We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“H10 Raco Del Pi - very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Raco Del Pi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
H10 Raco Del Pi
Ranked #110 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
1 review
“H10 Raco Del Pi - very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great service, nice room, on an excellent location, ecellent breakfast, just a little hard bed. We certainly will return to this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ErikvanAnholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    410
    78
    25
    19
See reviews for
103
531
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had high expectation and looked forward to stay in this hotel based on the reviews on TA, but a couple of issues meant our stay wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been. The issues were the air conditioners in the room and a couple of potential charges which weren't mentioned anywhere until until check in time.

Positives- good location in Gothic quarter, close to Placa Catalunya, La Rambla and easy walkable distances to 2 metro stations. Reception staff was very friendly and spoke good English.

Negatives- inadequate air conditioner in the summer, and need to pay to use the security box in the room. We might have been unlucky with the AC as I haven't seen anyone mentioned it before but it certainly was crucial feature in hot Barcelona summer.

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel which was booked directly online through the hotel website. There was no problem with the booking process.

We arrived about an hour before the official check in time and was told our room was ready, which was really good and helpful and after walking from the Placa Catalunya under the hot Barcelona sun. It took us about 5-10mins walk from P. Catalunya where the Aerobus from the airport dropped off passengers. It was reasonably straightforward finding the hotel.

At check in, we were told that there is a security box in the room, but we have to pay to use it. The cost was 2 euro + VAT per night, which wasn't much but in principle I think it's wrong to charge for the facility. I have stayed at many hotels before, and this is the first time I've come across this and it didn't make a good impression. Also, we were informed that breakfast would cost 8 euro per person, which I had expected from reading the reviews here, but surprised to find that VAT isn't included. We didn't have breakfast there, as we much rather sample what the local bakeries have to offer.

We were glad that the hotel honoured my request for a room with balcony and far away from the lift/ stairs as we wanted a quiet room. We were on the first floor so it was directly above the hotel lobby and the balcony was very close to the street which meant that street traffic noise was an issue.

Initial Impressions about the room were both positive and negative. The room was bright, had a door which opened to review a small balcony which was directly above the hotel entrance and overlooked the small street in front, and there's another set of door in our room which opened into the side alley. It had high ceiling which was great as it gave us a spacious feeling. The bathroom is clean and modern, however it's rather small and crampy and the shower in the bathtub was half protected shielded with a half glass door and it wasn't enough to stop the water from being splashed onto the toilet seat which was immediately next to the shower. On the bright side, shower pressure is very good.

Now the biggest negative, the air conditioner was really inadequate. The room was really hot and the AC was only on when the card was inserted into the slot. The air from the AC duct (which was centrally ducted rather than a standalone unit) wasn't strong nor cold, so it wasn't enough to cool the room. We had it on and set it at the lowest possible setting (less than 10 degree celsius) overnight and in the morning was still hot. We could feel a very slight breeze immediately under the AC duct so it's not broken, it's just that there the flow wasn't strong or cold enough. We mentioned this to the lovely female receptionist who promised to look into it. The solution for the problem which we discovered after returning from yet another hot day in Barcelona was that a card was left in the slot so the AC could be left on for the whole day while we were out. Despite the AC being on all day, the room was still hot and the situation didn't improve on the third day. We didn't complain again as we thought nothing much could be done and we didn't want the hassle of switching room if offered.

The heat of Barcelona and the inability to cool down in the room meant that it was hard to get a restful night. We couldn't left the windows/ doors to balcony open as it could get noisy if we did. Even though there was hardly any vehicle traffic (being a very narrow road), there were lots of pedestrian traffic and at night time there was fairly frequent rowdy crowds walking pass esp on the night when Spain won the Euro 2012. The doors were double glazed and did cut out most of the noise.

Overall, for us there were more positive that negatives, but the negatives were significant. There are certainly much potential for this boutique hotel to be a truly great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soulighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Four nights in the old centre of Barcelona staying at the very well placed Hotel Raco Del Pi. Superb breakfast at a reduced price of 8 euro to include bacon and eggs. Very quiet environment but room not over generous in size although very comfortable. Very clean and staff most helpful and polite. Glass of Cava on arrival, tea/coffe and cake in the afternoon included. Top marks for position quite close to the Rambla. Free wifi and computer use in reception so no need to take your laptop, deal with your emails on the hotel machine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scblackamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just spent one night, room 206 ' Single, nice bed, nice bathrrom, complete with large shower stall.
TV
Nice glass of local Brut champagne, WIFI, nice breakfast for 8 euros.
I only had excellent real coffee. One good computer with printer for guests
Hotel located a small street in easy walking distance from Airport bus stop at PLaza Catalunya,
right in center of Barcelona.

Room Tip: Hotel located in quiet street, no traffic except dekiveries and taxis coming to pick up. I was seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puigfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The location is terrific. Barri Gotic is a medieval labyrinth with a thousand wonderful little shops, galleries, restaurants, taverns all tucked in to these fascinating streets. The hotel is right in the middle plus a block or two from La Rambla. The breakfast is great. The complimentary tea and cakes a nice touch. We liked the champagne when we arrived. The rooms are all different and the rooms on the back side of the hotel are tight. Street side is more generous. The only thing that bothered me was the way the bed would roll away from the headboard. They only thing that annoyed me was that I asked three weeks ahead for a street view room with balcony and my request was not honored. I was told it would depend on availability. Other than that, it worked.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room. Don't worry about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donm
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel. The staff are extremely friendly with welcoming smiles and a glass of cava (Spanish champagne) at check in. We booked a petit room which was big enough and very clean, only negative was the bed felt like a pull out bed. The location was amazing right in the heart of shops and restaurants yet not noisy. We would stay here again but maybe next time take the offer to up grade to get a better bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in September 2011 and returned in May 2012. The hotel has an excellent location, in the gothic quarter and close to the metro. Both rooms we were in had high ceilings and the bathrooms were very clean. Our first stay we had a room in the front of the hotel with a balcony and the second time we had a room in the back of the hotel, both rooms were extremely quiet. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel. When we checked in early our room was not ready, but they locked our bags up for us. When our taxi could not reach the hotel due to a protest demonstration, the front staff took our bags and walked us to las ramblas where our taxi was waiting. We will return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#154 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#124 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#45 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
Hotel Neri Relais & Chateaux
#30 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Raco Del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Raco Del Pi

Property: H10 Raco Del Pi
Address: C/ del Pi, 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#185 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — H10 Raco Del Pi 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered as part of Barcelona's cultural heritage in itself, this historic building dates from the 19th century and is situated in the city's ancient Gothic Quarter. The setting of the H10 Raco del Pi makes it ideal for exploring the narrow streets of the most atmospheric area of the city - the Gothic Quarter. Here you will find the Cathedral along with a wide range of shops, galleries and restaurants. Only 100 metres away is the vibrant Las Ramblas, and 300 metres away is the central Placa Catalunya. On arrival you will be greeted with a glass of cava, before continuing into the charming and traditional inner courtyard. The historic building has been brought up to date with features such as a glass-walled atrium and cooling parquet floors in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your H10 Raco Del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Raco Del Pi Hotel Barcelona
H10 Raco Del Pi Barcelona, Catalonia
Raco Del Pi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing