We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of H10 Itaca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H10 Itaca Hotel
Ranked #181 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I decided we wanted to do a last minute city break and agreed that Barcelona was the perfect place for us as it combines culture, good weather and an awesome nightlife. However, trying to find the perfect hotel seemed to be impossible, reasonably priced hotels were in the middle of nowhere, and hotels with a great location were unaffordable for us! Finally my friend stumbled across H10 Itaca and after reading great reviews on trip advisor we decided to book as it seemed to have everything we were looking for!

Making our way to the hotel from the airport couldn't have been easier, we got the train from the airport, important to note here that you will need to get off at the third stop "Barna Sants", and once you've made your way out of the station the hotel is about a 5 minute walk away! Checking in was a breeze, hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and we were given a free glass of cava to welcome us to the hotel which was a lovely touch! The hotel was immaculately clean, modern and the rooms had everything we needed, our bed was also ridiculously comfy, it was a struggle to get out of bed in the mornings! We never had lunch or dinner at the hotel, but we did have breakfast which was great and had something to please everyone and was regularly replenished by staff.

We managed to pack a lot into our three day stay, on our first day there we purchased a three day unlimited travel card for 18 euros to use on all the metro lines which was great because it meant we could go anywhere! I definitely advise to use the hop on hop off tourist bus, there are two different companies who run these buses, we used "Barcelona Bus Turistic" and was 26 euros for one day or 34 euros for two days and through this we managed to see all the sights! If you're planning on seeing Sagrada Familia then I would say buy your tickets online beforehand, we didn't and ended up queuing for an hour and half, it was worth the wait but still pretty long!

If you're wanting to check out the nightlife, definitely head to Port Olimpic, loads of bars and clubs are along there! We wandered along there in the day time before going out there and were slightly confused as to where the clubs were going to be, but once it hits about 11pm everything comes to life and you're spoilt for choice for places to go!! We also got a taxi back from Port Olimpic after our night out and it was pretty cheap back to the hotel.

I would also like to mention that the hotel is great to chill out around by the pool or on the roof top terrace, we had a couple of hours in the afternoon of lazing about on the roof top, which has a jacuzzi, it feels nice and exclusive up there as there are only two sunbeds, so if they're free, definitely go and chill up there! To find a hotel with a pool in a city is hard to come by, and although the pool at this hotel is only a dipping pool it's great to be able to cool off after lying in the sun! For those of you who like to train, there is also a small gym on the top floor with a few pieces of equipment and weights etc - it's nothing amazing but definitely a bonus!!

All in all our stay in Barcelona was amazing, we had the perfect break we were looking for! Although the hotel is not right in the centre it didn’t matter as the transport links are top notch and the hotel was brilliant - I couldn't pick a fault with anything. Don't pause for thought, go and book! H10 Itaca 100% won't disappoint!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poppy_kiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    527
    134
    38
    19
See reviews for
141
609
53
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked this hotel through ba.com as a late minute city break, after reading other trip advisor reviews. We weren't disappointed! All staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel public areas were kept immaculately clean. It was lovely to return from sight-seeing and have the option of relaxing on the decked area with the plunge pool or a hot tub on the top floor where you can look out over the city. Our room 409 was overlooking the pool and decking. It was peaceful, the aircon worked well, bathroom and bedroom immaculate! Breakfast was fantastic! The choice of hot food, fresh fruits, pastries (sweet and savoury) cheeses and cold meats were superb and again well presented. Every nationality seemed to be catered for. You could even drink Cava if you wished. I enjoyed the nespresso coffees. Our breakfast was in the package but would have been well worth the 10 euros if paying locally.
We flew into terminal 1 and took the free shuttle to terminal 2 where the renfe train will take you into the main station (SantsEstacion). You can buy a T10 ticket from the platform for 9.60 euros which enables you to have 10 journeys on the buses, metro and the renfe train back to the airport. You can even share one ticket if you wish. When you arrive at Sants Estacion you need to exit with the large Torre Catalunya hotel on your right. H10 is just a 5 minute walk. We found it easy to travel on the metro as everything is well signposted. Even the trains have a led display to let you know where you are and the direction and next stop. Also we found there are so many metro stops that you can pinpoint the exact area you wish to visit. We were really impressed that during our entire visit we never waited more than 2 minutes for a train.(honest!) Restaurants close to the hotel are a bit hit and miss and we didnt find anywhere worth recommending. Then we walked to Placa d'Espagne. There is an amazing bull ring which has been converted to shops and a cinema complex with lots of restaurants on the top floor overlooking the city. We ate at Abrassame and found the food excellent. From 9pm Thursday to Sunday there is a beautiful fountain display in front of the congressional buildings with lights and music. Had we found this area sooner we would probably have strolled down there to eat every evening as it was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. A good tip would be to take the open top bus ride on day 1 if you are on a short visit to Barcelona. You can then pinpoint areas you wish to revisit in order to make the most of your trip.
Overall I would happily return to this hotel and would have rated 5/5 however, sadly, the only negative point about this hotel was that my husband accidentally left his favourite sweatshirt hanging in the wardrobe. I phoned the hotel 2 hours after we checked out but reception told me that housekeeping had found nothing in our room. We felt a bit peeved, especially as we had tipped one of the maids just as we were leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Romanholidaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have just got back from a 3 night stay at the H10 Itaca Barcelona and I can honestly say I could not fault it!
Me and my friend (both 22) flew into Barcelona airport and had no problem finding the hotel even though we hadn't visited before. We got the train straight from the airport which was cheap and a few stops to Barcelona Sants you then walk out of the main entrance of the station, cross the road, walk about 200m and the hotel is on your right! Okay so the hotel isn't close to much in walking distance but being so close to Barcelona's main station for us this was a fantastic location! We bought a 3 day travel card for the metro which was 17 euros for unlimited journeys which we thought was fantastic value! You can reach anywhere in the city from the metro and we found it very easy to use!
There is a stop for the open top tour bus right outside the station which is 100% worth doing! 26 euros for one day and 34 for two, we ended up seeing everything and more that we planned on seeing using the bus!
We managed to pack so much into our stay and had lovely meals each night and drinks. Anyone seeking the night life head along to port olympico this is where all the bars and clubs were - we had a great night!
Breakfast in the hotel was fab and there was something for everyone, all of the staff are lovely and so so helpful especially the terrace bar staff! When you check in you get given a token for a free glass of cava - lovely touch!
We didn't try any of the bar food or restaurant food so can't comment on that but we tried a cocktail which was great!
The plunge pool is what it says and only comes up to your knees but great for cooling down and the roof top terrace with jacuzzi and sun loungers is fantastic, my friend and I were even lucky enough to have it to ourselves one afternoon!
All in all this hotel is amazing value and offers a fantastic chilled out atmosphere. I would highly recommend anyone to book this, as you will love every minute! Thanks H10 Itaca!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie11011991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

we had a 5 night break at this hotel at the beginning of august ,loved Barcelona and was very happy with hotel . location was good a 5 min walk to sants station and then you can get to anywhere in the city .the hotel was clean and tidy ,air con worked well . lots of choice for breakfast and refilled even near to breakfast finishing.staff were friendly and helpful. enjoyed the pool even though its a shallow pool its just what you need to cool down.would definitely use this hotel again;

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a lovely Hotel! Perfect for a trip to Barcelona. We stayed in this Hotel for 7 nights.
It is a 5min walk form the metro station (which is easy and cheap enough to use) There isn't much in the immediate area (except for a supermarket next door, which was very useful!)
Lovely spacious rooms, excellent facilities, breakfast was super, with a massive amount of choice. Will definitely be staying at this hotel next time we go to Barcelona!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmDavies80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My partner and I spent 3nights here in August. After trailing though lists of different hotels we opted for the H10 itica. Clean and contemporary, it was a great base to explore the city. We had a city view on the 7th floor- it was a twin and we did opt for a double however they did say we could move but we choose to stay. The pool even though extremely shallow was a welcomed treat after a hot day sight seeing. For the romantics there is also a rooftop jacuzzi. You may even be lucky enough to have it to yourself. Breakfast was a good standard with plenty of choice. The rooms had all the necessary bits and bobs. Only downfall was the air conditioning- we like it very cold at night. Free wifi is always a plus. Reception staff were helpful. Overall a good hotel for a city break, good value- just what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawbzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel room was warm because air conditioner was not working properly. When I informed the manager he told me that I don't know how Spanish air conditioners should work because I am an American, which I found offensive.

Next, there was noise echoing around the room all night from a malfunctioning piece of equipment in the hotel walls, so we did not sleep much.

The booking was made on HotelTonight. The manager told me that he would approve a refund if HotelTonight asked for one. I contacted HotelTonight who contacted the manager only to be denied a refund. He did not live up to his word...poor quality service.

On the plus side breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Art Gallery
H10 Art Gallery
#88 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#90 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#66 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#340 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Eixample
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
#126 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Itaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Itaca Hotel

Property: H10 Itaca Hotel
Address: Avenida de Roma 22, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#123 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Itaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Itaca is ideally situated in the heart of the Eixample neighbourhood, very close to Sants Station (AVE) and the Montjuïc exhibition centre. You´ll be impressed by the hotel´s recent refurbishment with modern and innovative touches to the front entrance, Front Desk and Lobby Bar. The hotel´s new features include a plunge pool on the revamped Chill-Out Terrace and the Itaca Restaurant, which offers select signature cuisine in the evenings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Itaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Itaca Barcelona
Hotel h10 Itaca
H10 Itaca Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing