We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H10 Itaca Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Acta Antibes(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$154
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Ayre Hotel Rosellon(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$288
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$230
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$171
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Raval(Barcelona)
$303
$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Balmes(Barcelona)
$235
$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
$241
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveler rating
542
576
154
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
576
154
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssants stationgreat hotelaway from the roadmain stationplunge poolon arrivalminute walkwelcome drinkair concity breaknou campbreakfast was amazingreception staffsuperior roomcold meatsfresh fruitsight seeing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Very well designed hotel with helpful and profesional stuff. Hotel has good underground parking, which was important to us. Rooms were big and cozy with very comfortable beds. Breakfast surprised us with big choice and variety of foods and drinks. This hotel is worth staying and we enjoyed our time there very much. We can recommend this hotel to everybody.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank luize_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel in Barcelona. Upon our arrival, we realized that this was not a four star hotel. It’s missing the luxury feel that one would come to expect from a 4 star hotel. The elevator was old with wood paneling, reminiscent of something you would see in a small town motel like in the movie (Ground Hogs Day). The hallway was dark and dingy with dirty carpeting. It’s worth noting that the emergency staircase is super modern and looks amazing, I wish the rest of the hotel was like the staircase.

Our room was small with cheap furniture and although everything was neat, it does not appear that the surfaces were properly sanitized. For example, our bathroom glass shower door had residue. The impression we got was everything needed to appear clean, when in fact, the truth was all the surfaces were not wiped down. Even our lamp shades were dusty and crooked.

We also echo many another reviewers complaint that the water in the shower will change abruptly from freezing to scorching hot in a few seconds, which can cause serious injuries if one is not paying attention or if a young child is using the shower.

The breakfast was free, but nothing great. Some of the fruit tasted like it came out of a can and the other fruit was sour. The scrambled eggs were horrible…looked like egg soup. The only thing I enjoyed was white toast with two slices of cheese every morning and a cup of green tea. The bare minimum! Also, it was nice that they have a Nespresso machine (hidden in the back) for us to use, but the built-in frother was broken.

The free wi-fi was nice to have, but the connection was very slow. It would also kick in and out. We’re actually at the hotel at this very moment writing this review on an MSWord document because we don’t want to risk losing our review due to a connection timeout.

The only positives about this hotel is its close approximately to one of the main train station hubs and a very friendly staff. The staff is always more than happy to help and will even offer excellent time saving tips for getting around the city. There are also two computers and a printer setup in the lobby, this is good for printing out tickets and boarding passes but bad for the décor as its exposed out in the open and does not make this place look luxurious. We also received some free chocolate dessert balls after checking in and free bottle of champagne with grapes for New Year. All this is great but……..…. we still wish our room was nicer.

In sum, the hotel just does not feel like 4 star hotel but in their defense maybe we are comparing 4 stars to US standards. It appears that many hotels in Europe would incorporate 4 stars in their name. On the roof of the hotel you will see a big sign H10 Itaca ****, in America you will never see Trump International 5 stars, it would just be Trump International and if you’re curious about their ranking you can look it up on the web site.

It is important to note that after we checked out we had to pay a "visitor's tax" equivalent to about 3 Euros a day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ericka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over Christmas. When booking the hotel online I thought it was in the older part of Barcelona which would have made for a more exciting experience, so be alert to the location as H10 is a chain. On the plus side the Itaca is handy for transportation and is in a quiet residential neighborhood. I think it is less expensive as well. There are not many cafés in the immediate area although on our last night in the city we did discover a nice Italian restaurant two blocks away - "Mandi Mandi". The young people at the front desk are hardworking and Esther was especially helpful and competent. Unfortunately most of them are not from Barcelona and do not know much about the neighborhood. One even sent us to a restaurant that was no longer operating! The room has an adequate closet but two of the four bureau drawers are inoperable because the door prevents them from opening. One of the light bulbs was burned out and never replaced although we did not make a request. The bathroom is very nice with a bidet. The room does not have good light for reading. When the shower is used in another room we could hear if quite loudly in our room. Although there are many food choices for breakfast, we did not think the offerings were particularly tasty. For 10 E one could do better.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank coloradolaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

It's hard to pick a hotel from far away but this was a good choice. Rooms modern ,clean & comfotable.bathroom great. The front desk was always willing to help. Gave us directions many time.
Location is close to the Metro station, easy to get around ,neighbood is good and felt safe. We stayed 3 days and were in the hotel for sleep only . Breakfast was included in our package
and was good . Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel was below my expectations. Looking at the pictures, you would be inclined to believe the rooms are very nice. However, when we got there, I was extremely disappointed. The room was very small and the furniture seemed more like cheap furniture from Ikea. A big selling point when we got the room was the fact that it was on the top two floors. What they don’t tell you is that your top floor view looks out over a rundown courtyard shared with old apartment buildings. There is no view. There are a lot of dogs barking however.

Don’t plan to take a shower at this hotel without being frozen or burned in a consistent manor. The water in our shower will change quickly between freezing and scolding hot without warning and will do it over and over again through the duration of your shower. Also, do not leave your personal items lying around the tables in the hotel. We had never experienced a hotel staff that actually puts your stuff back in your bags. We had a terrible time finding our own stuff in our bags after they constantly moved stuff, rolled up our cords, etc.

I will give the hotel credit there front desk workers were very nice. However, there was a guy in a suit at the front desk of the restaurant talking on the phone. He was being really rude to us and eventually just waved us off to sit wherever, instead of directing us to a seat. Also, if you are traveling during a time of year that weather may delay your trip, this hotel will not be flexible in your arrangements, even if you try to reach them within the time period that you were told you could change or cancel the reservation. They will be more than happy to take your money for another night though.

The hotel is a long walk from La Rambla. If you plan to go there every evening to walk and for dinner, you’ll probably prefer the metro because it is quite a long walk. The Sants station nearby is the best part of this hotel. It has a train that goes directly to the airport. The Bus Touristic has a station nearby. Overall, if your traveling with family, this hotel might be adequate, if our shower issue was an isolated issue. Otherwise, for romantic, honeymoon, or couples trips, find a different place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gage W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDato, Director Comercial at H10 Itaca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Mr. Whitehead,
Firstly I would like to thank you for spending your time sharing your experience with TripAdvisor Community.
We are deeply sad because our Hotel has not met all your expectations.
We would like to note some points about your review after doing several checks.
Our room size is the standard size for a 4 star hotels according to the actual legislation and we know that from your room the views are to the back side of the Hotel where is also located our Plunge Pool, Terrace and Cocktail Bar and our guests appreciate specially due their calm and the views to the public garden and Montjuic mountain. We also have rooms facing to Main Street.

We would like to apologize about the existent problem with the heating water system but thanks to your review our technical staff is proceeding to fix this trouble.

Otherwise, we have to inform you that your booking was made under special restrictions due a Non Refundable rate which offers a more competitive rate without changes or cancelations allowed and this is something external about the Hotel.
Finally I would like to thank you for your compliments to our Staff. All the staff from the Hotel is working hard in order to improve the experiences of our guests with us.

We hope that you could discover all our improvements soon in one of our H10 Hotels worldwide.
We invite you to come back to the H10 Itaca Hotel to change your feelings about us.

Best regards.
Ms. Vanesa Bajo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews