website. There was no problem with the booking process.

We arrived about an hour before the official check in time and was told our room was ready, which was really good and helpful and after walking from the Placa Catalunya under the hot Barcelona sun. It took us about 5-10mins walk from P. Catalunya where the Aerobus from the airport dropped off passengers. It was reasonably straightforward finding the hotel.

At check in, we were told that there is a security box in the room, but we have to pay to use it. The cost was 2 euro + VAT per night, which wasn't much but in principle I think it's wrong to charge for the facility. I have stayed at many hotels before, and this is the first time I've come across this and it didn't make a good impression. Also, we were informed that breakfast would cost 8 euro per person, which I had expected from reading the reviews here, but surprised to find that VAT isn't included. We didn't have breakfast there, as we much rather sample what the local bakeries have to offer.

We were glad that the hotel honoured my request for a room with balcony and far away from the lift/ stairs as we wanted a quiet room. We were on the first floor so it was directly above the hotel lobby and the balcony was very close to the street which meant that street traffic noise was an issue.

Initial Impressions about the room were both positive and negative. The room was bright, had a door which opened to review a small balcony which was directly above the hotel entrance and overlooked the small street in front, and there's another set of door in our room which opened into the side alley. It had high ceiling which was great as it gave us a spacious feeling. The bathroom is clean and modern, however it's rather small and crampy and the shower in the bathtub was half protected shielded with a half glass door and it wasn't enough to stop the water from being splashed onto the toilet seat which was immediately next to the shower. On the bright side, shower pressure is very good.

Now the biggest negative, the air conditioner was really inadequate. The room was really hot and the AC was only on when the card was inserted into the slot. The air from the AC duct (which was centrally ducted rather than a standalone unit) wasn't strong nor cold, so it wasn't enough to cool the room. We had it on and set it at the lowest possible setting (less than 10 degree celsius) overnight and in the morning was still hot. We could feel a very slight breeze immediately under the AC duct so it's not broken, it's just that there the flow wasn't strong or cold enough. We mentioned this to the lovely female receptionist who promised to look into it. The solution for the problem which we discovered after returning from yet another hot day in Barcelona was that a card was left in the slot so the AC could be left on for the whole day while we were out. Despite the AC being on all day, the room was still hot and the situation didn't improve on the third day. We didn't complain again as we thought nothing much could be done and we didn't want the hassle of switching room if offered.

The heat of Barcelona and the inability to cool down in the room meant that it was hard to get a restful night. We couldn't left the windows/ doors to balcony open as it could get noisy if we did. Even though there was hardly any vehicle traffic (being a very narrow road), there were lots of pedestrian traffic and at night time there was fairly frequent rowdy crowds walking pass esp on the night when Spain won the Euro 2012. The doors were double glazed and did cut out most of the noise.

Overall, for us there were more positive that negatives, but the negatives were significant. There are certainly much potential for this boutique hotel to be a truly great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Four nights in the old centre of Barcelona staying at the very well placed Hotel Raco Del Pi. Superb breakfast at a reduced price of 8 euro to include bacon and eggs. Very quiet environment but room not over generous in size although very comfortable. Very clean and staff most helpful and polite. Glass of Cava on arrival, tea/coffe and cake in the afternoon included. Top marks for position quite close to the Rambla. Free wifi and computer use in reception so no need to take your laptop, deal with your emails on the hotel machine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scblackamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#127 of 516 in Barcelona
1,173 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 516 in Barcelona
2,124 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#210 of 516 in Barcelona
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#112 of 516 in Barcelona
797 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 516 in Barcelona
2,109 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#29 of 516 in Barcelona
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Raco Del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Raco Del Pi

Address: C/ del Pi, 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $76 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — H10 Raco Del Pi 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered as part of Barcelona's cultural heritage in itself, this historic building dates from the 19th century and is situated in the city's ancient Gothic Quarter. The setting of the H10 Raco del Pi makes it ideal for exploring the narrow streets of the most atmospheric area of the city - the Gothic Quarter. Here you will find the Cathedral along with a wide range of shops, galleries and restaurants. Only 100 metres away is the vibrant Las Ramblas, and 300 metres away is the central Placa Catalunya. On arrival you will be greeted with a glass of cava, before continuing into the charming and traditional inner courtyard. The historic building has been brought up to date with features such as a glass-walled atrium and cooling parquet floors in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your H10 Raco Del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Raco Del Pi Hotel Barcelona
H10 Raco Del Pi Barcelona, Catalonia
Raco Del Pi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing